We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gulf Hotel

Gulf Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulf Hotel
Ranked #356 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very good hotel to stay in if you are looking for a decent tarriff hotel. Centre to Colaba market. Especially if you are a non vegetarian there is so much variety food available in Colaba like bademiyas etc. Recommended !!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
4
3
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stay at Gulf Hotel was not bad, however the MakeMyTrip website showed WiFi, and Tea and Coffee maker as a facility in this hotel, and the hotel did not provide both of these. This place is not at all a bd place for a short stay (2 nights).. The AC being centralised on the 4th floor cant be controlled (Opening the window might give some respite from the extreme chill). The staff was pretty decently mannered. We ordered snacks from the hotel canteen, which was mediocre as per the rates. Overall an average staying experience. The USP of this hotel is the locality.

Room Tip: This place is not WiFied as mentioend in certain Travel Booking Sites. Ask for your toiletries, as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We were on a road trip from Goa to Mumbai and we were booked for the Gulf Hotel. Firstly the lift is very dodgy. Before checking in the ladies wanted to use the bathroom, wow this was refused. Then we checked the rooms and facilities, no go here. We immediately looked for another hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Noahn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Where to start with this disaster of a hotel, firstly as you enter what you think to be the reception seems more suited to a crack den. Then greeted by the most miserable receptionist I have ever encountered, without doubt the most unhelpful person I have met in India if not in life. Then taken to our room which lacked windows and the promise of hot water was not fulfilled. Upon our first night sleep we realised we had no control over our air conditioning so the room was unbareably cold and kept the 3 of us awake for hours and even resulted in a illness. The unhelpful receptionist chose to ignore our continuing phonecalls for two nights running and even began to take the mick out of us. They decided to move us to another room at 4am on our second evening, no apology or help with our belongings. The cockroach situation in both rooms was a nightmare. When checking out we informed the receptionist of our displeasure and he shrugged and just asked for our money. Most over priced accomodation in India and by far the worst!!!!! AVOID THIS PLACE

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJQ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Like the service and the attendants were very helpful. Only drawbacks was the bathrooms were too small and okay with the infrastructure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank traveller12337Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The hotel location is excellent however the service, the room, the inside of the hotel is very bad and guly. The rooms are dirty, smelly, the bathroom are also small and smelly. The towels, bedsheet, pillows, glass, mugs, blankets are all dirty. The rooms have no windows. It is more like a workers camps without windows. The only this good in this hotel is Koyala.

Room Tip: There is no good room in this hotel do don't choose a room here. Only visit koyala
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

In the last ten years this place has tripled in price and gone down hill big style. Rats and rooms full of cockroaches. There are elements of retro style but the place is crawling. To end on a positive note, the men who operate the lift are lovely. Super polite and kind. Reception however is a different matter!

Room Tip: Do not book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PinkyBinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#369 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#125 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harbour View
Hotel Harbour View
#232 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Palace Hotel
Sea Palace Hotel
#172 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#261 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#90 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Hotel

Property: Gulf Hotel
Address: Next To Radio Club, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gulf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing