We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay to stay at”
Review of Hotel Royal Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Castle
Ranked #142 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Okay to stay at”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The Royal Castle is good positioned, you could easyli get a taxi and reach the the important sightseeing attractions. Our room was big enough for two people and it was clean. A disadvantage is that you can't open a window so there's only the ac and that brings no fresh air into the room. Our clothes were smelling. Smoking seems to be allowed in the whole hotel. The service was a bit to officious and they kept our change money directly as tip.
Wifi is available but you have tob pay extra. All in all in was good but next time we would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffiAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    61
    56
    18
    26
See reviews for
26
48
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

STA Travel booked me this hotel as my first night in Mumbai, I thought I'd 'splash out' on a nice hotel... this one being £35 per night which is rather a lot for Mumbai.

As it was my first night in India, I had nothing to compare it to.

The staff were 'ok' but not exactly over friendly. The guys carrying lugguage were nice though I am not used to people carrying my lugguage, there seemed to be about 8 of them doing this job so I felt I had to let one of them do it and give them a tip.

Anyway, the room was terrible... NO windows... very noisey air con that was half hanging off the wall. The ceiling in the bathroom had open electric wires coming out. Generally a very depressing room.

I had no idea where I was in Mumbai, so spent the first night wondering about, and found that this is not normally an area where tourists go. I found Chowpatty beach though, and that was a very cool place to hang out and get a massage etc.

I got next to 0 hours sleep whilst there.

I stayed another night because I was trying to work out where to go.

The next day I stayed in the more touristic area called 'Colaba', in a little hotel right by the Taj Mahal Hotel and the Gateway to India. It cost about £8 and was much nicer... with balconies and windows.

I think Royal Castle should be much cheaper, especially for a room with no windows.

Room Tip: Just say you need a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Got to know of it in Makemytrip as I preferred to stay in South, it is really reasonable with a friendly staff and efficient service. Location is good too, get cabs pretty easily. I would refer this to everyone, go for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanishqaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgarwalDeepak, Owner at Hotel Royal Castle, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Royal Castle,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to give your testimonial.
We are delighted to know that the facilities and services offered at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai met your expectations.
It is motivation from discerning patrons such as you, which encourages us to give our best. It has also been our utmost focus at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thanks & Regards
Deepak Agarwal,
Director
Hotel Royal Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Stay was good, Rooms were very comfortable. The management and staff was very cordial and the service was very prompt. look forward to visit again. i recommond this hotel to people who come for a money valuable accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kavithasss k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgarwalDeepak, Owner at Hotel Royal Castle, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Royal Castle,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to give your testimonial.
We are delighted to know that the facilities and services offered at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai met your expectations.
It is motivation from discerning patrons such as you, which encourages us to give our best. It has also been our utmost focus at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thanks & Regards
Deepak Agarwal,
Director
Hotel Royal Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found it ok. The rooms and bathroom are clean which is the main thing. The air con is old and very very noisy so bring ear plugs. The staff are ok, some of are more friendly than others. All in all if you don't plan on spending much time in your room then its good. We didn't venture much around the hotel so unable to comment on location but it seems fairly decent however taxi drivers did seem to have problems finding it or knowing where it was and being westerner's they wouldn't want to use the meter but make sure they do as they rip you off.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZaraAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My staying was pleasent. The staff was very much help full and their response was prompt. I will stay here in my next visit also. We have found that room was cleaned. Staffs are also very polite. We came here for our business trip from Kolkata.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAjib D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgarwalDeepak, Owner at Hotel Royal Castle, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Dear Mr. Rajib D,
Greetings from Hotel Royal Castle,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to give your testimonial.
We are delighted to know that the facilities and services offered at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai met your expectations.
It is motivation from discerning patrons such as you, which encourages us to give our best. It has also been our utmost focus at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thanks & Regards
Deepak Agarwal,
Director
Hotel Royal Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

i have been coming to this lovely place from past 4 months with the groups of 15 to 20 foreiners....its just been a wonderful experience for me...The staff is so hospitable, and it just a great place ..with all the facilities need for a good stay...Also been centrally located in mumbai, all the places are easily accesible... would highly recommend this place to all looking for a stay in mumbai.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shakti r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgarwalDeepak, Owner at Hotel Royal Castle, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Dear Mr. Shakti R,
Greetings from Hotel Royal Castle,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to give your testimonial.
We are delighted to know that the facilities and services offered at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai met your expectations.
It is motivation from discerning patrons such as you, which encourages us to give our best. It has also been our utmost focus at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thanks & Regards
Deepak Agarwal,
Director
Hotel Royal Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hotel Kumkum
#75 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
245 reviews
Hotel Kemps Corner
#66 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
117 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#80 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sapna
#153 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
28 reviews
Kalpana Palace Hotel
#204 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6 reviews
Residency Hotel
#16 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Castle

Property: Hotel Royal Castle
Address: 76, August kranti Marg, Gowalia Tank | Off kemps corner, Next to Cumballa Hill Hospital., Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Royal Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Castle is a contemporary, budget, family run hotel. It has over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry with "Clean and Value for money accommodation with extremely personalized services" as our motto. This hotel is suitable for both a short or for along term stay and is fashioned as the fusion of the modern facilities with a family atmosphere. Hotel Royal Castle is ideally situated in the posh residential/business district of kemps corner in south Mumbai. The hotels strategic location in close proximity to tourist destinations including historical temples and mosques, shopping malls, railway stations, consulates etc. is most favorable to our guests. The hotel is at 10 minutes drive from Mumbai central Station and 15 minutes drive from C.S.T Station. The local Grant Road Railway Station is only 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. From the International airport it is a 45 minutes drive to the hotel. Sea Beach 0.5 to 1km Shopping malls/Multiplex 1 to 2kms Historical Temples and mosques 1 to 2kms Consulates 0.5 to 2kms Famous Eateries/Pubs/Restaurants 0.5 to 1km Situated In the posh Locality of South Mumbai: China Garden 0.5km Costa coffee 0.5km Domino's Pizza 0.5 km McDonald 1km Indian Restaurant 0km Indian Fast Food 0km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing