We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super yum coastal food!”
Review of The Konkan Cafe

The Konkan Cafe
Ranked #75 of 14,536 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super yum coastal food!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Amazing food.
Their thalis are good value for money propositions to try a variety of food.
Nice, quiet ambience, quality of staff is excellent.
Worth a try surely.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PG1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    89
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The typical traditional food, especially the Neer dosa. It simply melts in your mouth. The rotis, dosa are prepared in front of you which gives that extra fresh feel to the serving. The service is prompt and the ambience is also wonderful.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank k_mhadgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
368 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“One of My Top 5 Restaurants in the World!”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I originally reviewed this restaurant (titled, Sorry, Not For Me) and I want to say I was absolutely wrong! Although I based my first review on a bad experience the first time, I decided to give the Konkani Café a second chance due in large part to the most professional and sincere Restaurant Manager I have ever met in my travels to more than 50 nations and too many restaurants to count. The managers name is Neeraj and when he saw me he asked how I enjoyed the meal I had the day before. When I was honest with him, he showed great concern and was determined to have me come back in so he could make things right. He then took the time to ask my likes and dislikes. As he evaluated he then made suggestions (I think the waiter we had the day before should have done this from the start). We then decided on several different dishes including a Tiger Prawn appetizer along with a grilled chicken and rice and ending it with a traditional dessert that was incredible (takes over 8 hours to make it). My friends, this place has now become one of my favorite restaurants in the entire world. Even if went back to Mumbai and stayed in a different hotel (this restaurant is inside the Vivanta President by Taj), I would absolutely go out of my way to eat at The Konkani Café. The myriad of flavors and the most wonderful decor and atmosphere is worth the trip. If you are in Mumbai - make sure you have a meal here. It is phenomenal! Thanks Neeraj for being the professional you are and giving me one of the best dining experiences I have ever had.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
475 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Superb coastal seafood”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Truly first class fish and prawn dishes with very attentive and helpful service. Try the appams to soak up the rich fragrant gravy. Wonderful flavours from Goa, Kerala and Maharashtra. Not too expensive either.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A mix of sea food experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

It is the Taj brand that provides an aura to the food here. It is an assortment of all seafood, (fish, prawns , crabs) that is on the menu along with the chicken/mutton preparations of South India. What I found lacking is the exclusiveness either of Konkani or of Mangalorian or Chettinaad cuisine. It comes all in a mix, particularly in the seafood thali which is a favourite here. The Kerala appams and stew is good. You may not also find any typical Malvani dish either, particularly if you are looking for a typical crab ( Khekadaa) preparation.

All in all, for a choosie foodie like me, the food did not impress much. The service and the ambience certainly is good, no doubt.. Taj. Try the mocktais and juices, they are quite good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank McKaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Konkan Cafe also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to The Konkan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing