We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was outstanding”
Review of Waterstones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterstones Hotel
Ranked #42 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mussoorie, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was outstanding”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Had a fantastic three nights here, the bed in the room was very comfortable and the room had great character (we were on the mountain floor) and everything you needed. The facilities are first class, the pool is lovely and the tennis court is great, they provide someone to play with you if you are alone. We ate in all the restaurants and found the food to be first class everywhere. The service was exceptional. Definitely hope to come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrimperTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. It was a privilege to have you stay with us at Waterstones Hotel. We are glad to learn that you were impressed with the overall facilities & services at our hotel. I have shared your feedback with my entire team. Your words of appreciation are huge motivation and encouragement for us at Waterstones. We will continue to strive to add more value and comfort to your future stays.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again at the Waterstones Mumbai.

Regards
Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    207
    58
    16
    14
See reviews for
70
81
36
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Went there for my wedding night stay but left disappointed with the attitude of the staff. Probably should have realized that the hotel is meant for business travellers who seek good rooms and nice restaurants (food was actually nice) and not for couples like us who were seeking some romantic memories. Nevertheless, the rooms are really nice

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kalp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Waterstones’ best asset is that it is located right next to the International Airport, making it fairly accessible. That said, don’t judge the hotel by its entrance (which is quite small and winding through rather run down areas). Also, the lobby is on the second floor, so you need to go two floors up from the foyer where you get dropped off.

Once you’re in the lobby however, the place starts to feel modern, unique and surprisingly spacious. It’s a quirky place to say the least, with each floor having a theme (Forest, Mountain, Fire, Glacier). I was on Glacier Floor, and my room had blue ice-like tiles on the floor, a blue ceiling and a big picture of glaciers on the wall (I wonder what the Fire room is like!). But don’t let that put you off. The room itself was spacious, the bathroom modern and well supplied, and the bed was comfortable. The room also had a small seating area and desk, which is useful if you have friends coming by.

What I loved was how well the room was equipped (It had a hair dryer, an ironing board and iron, a shoe polisher, a blue tooth speaker, apart from the regular television. The bathroom was equally well stocked with toiletries and such). Room service was excellent – prompt, polite, and great food, albeit a bit expensive. There’s also a lovely restaurant downstairs if you feel like stepping out. The staff through and through were extremely helpful.

I didn't get to the pool or health club on this trip, but they are available, along with a roof top sit out. Overall, I loved my stay and found the place interesting, friendly and very well located. All things considered, it was very well priced, particularly for Mumbai. So I’d highly recommend it the next time you’re in town.

PS: If you need to tell a local cab driver how to find this place, don’t use the name Waterstones (since it’s quite new). Tell them it’s between the Lalit and the Leela in Sahar, and they’ll take you straight there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShahineArdeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you so much for your commendation. Our main objective at the Waterstones Hotel is to ensure that all our guests are satisfied with their entire experience and from your wonderful feedback it seems that in your case this objective has been achieved. We are proud of our unique facilities that offer our guests a private movie lounge, games room, library, billiards room, state of the art gym, Olympic Size pool , salon and spa as well as a wide selection of sporting facilities to choose from.
I do hope that the Waterstones Hotel continues to be your preferred choice of hotel in Mumbai.

Regards
Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here twice during recent trip to Kerala - fantastic! Rooms were individually designed, really well finished. Staff as ever were superb, food was excellent and the club next door was good as anything I've seen elsewhere - a real surprise. Best of all it was a small hotel with a heart - not the souless, clinical, long corridored usual airport hotels and very good value to boot.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmythepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our unique ambiance & personalized service and that your experience at our little oasis in Mumbai was enjoyable. We Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We hope you will give us an opportunity soon in the near future.
Looking forward to seeing you back at the Waterstones Hotel .

Regards
Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very close to The Leela Hotel in Sahar and neatly tucked into a street adjacent to "The Lalit" is "The Waterside Hotel". I did not know what to expect of the hotel, since it was the first time I was staying here as a business traveller. The decor and ambience took me by surprise. The lobby was 2 floors up and after a long walk through winding corridors, i checked into my room on the 6th floor. The room was themed after "Glaciers". The room has a glass lined ceiling and a floor lined with glass bricks. The writing table is all acrylic and a huge picture of a glacier adorned the wall. The room is well lit and can get really cold with all the glass. I had a very comfortable two nights stay. The breakfast buffet was a decent spread (but not as big a spread as some Five Stars have). I did try one meal - a well done Tenderloin Steak in Mushroom Pepper Sauce. I was recommended a specially imported steak from the USA which would have set me down by a cool INR 3000 +, but did not want to venture there. Yes, if you love meat they have a variety of meats imported from across the world. The Club set out in a adjoining property looked massive, but I did not get the chance to go in there - the write up on the club facilities however sounded very impressive. The next few times I visit Mumbai I would definitely like to try out the other themes - "Fire", "Marine", "Mountain" and "RainForest". I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USKINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed at the Waterstones in the last week of November and it was a very satidfying and comfotable stay... I have been to lots of 5 star hotels in Mumbai, but can't think of one hotel that has the Club house facilities compared to the one at Waterstones .... They have an Olympic size swimming pool , a Movie lounge , Music lounge , Games room and one of the best Gym n spa...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 270Sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our unique ambiance & personalized service and that your experience at our little oasis in Mumbai was enjoyable. We Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We hope you will give us an opportunity soon in the near future.
Looking forward to seeing you back at the Waterstones Hotel .

Regards
Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I had requested Rohan and his team to make it a memorable experience for me and my wife! They made it even more than that. The entire staff was courteous and helpful. Rajesh was helpful on both days! He has a great sense of servicing customers. Would love to go there in the future as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akki1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your glowing feedback about the hotel. Your remarks are a testimony to the team’s endeavor of exceeding guest’s expectations time and again. It is praise from Patrons like you that motivates everyone at the Waterstones to go that extra step.
On behalf of my team, I Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again in our midst soon.

Regards
Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bo...
#33 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
471 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,141 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#13 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,935 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,530 reviews
Hotel Suba International
#39 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterstones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterstones Hotel

Property: Waterstones Hotel
Address: | Mumbai International Airport, Mumbai (Bombay) 400059, India (Formerly The Gordon House Suites)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#32 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#36 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#45 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waterstones Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 5 minutes driving distance from the Mumbai International Airport, Waterstones Hotel epitomizes the authentic quintessence of Boutique Hospitality at its best-small, luxurious & very intimate. Distinctive architecture, atypical design elements, attention to luxurious comforts and other distinctive touches characterize the Waterstones Hotel; providing a richer and special guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waterstones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing