We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oriental Residency
Ranked #58 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is very convenient specially if you are flying into Mumbai,under 5 kms from the domestic airport ,you can get an aircondioned cab from prepaid counter of the airport forRs 300/-.This hotel in Khar is nearly in the centre of the city and you can get all modes of transport outside the hotel
The rooms are spacious (except the classic) ,neat and clean have a coffee tea maker and a refrigerator.The staff is very courteous and efficient .They offer you compimentary one litre of mineral water per day if you need more the charges are heavy. It is better to just go accross the road and get your supply of water from the store which keeps dairy products also and is open from early morning till late night.You can also buy fruit just outside the store.
The breakfast is complimentary available between 6 am and till 11am suits the early and late risers both.There is a good variety of food North Indian South Indian and continental. It is a buffet breakfast they have a dosa and egg live counters and the staff is very helpful they serve you hot dishes on your table., If in the spread you find the food is not hot do not hestitate in asking for hot food.The food is slighty bland so if you are the one who likes very little salt and practically no chillies in food you have no problem otherwise on live counters you can order as per your taste.

This was my second visit to the hotel last I stayed with them in Jan 2011. I would definately stay with them If I ever visit Mumbai again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator,not only because of the movment of people but also because the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pankaj J, Front Office Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking time out to share your experience with us through Trip Advisor!

We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and were able to explore the city. We are also happy to have learnt that you enjoyed extended hour of Breakfast. It’s our constant Endeavour to provide guest with a clean and comfortable room.
Your appreciation for the hotel, services and our staff have been shared with the entire team and they were delighted to know that.

My team and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Oriental Residency.


Thanks and regards

Pankaj Jha
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    157
    42
    18
    15
See reviews for
67
52
49
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SAINT DENIS REUNION
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I went again to this hotel : it's a great pleasure !!

At my arrival , I APPRECIATE the staff : tanks for his kind welcome ; he has done what is necessary to get my stay pleasant !

When i left the hotel , earlier on the morning at 3h00 AM , I met another staff who was very kind too : thanks for morning welcome !!!

The room was clean and the hotel is well located in Bandra : in the room it was possible to take a rest : it was not noisy

I went to the restaurant for dinner :Just like GOPAL , who is always serious and toughtfull ,KISHAN BAHADUR is a good person : his duty was irreprocheable !! Thanks for their welcome and their attention

It was a pleasant stay !!

Room Tip: The staff of the hotel can do what is necessary to pickup or to drop to the airport ! It is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROMACA666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pankaj J, Front Office Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Team and Management of The Oriental Residency, Mumbai

We are happy to know that your Arrival and departure experience was pleasant and that you liked the cleanliness and location of the hotel.

I would definitely share your comments with our entire team especially with Gopal and Kishen, I am sure they will be happy to know your observation about them.
My team and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Oriental Residency.


Thanks and regards

Pankaj Jha
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was greeted very warmly.The rooms were very nice.The best part is that it is very centrally located.Near to station and linking market.Though I checked out at 12pm and my flight was in eve‚the manager himself offerred me a room in eve for freshning up.His gesture made it an icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paresh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the hotel stay. It further encourages our belief to customize food for our esteemed guests.

Thanks for appreciating our location of our hotel. We are located close to Linking Road which is the mecca of shopping in Mumbai. Linking Road is Rated as the 7th in Mumbai and 20th in the world most expensive streets for Retailers. There are loads of pubs , restaurants and shopping around us.

When we get reviews such as yours it further instills our confidence towards enhancing guest comfort and safety. Thanking you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us in future.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

moved there for the last day of my trip as this hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport and my plane to London was very early in the morning. What a plesant surprise after the anonimity of the IOnternationmal Chains Hotel. Family run, small, clean, with all mods & cons, with attached a reastaurant where I had a very good chicken byriani, this is the ideal place for budget travelerr with a vie to clean, efficiant no frill hotel (it reminded me of the Ibis in europe...)- I will be back.

Room Tip: the Hotel looks on a very busy street so make sure your room does not look onto it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martino56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel the Oriental Residency Mumbai, and taking time out to share your experience with us through Trip Advisor!

We are really pleased to know that your stay was pleasant, the room comfortable and clean. We are also happy to have learnt that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast & Chicken Biryani.

I would definitely share your comments with our entire team. My team and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Oriental Residency.


Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The stay was really enjoyable as far as accommodation, food,staff services, housekeeping was outstanding and remarkable as well. In addition to that this is to share that whenever we plan for our future trip to Mumbai definitely will prefer to stay in the Oriental Residency.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VallavabhaiPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

Thank you for strongly recommending our hotel, especially the service staff.
Your positive comments about our hotel, food and exceptional service are truly a delightful source of encouragement for the entire team.

We look forward to pampering you, and hope to exceed your expectations again during your next visit to Mumbai.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Food, Location and services of the hotel were excellent
The guards were also very hospitable, welcoming all the guests into the hotel.
A big warmful regards to Mamta Jakhi who ensured food was always served on time

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginiah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked our services. I have conveyed your feedback to the team and it is appreciation like your's that keeps the team motivated to strive for higher services standards.

Thanking you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us in future.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel from 22/03/2014 to 15/04/14. Initially, we intended to stay at the hotel for only 3 nights but due to the excellent staff and services we ended up staying for the whole duration we were in Mumbai.

Excellent location. Located in a serene and secure environment.Near the main bus station and a walking distance from the main shopping centre.

Food- served on time, tailored the food to our requirements. We particularly enjoyed chicken tandoori and roti tandoori

Room services- Cleanliness was maintained all through, bed sheets were changed often.

Staff- Very friendly, supportive and even took time to teach us basic Hindi! Manager, Assistant manager and front office staff were very supportive too. Helped in planning our trip to Gateway of India.

On our departure day, the staff served as early breakfast as we were leaving at 5p.m. They went a step further and packed an extra bite for us.

Sincerely thank the management and members of staff for their great hospitality. We really enjoyed staying at Oriental residency hotel.

A truly international hotel that we would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Mumbai.

Mr & Mrs Gitome
Kenya

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gitome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the food at our Soul restaurant & Bar. Our Chefs and Restaurant Managers would be delighted to know the same. It further encourages our belief to customize food for our esteemed guests.

Thanks for appreciating our location of our hotel. We are located close to Linking Road which is the mecca of shopping in Mumbai. Linking Road is Rated as the 7th in Mumbai and 20th in the world most expensive streets for Retailers. There are loads of pubs , restaurants and shopping around us. If your travel brings you back to Mumbai we would be more then happy to plan your travel in the city around the hotel.

When we get reviews such as yours it further instills our confidence towards enhancing guest comfort and safety. Thanking you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us in future.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hotel Accord
#47 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
210 reviews
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#86 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
338 reviews
Hotel Regal Enclave
#66 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bawa Suites
#137 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
100 reviews
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
#19 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
405 reviews
Grand Residency Hotel & Serviced...
#124 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Residency

Property: The Oriental Residency
Address: P.D. Hinduja Marg, Next to Khar RTO | Khar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#46 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oriental Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residency is in Bandra, a hip neighborhood in Mumbai. A 5-minute drive from Khar Train Station, the hotel’s front desk and restaurant are conveniently open 24 hours a day.Offering city views of Mumbai, rooms at The Oriental Residency have a flat-screen TV and a safe. A minibar and tea/coffee making amenities are also provided. The private bathrooms have shower facilities.Soul Restaurant and Bar offers seafood, Indian and international dishes, with vegetarian options. Room service is also available 24 hours a day.Travel services include car rental and ticket or tour bookings. Express laundry and ironing services are also available. The hotel provides free airport pickup and free on-site parking.The Oriental Residency is a 15-minute drive from Mumbai’s Santa Cruz Domestic Airport and a 25-minute drive from Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. The Bandra Kurla Complex is just one mile away.Hotel Rooms: 44 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oriental Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Residency Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing