We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel to stay with Couple”
Review of The Caliph

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Caliph
Ranked #377 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very cordial, Good service & very co-operative. my stay was like for 22 days and I find the staff are very co-operative. No fear keeping things and very close many places in Mumbai. Transport is available to all places.

Room Tip: Ask for south side facing towards Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BALARINCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

No network inside the room !!! Very poor lights in room !! No tissue in the room and can't even provide it after asking them !! Food quality is also bad !!
They gave improve a lot for becoming a good hotel !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank Vijay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel metro residency (another name called Calif Hotel) for around 70 days ( 2.5 months). Rooms were clean, service is poor, for each and everything we have to follow up at lest 2-3 times.Mobile network doesn't work properly . Free Wi fi provided but signal problem.AC not working properly in some of the rooms. If morning you tell to rectify some problem in the room no body keep tracking of the same. Management also very careless just say sorry that's all.


After staying such a long time in the hotel they have not provided and comfortable service. For small room also they charged me equivalent to big room, that I did not find correct.


But here I don't want to blame the housekeeping and other staff working there. Hotel Management should guide and train them proper.Due to lack of understanding the hotel system staff are working not giving good service.

Management should consider to provide some good discount and other facility those who staying such a long time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambrish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCALIPH, General Manager at The Caliph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for Reviewing our Hotel On Trip adviser, I personally apologies for inconvenience caused during your stay, will make sure on your your feedback is addressed promptly will surly work on improvement on area which you mentioned .

looking forward to serve you again please get in touch with me directly on your next visit i will personally take of your booking and stay please mail me on :- gm@thecaliphhotel.com

Regards
Domniick
General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was there for couple of days during my training at India. Room service was good and most of all the friendlier approach by Mr. Akash Mahakal was good.

I would recommend anyone who visit Mumbai to try the place out.

Thanks all the staff at Hotel Metro Residency.
.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thilina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCALIPH, General Manager at The Caliph, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank your for posting your valuable review on TripAdvisor, we are delighted to note you had comfortable stay in our Hotel Metro Residency ( The Caliph ) , such reviews are encouraging our Team

we are looking foreword to welcoming you again

Regards
Domnick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very old property..Rooms not the best. AC does not work and the maintenance needs to come and fix it every time. Food just about average. Service is excellent, staff is very helpful..Wifi connection also very spotty at best..Key Cards dont always work and then need to go back to the front desk to get some one to come and help enter the room

Room Tip: Look for other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCALIPH, General Manager at The Caliph, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, we apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay , we make sure to take corrective action on this , you will find a waste difference on your next visit ,

Looking foreword to welcome you again in Hotel Caliph

Regards
Mr Domnick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one nights without checking out the previous reviews and I paid for it. First of all, the taxi. For pickup was so late that I had to take a taxi and when I reached the hotel I faced really hostile reception as they asked me to pay for a cab that I did not take. Furthermore there was no hot wAter as pointed out in previous reviews. This place us comfortably the worst hotel in India. Another reason that they changed their name to Caliph but they are the same hotel. Finally and worst was the state of the bathrooms. They say a 3 star but it is not definitely not the case and they are in a awful location.

Room Tip: Please avoid metro residency or caliph
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMmahad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCALIPH, General Manager at The Caliph, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Metro Residency ( The Caliph )

Thank you for your feedback. We are concerned to hear that you were inconvenienced by the service & facilities delivered to you and faced challenges with undue delays.

We deeply regret for spoiling your experience with us . We have instructed concern departments to look into the same .We can assure you that this is not The Caliph standards , we believe in sound product and best services .

We look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Metro Residency ( The Caliph )

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I went to attend a conference IEEE Indicon at IIT Mumbai and stayed in this hotel.
The hotel is conveniently located. The room is good, service is excellent. The reception desk is also very cooperative. Only problem is that the hotel does not have a board displaying the name of the hotel on the side of the main road for which the taxi was unable to locate it initially. Though the area inside hotel boundary is very well maintained, just outside the hotel the roads are not so clean. However it is close to Powai police station. Food and breakfast served by the restaurant Pakhtun of this hotel is good, though bit costly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sumit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCALIPH, General Manager at The Caliph, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to know that our services have created a positive impression on you. We assure you that your feedback will be shared among the team members. It is feedback that motivates our team members to perform better than before.

Once again, Thank you very much for your valuable comments and look forward to your continued patronage with Hotel Metro Residency ( The Caliph )

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.4 mi away
Maxx Value Hospitality
Maxx Value Hospitality
#401 of 489 in Mumbai
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oritel Service Apartments
Oritel Service Apartments
#138 of 489 in Mumbai
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
OYO 5012 Lake View Residency
#294 of 489 in Mumbai
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Keys Select Hotel
Keys Select Hotel
#52 of 489 in Mumbai
546 reviews
1.4 mi away
OYO 8544 Hotel Bently
OYO 8544 Hotel Bently
#434 of 489 in Mumbai
2 reviews
1.2 mi away
Treebo Lake Bloom Residency
Treebo Lake Bloom Residency
#137 of 489 in Mumbai
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caliph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caliph

Address: Near Powai Police Station | Rambaug, Powai, Mumbai 400072, India (Formerly Hotel Metro Residency)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caliph 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metro Residency will be known as The Caliph from 2014 onwards, Its a business cum Leisure Hotel situated in very beautiful powai area Hotel has 50 centrally air conditioned rooms,24hrs reception & room service as well as Restaurant . International airport is just 15 Minutes drive from Hotel & Domestic Airport is 30 Minutes drive , Hotel Is close to all business hub like Seepz, Marol, Midc,Sakinaka etc, Hotel is situated near Powai lake & Hiranandani Hospital & shopping arcade near by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Caliph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing