We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Marigold Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marigold Residency
Ranked #339 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I booked Marigold through MakeMyTrip.com as we got a cheaper deal and this was my first MMT deal. I tried booking directly but rooms were over-priced. We reached after midnight and were very tired after the flight. For couples checking in, hotel have a policy where the couple has to provide proof that they are married. They keep a copy of the certificate/document for their records. I had to carry my marriage certificate the whole trip for this reason, as this was the only hotel available at that time, and in the budget I was looking for.

Hotel room was not very clean when we checked in and had a dripping shower. Bathroom was not clean at all, and had hairs on the bath floor... ewww.... We requested for room change but instead they cleaned the room, as their was no room available that night and hotel was all booked. The AC was not working as well. Bed was somewhat comfy. May be, they keep these kinda rooms for these discounted travel sites and more cleaner and nicer rooms for full price. If thats true, then I'm not booking any hotel from MMT.com. I have stayed in hotels and have booked flights using service from Expedia.com, Hotels.com and was not at all disappointed. Thought the same kinda service in India by MMT.

Next morning we went down for breakfast and food was average with hot tea served on the table. After breakfast we went out for the day, and asked the hotel to clean the room or else, I had to raise this to MakeMyTrip and take the refund and stay in other hotel. Person at the reception in the morning was more polite and helpful than the one previous night. Previous night, it felt as it, we were unwanted in the hotel. But in the morning, staff at the reception smiled and listened to my complains. When we returned in the evening, room and bathroom were cleaned. We ordered dinner from hotel restaurant. No complains about the preparations but it was little pricy.

Hotel is located in Marol, which is one of the busiest place in Mumbai. During the day, walking around is very safe. But after 10 PM, the street becomes deserted. I lived in Mumbai for more than 3 years and even I was scared in the area.

Marigold is a good hotel for business trip, where you can checkin with no extra documents and proofs that you are married to the lady you are checking in with, and after breakfast, leave for your work and then return at night for sleep. Good for business and solo travellers. We stayed here for couple of nights after returning from our honeymoon last year in Dec. I have been traveling since then for work and always wanted to bring out to the community the problems that we faced.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaynanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marigoldmumbai, General Manager at Marigold Residency, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
DERICK L D’SOUZA: General Manager at the Marigold Residency Hotel responded to this review,
The Marigold is a niche corporate business designer hotel and has earned a reputation for its ethics, professionalism, and service standards and elite client profile. Every guest booked with us individually or by his company is prior intimated about our policies and payment procedures through the reservation confirmation.
At the outset, we would like to thank you for giving the opportunity of hosting you during you're visit to Mumbai.
We look forward to meeting you during you're next stay at the Marigold and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

In Your Service.
Derick Dsouza.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    27
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
6
13
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

my regular hotel was sold out and hence had to opt for a new hotel and chose this as this was near to our office. the room is comfortable, the toiletries are good and they provide tea/coffee maker in the room. but they said Wi-Fi they will charge for at 1000/- a day which found bit odd for a boutique business hotel. the a/c was not that comfortable and there is no control in the room as it is centralized. the breakfast spread was decent but a good idea would be for the hotel to offer omelette as an option if there is egg burgi or boiled eggs on the menu since it is not really extra but may make many customers happy. requested one and was flatly told we don't serve anything extra. if they add wifi it would be a good option and wont mind staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jxpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marigoldmumbai, General Manager at Marigold Residency, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Derick Dsouza: General Manager at Marigold Residency Hotel, responded to this review, 14 Aug 2014

Dear Guest,

At the outset, we would like to thank you for giving the opportunity of hosting you during you're visit to Mumbai.


We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our property and the services. It is our constant endeavor to provide our esteemed guests with the highest standard of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improvise and exceed expectations.


We look forward to meeting you during you're next stay at the Marigold Residency and would be delighted to assist you with personal care and attention.


Warm Regards, From Marigold Residency Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I just had a night layover at this hotel as i missed my connecting flight on booking from ny company. Though i got a corporate discount, this hotel is too over priced just for the reason of it being in the near vicinity of Mumbai international airport. This hotel also not provides free airport pick-up but only free airport drop. The rooms are clean and good, same with the food. The staff is responsive.

Room Tip: Only go if you have no other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulshah8055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marigoldmumbai, General Manager at Marigold Residency, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Derick Dsouza: General Manager at the Marigold Residency Hotel
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience at Marigold Residency - Mumbai.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay ,the food and service. Positive feedback from satisfied guests is our greatest reward.

I have shared your comments with our Finance Team team, so that they are aware of the pricing and costing in able to meet your requirements based on all your future visits to our hotel.

We value your patronage and look forward to serve you soon once again.

Assuring our best of services at all times.

Warm Regards,

From: Marigold Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Marigold is a good mid-segment hotel in Andheri (E) and is ideally located for international travelers and pretty decently located for domestic travelers as well. I was booked into this hotel by my office and it pretty much met my expectations as far as a ‘overnighter’ business hotel goes.

Check in formalities were reasonably quick and I was in my room in about 15 mins from the time I stepped up to the receptionist. The room was very neat and clean, but a tad small for my liking, almost bordering on claustrophobic. But then who’s really worried about the size of the room when youre here for a night’s sleep – which I must say was good.

I used room service for dinner and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning, and the food quality was good. Nothing to write home about, but fresh and palatable which is what matters. Room service needs to be a bit more faster.

So in conclusion, a decent mid-segment hotel which is value for money, provided you are looking at just spending a night in there, before you proceed on your journey.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLazyPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marigoldmumbai, General Manager at Marigold Residency, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Derick Dsouza: General Manager at Marigold Residency Hotel, responded to this review, 14 Aug 2014

Dear Guest,

At the outset, we would like to thank you for giving the opportunity of hosting you during you're visit to Mumbai.


We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our property and the services. It is our constant endeavor to provide our esteemed guests with the highest standard of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improvise and exceed expectations.


We look forward to meeting you during you're next stay at the Marigold Residency and would be delighted to assist you with personal care and attention.


Warm Regards, From Marigold Residency Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The staff were late picking us up from the airport...and that caused us so much anxiety that it eclipsed our opinion of the hotel. They didn't apologize, either.

The room and restaurant were fine. Water in the shower was somewhat warm, not hot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverspringlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marigoldmumbai, General Manager at Marigold Residency, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Derick Dsouza: General Manager at Marigold Residency Hotel
Thank you for patronizing the Marigold Residency. Appreciate and thank you very much for your valuable comments.

Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you faced on airport pick up and this was caused due to delay in other flight schedules and transfers.

We do take responsibility for your dis-satisfaction and will certainly take corrective measures. It will be a pleasure to host you once again, I assure to personally look into your preferences and comfort to ensure you have a memorable experience with us on your next visit.

Assuring our best of services at all times.

Warm Regards
From: Marigold Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Marigold Residency was the last hotel before we left India and we liked the hotel. the rooms are very clean and everything seems to work on the two rooms we took. The location is just ideal if you have business at the airport and since our flight was at 3.00 am, the ten minute to the airport was welcome at that hour. I will not hesitate to come back to Marigold Residency on another visit!

Room Tip: Although I had seen some reviews about rooms with no windows, both our rooms had windows that opened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmworia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marigoldmumbai, General Manager at Marigold Residency, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Derick Dsouza: General Manager at Marigold Residency Hotel, responded to this review, 14 Aug 2014

Dear Guest,

At the outset, we would like to thank you for giving the opportunity of hosting you during you're visit to Mumbai.


We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our property and the services. It is our constant endeavor to provide our esteemed guests with the highest standard of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improvise and exceed expectations.


We look forward to meeting you during you're next stay at the Marigold Residency and would be delighted to assist you with personal care and attention.


Warm Regards, From Marigold Residency Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel but we tried their restaurant and loved it! The curries seemed a bit expensive but the serving sizes are double most Indian restaurants so it's totally worth it! Two of us couldn't even finish one serving of steamed rice and we're AMERICAN! We got the first thing listed under Veg Indian Dishes (I wish I could remember the name!!!) - definitely try it!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank expat_mbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marigoldmumbai, General Manager at Marigold Residency, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Derick Dsouza: General Manager at the Marigold Residency Hotel
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience at Marigold Residency - Mumbai.

We’re glad you enjoyed the food and service. Positive feedback from satisfied guests is our greatest reward.

I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef & Food & Beverage team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

We value your patronage and look forward to serve you soon once again.

Assuring our best of services at all times.

Warm Regards,

From: Marigold Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hotel Silver Inn
#124 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
118 reviews
Landmark Suites
#165 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
80 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hotel Le Grande
Hotel Le Grande
#55 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keys Hotel Nestor
#69 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
507 reviews
Regent Hotel
#108 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
114 reviews
Hotel Bawa International
#96 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigold Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigold Residency

Property: Marigold Residency
Address: Near International Airport Next To Sangeet Plaza | Near Marol Firebrigade, Mumbai (Bombay) 400059, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marigold Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marigold Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing