We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good”
Review of U-tan Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
U-tan Sea Resort
Ranked #86 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Bhuj, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not good”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

definitely not a family place for Gujarati or vegetarians. Smell of drying fish is a big drawback of the place. also the location is awkward if you are going out at night probably it will be not easy to get back to the resort. road from airport to resort is also not good. we asked for fish smell while booking online but the situation was totally different than the answer we got from staff. we reached at around 11.30am & it was horrible. we changed our mind in 10 minutes & lost our booking amount as they did not refunded the same.

Room Tip: may be studio will be fine for family stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank kdsuthar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    80
    44
    14
    8
See reviews for
73
57
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have been to this place 1st time and was over delight with its ambience . Its peaceful and pleasant. Better than 5star hotel.. Cost wise little expensive but quality is never cheap. I would blindly recommend this place .

Room Tip: Classic and Studio is decent for a family of 3 to 4. If you are only a couple and looking for a day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captmosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have been to U-tan thrice & every time it was an awesome experience. Though the approach road is not that great, the location of the property (it is situated atop a small hillock) is excellent. The property has different option of rooms / cottages.
Rooms are neat, clean though not very plush. Once we stayed at a 1-BHK cottage & those were equally good.
For keeping yourself occupied, they have a pool and some game options like TT etc.
Food is good but limited options. Not many options outside the property.
View from the restaurant deck is amazing

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are small & cramped but may have a marginal sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayuresh_kondkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

V gud n I say stunning landscaping
Gud hospitality
Food little over priced
Overall gud for 2 nights
Awsome sea view Frm the hotel
Had been here wit fmly in may this year
For a change loved the gardens hammock n landscaping

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Prateek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This place is almost to the end of earth but is worth the travel.

The views from the higher rooms were super and the pool was also decent.

Felt that the rooms could be managed better and well kept.

Overall its a great place if you want a weekend getaway from Mumbai

Room Tip: The rooms that are on the mountain have a better view. The rooms below have a garden which is also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumbaiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The 1st experience was a breath taking view of the sea on a beautiful hill top. Approach to the resort is through small village roads which are narrow. We had done online booking on the U tan resort website and at the reception they denied that they had sent any confirmation and told us that studio rooms were booked a month ago. We didn't have much choice as they were offering only the base category compact room. They have not bothered to maintain a beautiful resort. Tiles cracked, tel extension not working. There was leakage in the bathroom so they had to shift us again in another room so half the time went in co ordination for the room issues. Although the staff was apologetic, it did spoil the mood as the stay was just for a night. Staff was polite and helpful. Room service was very fast. Make sure to call and confirm your booking as u can't rely on online booking.

Room Tip: For couples who want peace and privacy take compact room (on higher level) or classic room (lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TMBom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Lovely place which is easily accessible from mumbai. Was upset when we checked in since that the room that we were given, one the fan regulator wasn't functioning ; was rotating at highest speed plus the main door lock wasn't working. When complained they sent someone to repair. We chose iinstead to change the room since we didn't want to sit n watch their people servicing these issues. We stayed in classic room type which was pretty good. The only hitch that I found about this place is their food which is quite overly priced. Bhayander which is known for good sea food at cheaper price doesn't seem to be applicable for this hotel. Our dinner was just chicken starter +soup + Pasta came upto Rs.1100 +. Though the quality of food is nice, I still feel it's over priced. Since there are no options out to explore, you are left with no choice but left to mercy of Utan resort itself.
Over all good experience with breath taking view and lovely surroundings, which is just at around 2 hrs from Mumbai

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aparnatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai (Bombay)
8.9 mi away
The Resort
The Resort
#49 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
789 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#192 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
282 reviews
9.5 mi away
Suvi Palace
Suvi Palace
#2 of 2 in Vasai
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre
The Retreat Hotel & Convention C...
#117 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
406 reviews
9.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Vasai Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
GCC Hotel And Club
GCC Hotel And Club
#59 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U-tan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U-tan Sea Resort

Property: U-tan Sea Resort
Address: Chowk Dongri Via Uttan | Bhayander, Mumbai (Bombay) 401106, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — U-tan Sea Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
u-Tan Sea Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing