We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oriental Residency
Ranked #58 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Clean rooms, quiet”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for 2 days in Feb 2014. We had 3 people in a standard room, which was a bit tight but ok. The hotel charged an extra person fee and installed an extra bed. The breakfast was included with the reservation and was very good. Be sure to know the directions ahead of time to tell the cab drivers, as none of them seem to have heard of the hotel, or call the hotel and ask the front desk to give directions to your cab driver.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msa432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the hotel food & services. It further encourages our belief to customize food for our esteemed guests.

We are locating in middle of Linking road & S.V. road. at Khar west. Please feel free to call me undersign if you find any assistance.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    157
    42
    18
    15
See reviews for
67
52
49
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gandhinagar, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I happened to stay at Oriental Residency as recent as on 10th & 11th of this month. One of our colleagues had booked it for 3 of us, only because of its proximity to the places we were obliged to visit, BKC - Bandra Kurla Complex.

However, we are all likely to return even if the location wasn't that advantageous in future visits if we were working far from BKC, too. We wouldn't mind to travel a few extra kms.

I had an efficient check-in but had never experienced a better check-out before. Both times front office was so willing to oblige.

It is very well maintained and cleanliness & hygiene are top notch.There's a lovely little restaurant on 1st floor and they serve a good spread buffet breakfast.

I am sure to return to this hotel in my subsequent visits.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunjanJohri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

It feels great to receive positive feedback and encourages the staff to strive for the better standards of the Hospitality. Thank you once again for sharing your experience of your stay at the Oriental Residency.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It was a nice cozy hotel, the staff was lovely, courteous and easy to talk to. All my needs and requirements were met with quickly. The food at the restaurant in the hotel was good and tasty. I was impressed at the variety of food in the complimentary hotel breakfast everyday. The only suggestion i have for the hotel is that its a bit congested, small space and it felt a little clamed. All in all my first time in Mumbai was good experience and the hotel plays a part in it. - Megha

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Megha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the hotel food & services. It further encourages our belief to customize food for our esteemed guests.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed the room size of our hotel. We also have Luxury rooms which is quite spacious and comfortable in our hotel. Please let me know for your next visit so that we can make your stay more comfortable.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Fix the second elevator ASAP. It was no peace when I was given a room just next to the elevator under renovation. But I like the location of the hotel and the service was not bad either. There is always room for improvement though.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diju814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room stay due to Elevator noise, We are in the process of upgrading our lift to Schindler Company and we will fix this within 15 days. Sorry for the inconvenienced caused.

We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Mumbai.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Booked in for four days stayed 7 days a little expensive but Mumbai is is expensive so was value for money . The staff were fantastic every little query was answered and fixed quickly. Smiles and attention from all staff couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast buffet suits plain tastes through to indian food lovers. The beds are king size and soft. We changed rooms and found all were spacious and clean, bathroom comes with full range of consumables and great hot water and pressure. Hotel is in a quiet area only 100mtrs to main road and shops it's central mumbai. Everyone says stay at Colaba but after visiting there you only need to see it once with a tour and we found staying out of the hectic area easy to day trip elsewhere. They have a free airport transfer? Others have said it was hard to find but they have a new sign out front. We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Not much difference between rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zacca01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us on such an important occasion in your life.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the oriental residency during december 2013.
The staff is very kind and willing to help us ... always with a smile. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast.
Our room was very clean, modern and clear.
For this price it seems difficult to find better !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Grizzly_Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

It feels great to receive positive feedback and encourages the staff to strive for the better standards of the Hospitality. Thank you once again for sharing your experience of your stay at the Oriental Residency.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We chose to stay at the Oriental Residency in the period of May 2013, after much perusal through the TripAdvsior website when we saw that it had not only good reviews but also good pictures. To our disappointment, the hotel was exactly the opposite from what has been portrayed about it. The bad experience began from the word go where the hotel forgot to pick us up from the airport. Hoping that the room would compensate for such pick up service, it only got worse – the poor service levels only escalated. Despite having booked a premier room, we were forced into accepting a standard room that was filthy and unkempt. On expressing our rights for what we had paid, we were moved to a premier room and clearly told that that is the only room available. The room was totally unacceptable – the paint had started to chip off, the pillows had blood stains (the hotel argued that that is all they had and merely changed the pillow cover after much hesitation), the bed sheets had yellow stains and hair all over it, bathroom floor was dirty making it hard to step on. At this point, we had completely lost hope with zero expectations now from the hotel.

Breakfast service was another aspect that added on the to the bad experience. The curries were swimming in oil, an omelet and simple masala tea took 30 mins to arrive, and there was absolutely no variety in the food being served. For about $100 a night, we were really expecting better service. Now that we had made up our minds to look for a better-valued hotel, we felt a sigh of relief. However, the hotel’s assistant manager did not take any action to make our stay any better and was least bothered. All they cared about was wanting to charge us more for any little extra service we took up, for instance wi-fi and telephone calls. This made us question what was really important to this hotel. A sound customer experience or merely just wanting to make money?

On wanting to leave the hotel, the manager was extremely hesitant and unhelpful in facilitating the refund. It is very unfortunate indeed that the management itself does not understand the value of customer satisfaction.

Attached are some pictures, which show less than 50% of what to expect at this hotel. Going to Mumbai after 10 good years can tarnish the city’s image if you decide to stay at the Oriental Residency owing to their low standards.

In conclusion, I highly do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank s4loni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hotel Accord
#47 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
210 reviews
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#86 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
338 reviews
Hotel Regal Enclave
#66 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bawa Suites
#137 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
100 reviews
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
#19 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
405 reviews
Grand Residency Hotel & Serviced...
#124 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Residency

Property: The Oriental Residency
Address: P.D. Hinduja Marg, Next to Khar RTO | Khar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#46 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oriental Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residency is in Bandra, a hip neighborhood in Mumbai. A 5-minute drive from Khar Train Station, the hotel’s front desk and restaurant are conveniently open 24 hours a day.Offering city views of Mumbai, rooms at The Oriental Residency have a flat-screen TV and a safe. A minibar and tea/coffee making amenities are also provided. The private bathrooms have shower facilities.Soul Restaurant and Bar offers seafood, Indian and international dishes, with vegetarian options. Room service is also available 24 hours a day.Travel services include car rental and ticket or tour bookings. Express laundry and ironing services are also available. The hotel provides free airport pickup and free on-site parking.The Oriental Residency is a 15-minute drive from Mumbai’s Santa Cruz Domestic Airport and a 25-minute drive from Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. The Bandra Kurla Complex is just one mile away.Hotel Rooms: 44 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oriental Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Residency Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing