We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but comfortable”
Review of The Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cottage Hotel
Ranked #149 of 447 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pricey but comfortable”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night before my flight home. It's a bit out of the way but The Cottage is a comfortable stay if you're willing to pay a little extra, which I was after 36 hours on the road! Room service is swift and non-intrusive. Check-in and out was painless and the rooms are well kept. The manager is friendly and attentive. There's quite a few cafes and restauranta in the area to keep you occupied too. I would stay here again.

Note: There was construction work going on when I stayed, quiet at night but very noisy during the day. New rooms being used which do not match the photos on the website.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NeilPatMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay at The Cottage,Mumbai & for your encouraging feedback.Sorry for inconvenience now construction work is finished no noisy ..I hope we can make it more comfortable & more better when you stay with us again in Mumbai.

With warm regards.

Mukesh B.Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    19
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
9
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The hotel is strategically located and just 1 minute walk from Chembur Railway Station. Good for people who have business in New Bombay area, Thane, Sion etc. The rooms are pretty neat and clean. All rooms are built in European style and with good taste. The owner is a Doctor and you will find a roommate in him. The staff are very courteous.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank accudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Mukesh B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, Devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at the Cottage Hotel for two nights on 3rd and 4th February 2013 and wish we had stayed longer. This Hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but don't be fooled. We had booked our stay online several months previously and chose this Hotel based on previous Tripadvisor reviews and weren’t disappointed.

Once inside the rather shab looking building the true quality of the establishment emerged. We received a warm, genuine welcome at reception and were quickly taken to our room.

Our immediate impression was that the premises were spotlessly clean and our room was no different. The room was spacious and very clean, with comfortable beds, sofa, table, high quality cable television, large refrigerator, ample bathroom, very efficient air conditioning system, supplied bottled water, good and consistent wifi and so on. In fact there was everything we required.

We had both days booked to tour Mumbai itself but spent some time in and around the area of the hotel. We saw very few visiting European tourists in this area but we had a wonderful and inviting experience locally and received a typical Indian welcome from the local community.

We visited several local eateries, particularly a small cafe just on the corner by the hotel, whose freshly cooked local food, and particularly their fresh Samosas and Lassi, were excellent and the staff there could not have been more friendly or helpful.

There is a fascinating range of shops in and around the area and the various different street stalls that emerge at night were a delight.

Just around the corner there we found an assortment of restaurants and eateries all of which looked very welcoming with varied and interesting menus. We discovered the ‘Adarsh’, a very pleasant restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating where both the food and service were exceptional, a very short walk from the Cottage Hotel and we eat there twice.

So, all in all, a very pleasant stay overall and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for your recent stay at The Cottage,Mumbai & for your encouraging feedback.
We're glad you enjoyed your pleasant stay with us.

With warm regards.

Deepak B.Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The cottage scores with the very friendly and helpful service. the place itself is clean.

trip advisor shows the location wrongly. i choose the cottage by checking the hotels near the airport. unfortunately the place showing on tripadvisor is wrong. the cottage is quite a bit away from the airport.
however the staff arranged a good airportdrop and the train station is only like 50 meters away.

overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samsalabim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at The Cottage,Mumbai & for your encouraging feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

With warm regards.

Deepak B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed with my family on 24th Feb 2013 for one night. The manager was friendly. We reached the hotel around 8 am, and he allowed us to check in early. Amentieis were basic. We didn't use the inhouse restaurant. The hotel is stone's throw away from Chembur railway station (east ). WIFI available. My Phablet was down, so cudn't check the signal strength. Heater was good.

PROS: In a good central place. If you are not particular about brands and not fuzzy, then you can do your shopping in the chembur station road. Friendly staff.
CONS: No Lift. Lighting can be better in the Toilets.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna_Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Krishna,
Thank you for writing a review .I hope we can make it more comfortable & more better when you stay with us again in Mumbai.

With warm regards.

Deepak B.Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Rooms are old and medium sized. Room and toilet was clean. Calm and quiet place. Staff was courteous. Hot water was available. Ac was old but working fine but not having remote. LCD tv with clear cable. Pillows, matresses were not very clean...overall decent budget hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ankit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Ankit,
Thank you for writing a review and staying with The Cottage,Mumbai. About the room if pillows & mattresses were not very clean & also a/c remote not avaliable in the room you should have informed us at the reception.We would have changed the pillows & given you a/c remote . I hope we can make it more comfortable & more better when you stay with us again in Mumbai.

With warm regards.

Deepak B. Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was very pleasant. We had a nice, clean room with all the necessary amenities. We were even able to use their computer for well over an hour without any problems. The only complaint I have is that the airport is definitely not ~30 minutes away (as they state on their website). The traffic might have been bad that day, but it took us well over an hour to get to the domestic airport from the hotel and we made the flight just in time. In spite of this, it was still a great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Deepak B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rajhans
Hotel Rajhans
#136 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Orchid
The Royal Orchid
#147 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
#143 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#46 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Kumkum
Hotel Kumkum
#75 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#214 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel

Property: The Cottage Hotel
Address: 1st Floor 72 Hira Baug | Opposite-Grand Central Restaurant, Mumbai (Bombay) 400071, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 447 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cottage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing