We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to laugh.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The UniContinental Hotel
Ranked #351 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We had to laugh.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Ok so I must say that we had got there on the day it hit monsoon season. Therefore the electrics were on and off (you expect this from India anyway but it was worse because of all the heavy rain). There was a guy in a cupboard trying to fix the issue and there were sparks coming from everywhere.
The rooms are VERY basic and we must had got one of the not so 'executive' rooms but we were backpackers. We didn't care. We didn't care that the rain was coming through our windows or that there was a worm thing in our toilet. We laughed. At the end of the day for how much we paid for this hotel, we were not expecting luxury and to be fair it probably is on par with most other places we stayed whilst in India.
The restaurants that were connected to the hotel would look like it was closed but as soon as the manager saw you he would switch the lights on and they would open up the restaurant. They were lovely and could not do more to help you.
It was a good enough hotel for what we needed and it gave us some laughs and stories to tell. We didn't expect much more for how much we paid for it and considering it's location it was alright to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachec18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Ma'am,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you due to the electrical issues or the hygiene related to the washroom. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    13
    8
    15
See reviews for
12
3
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Best Hotel, Best Services, Very Neat & Clean and Very Good Service for Room Service i stay there for 1 Night its Very Good, That was my Last Day of Trip in Mumbai if i have more days i stay only in this Hotel.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Ma'am,
Thank you so much for your review. We deeply appreciate the same in response to your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had there just for fun. So staying at the hotel was very less. It was a fair stay because we could sleep peacefully with no much noise around. Hospitality was fine, nothing much to tell, nor good nor bad.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Archana500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you by our staff's lack of courtesy or the food. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

@ the hotel the staff lacks curtsy, some of them are indeed helpful, but the lady at reception needs to be more polite & receptive to customers needs... every time i've stayed hear the staff has asked me for money up front & in a very rude manner, especially whenever i'm looking to extend my stay for any extra days, their is lack of tissue paper every time i've stayed hear.. & food is horrible to say the least. But the redeeming factor is location & the new furniture built at the hotel. Hence would rate it as average hotel in the vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Spaag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I arrived late one night and had already booked with Expedia. The check in was quick but the wifi wasn't working which was a big problem as I ended to inform family I had arrived safe. Luckily it was working the next afternoon. I stayed in the 10 man dorm but the staff would just walk in willy nilly every morning time. No running hot water either but I didn't find this a problem as it was so hot!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Ma'am,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Also known as Hotel Samrat. I stayed in the dorm which was fine but felt I was overcharged. The mattresses were extremely thin. The reception staff were not the friendliest. The food at the restaurant/bar on the first floor was great and reasonably priced and the waiters were friendly, even though their English wasn't the best. It is relatively close to the airport and right next to the Khar train station to go into the better parts of Mumbai.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Snip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you in the dorm room or with the staff. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It was overall a good experience. The hotel is just next to the bandra railway station and 20 minutes from bandra kurla complex/MMRDA grounds. Staff was very cooperative. Room was very neat and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Hardik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singhs, Owner at The UniContinental Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing The UniContinental during your stay in Mumbai.Your feedback will help us in improving our services.

Sorry for the delay in responding as we just realised we have the option to respond to our guest reviews.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Mumbai and ensure to make it comfortable.

Warm Regards

Paramjit Singh Ghai
Chairman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Red Palm
Hotel Red Palm
#336 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Linkway
Hotel Linkway
#198 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
26 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sai Leela Residency
Sai Leela Residency
#329 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regal Enclave
Hotel Regal Enclave
#69 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
264 reviews
8.7 mi away
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#323 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blue Orchids Executive
Blue Orchids Executive
#381 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The UniContinental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The UniContinental Hotel

Property: The UniContinental Hotel
Address: 3rd Road, Next to Khar Railway Station | Khar west, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The UniContinental Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicontinental, Mumbai epitomizes the best in the space of boutique budget hotels. It extraordinarily blends traditional comforts with modern opulence. Low on Cost! High on Value! It is situated in the heart of the city in Khar, approx. 3 kms from the Domestic Airport, BKC and Juhu beach, and only 6 kms from Sahar International Airport.Its central location provides an easy link to the city's most frequented malls, shopping areas, entertainment complexes, pubs, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The UniContinental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing