We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel at very good location but average rooms”
Review of Hotel Beach Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Beach Garden
Ranked #190 of 446 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hotel at very good location but average rooms”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel is just opposite Juhu Beach (Chaupati).
The breakfast was served in room; but quantity was not sufficient.
The rooms are too small, but as per Mumbai standard; they are fine. The room was clean with basic facilities.
I like the hotel because of its location which is a big Plus.
Check-in and Check-out was very smooth and staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ground floor room, which was little noisy due to nearness to the reception. I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josan165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    25
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
6
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The quality, the service, the cleanliness, the behaviour of staff prompted me to stay again in this hotel.
The hotel is NOT near the beach, it is ON the beach...ie Juhu Beach. One just walks out of the hotel and the beach is there in front.
Though there is no restaurant but they offer meals in the room itself with quality and quantity more than sufficient.
It is also not far from domestic airport (about 10-15 min taxi drive depending on traffic)

Room Tip: Not exactly a room tip but a useful hotel location tip. The signboard of hotel is not adequate and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Ankit_Agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This review is delayed and perhaps things have changed there by now, but the trauma stayed with me enough that this is warranted. My partner and I stayed in the hotel for a few days in Feb 2010 when we 1st arrived in India. I noticed several bugs on the bed when we arrived that I repeatedly flicked off and thought nothing of them since we were so close to the beach. After a few days more and more itchy red spots began appearing on my body and by the time I left India I was covered in them. I did research on the bugs I saw and the bites on my body and it turned out to be BED BUGS. My partner had the bites too, but I had an allergic reaction and they turned into exploding welts. I've been pretty traumatized about hotel travel ever since.

As for the rest of the stay, the staff stalked us for tips and at one point I couldn't leave the bathroom where I'd been showering for an extra 15 minutes because the staff member refused to accept the already generous tip my partner gave him and leave the room. It was very uncomfortable. The rooms were stuffy and humid. The area is very close to Juhu beach, which is not at all like an American Beach; it is dirty, seedy, and not welcoming to people wanting to sunbathe. We had a woman chasing us across lanes of busy traffic carrying a baby to try to get us to give her money. It is a dense area full of people trying to beg and scam you.

The pros: The front desk staff is very nice and helpful, there is a lovely hotel entryway, the price is super cheap, you can get room service that's decent and affordable, there's a tv in the room, and it is really close to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel is situated just across the road facing Juhu Beach. It is opposite the Ramada Plaza. The location is easy to reach by taxi, however because of current renovation work, the signboard is missing. The hotel staff is courteous and ready to help. Just cross the road and one is at the Juhu Beach. It is very near the Santa Cruze airport and all the domestic flights fly from just above the hotel

Room Tip: Few rooms provide a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Ankit_Agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My sister and I booked Hotel Beach Garden through the recommendation of a friend who frequently travelled to Mumbai and understood our need to budget.
We aren't particularly fussy, as long as the place is clean with running hot water and enough mirrors so we can get ready each night. The hotel was mostly just a place to crash between clubs and meals with friends.

-The Good-
Excellent location just opposite Juhu beach and very near a lot of the five star hotels where the clubs are. We didn't bother going to Juhu Beach as its not particularly picturesque. Also nearby districts such as Bandra are hip and trendy for the clubbing scene. And most importantly the area was safe, even for two foreign young girls that would normally be prime target in India. We didn't get half as much hassle as in other areas.
The hotel layout was quite unusual and pretty intimate. An outdoor reception area that you could see through all the room windows, with stairs and/or balconies that connected each room. Plenty of character, rather than a generic, impersonal hotel that you can't call home for a few days.
The room itself was like a cute, homely apartment. Even when the delightful manager later asked us if we wanted a free upgrade to a much larger room, we declined as the room we had (with a small balcony to smoke out of) had much more character and felt like home. For those who can't quite embrace the Indian bathroom system like we did (toilet and shower all in one place without separate cubicles or raised areas, which meant the water after a shower went everywhere) then look elsewhere.
We were constantly calling room service/reception for questions and asking to borrow irons etc. they were all so patient and happy to oblige. The restaurant was also room service only, so perhaps it was just a kitchen attached, but when one is hungover and too lazy to roll out of bed, this set up was perfect. And the food was pretty good too, and far more reasonably priced than the nearby restaurants. They had the wifi up and running throughout our visit but it was only on the last day that we realised that the connection is not strong enough to reach the rooms and we had to sit in the reception area to access it. Also plenty of good tv channels for those hungover mornings.
By the end of the 3 nights, we were friendly with all the staff, even joking around that they were like caring parents making sure we got back safe and at a decent time (if 6am in the morning is "decent")
Would definitely stay again.

-The Bad-
Despite the excellent location, rickshaws and taxis just could not find this little hidden away hotel, and the address (opposite Juhu beach) is rather vague. So I strongly suggest that you find your bearings before venturing out, and tell the driver it is opposite the ramada and close to the Marriott. We got a rickshaw from the Marriott to our hotel and it took half an hour and a ridiculous charge before we discovered it was a 5 minute WALK away!
As with many hotels and houses in India, the rooms aren't very bright. All the shades, curtains and lack of windows tend to keep out heat. But we go on holiday specifically for heat and light!
On the first night we asked the manager if it was okay to have friends over. As described above, he was extremely helpful and accommodating. Unfortunately by the time our friends turned up, another porter was on duty and kept pestering us that our guests need to leave. We had to pay the 600 rupees for "an extra guest" just to shut him up! The manager apologised profusely the next morning, but that wasn't going to bring back out money already spent and having to deal with a nuisance all of the night before.
As for the price, we were well aware that there is no such thing as a cheap, clean and well located hotel in Mumbai. In fact Mumbai proved to be more expensive than London for a clubbing weekend...! And while elsewhere in India a place like this would be a fraction of the price, we had to bite the bullet and fork out, as everywhere else would have just been even more money.

Overall, I'd be happy to revisit.

Room Tip: Go for the safe room as us, I think it was room 307: It's on the left hand side if the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bittersw33t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Located exactly opposite of Juhu Beach. Superb area to live in... Rooms were small but decent. No restro in the hotel however they managed the room service for food. Friendly staff but a bit unprofessional.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anandbhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford,uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked this as it was close to the airport and we had 10 hours between flights. As a place to store luggage it was just about acceptable. As a place to sleep - no. Grubby, shabby and unpleasant. At $69 on Agoda it was ridiculously overpriced. The manager on the desk was very helpful though. Juhu is a bit of a dump too and, apart from The Marriott, the so called five star hotels are more like 2-3 star soulless, tatty places.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bessieoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#74 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Juhu
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#125 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Juhu
JC Chalet
JC Chalet
#363 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Garden Hotel
#323 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Juhu
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Ap...
#90 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Hotel Atlantic
#311 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beach Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach Garden

Property: Hotel Beach Garden
Address: Opposite Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Juhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 446 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beach Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beach Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing