We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay there but wish I had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)
Ranked #35 of 458 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The reviews and the website of the hotel had me hooked and I almost booked myself there for a short stay, but it was location, which wasn't suitable to me and hence I booked elsewhere. My loss.
But I was intrigued to go see this place while I was in Mumbai, and I decided to go there for lunch.

That place exudes class, warmth, and comfort
and they don't want to steal all your money to give you that!

From the time you drove your car up to the gate and the way the smiley good looking valet took your car away
you knew you were at a good place

as we entered we were greeted with such a warm "hello' that you almost felt you were visiting long lost relatives!
Seriously, am not kidding

We were shown around the place immediately, the options for food and seating......so you could make a decision where you wanted to sit
and once you sat
they immediately offered you a drink...part of the lunch deal, but the way they put it across is as if its a welcome drink, which makes you feel so much better

the service was outstanding
once you were settled in, it was discreet but still personalised...without being intrusive

they helped you make little decisions
snacks
drinks
food
in a beautiful manner
the manager explaining what all is on offer
the steward making suggestions
the chef coming up and recommending his meal


wow
never felt so pampered

the food was great
the toilet was great

the people were great
the customers were great

and the rates were so totally affordable and down to earth


This ladies and gentlemen
is the place to go always and everytime you are in mumbai
and next time am checking in too!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, General Manager at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Svenska on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

The entire team is delighted to note that you have had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed everything about Svenska.

We are pleased to share that Svenska Mumbai has received the “TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence” this accolade, which honours hospitality excellence, is given only to establishments that consistently achieve outstanding traveller reviews on TripAdvisor, and is extended to qualifying businesses worldwide. Approximately 10 % of accommodations listed on TripAdvisor receive this prestigious award.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed first time in Svenska Hotel, Mumbai during 10th May 2012 - 11th May 2012. I stayed in many top hotels in Mumbai, like Holiday Inn, Leela. But I rate Svenska as the best hotel with excellent un-believable service. Very clean room with clean toilet and plenty of clean towels, linens.
Everyone of the staff is well behaved and very courteous. Rupa Aggarwal the GM took personal care to ensure the guest is well taken care off.
Hats off to the Svenska team!!!
I decided to continue staying Svenska Mumbai and I will put all my guests in their Bangalore branch also.
Rajendran
Bangalore

Room Tip: I stayed in 504, it is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajendran22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, General Manager at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to know that your experience at Svenska, Mumbai has exceeded your expectations in every way.

At Svenska, we take great pride in the services we offer and your recognition motivates us to strive harder for excellence.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

If you are on a visit to Mumbai and need to traverse say between Khar & Malad (west) then this is the hotel to stay.

With local shopping, diners, theatres, beach, pubs its great location to stay and if you are on business then too its great.

The rooms are nice, clean, no nonsense and with good gizmos.

The bath is clean and modern & hip.

You must stay here once if not always!

Room Tip: They also have a gym (affiliation) and they drive you down to it, so even with the space crunch on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajivHariram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments through TripAdvisor.

All of us are thrilled to know that you have had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the overall ambience of the hotel and especially the design of the room.

Your appreciative comments for our team members motivates us in delivering excellent service. Do let me know when you plan to travel next, as I will be pleased to look after every aspect of your stay personally.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

recently stayed at this hotel on connecting through mumbai for one night. For the price its excellent value with attentive staff, a warm welcome, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Will be returning.The butler service was very welcome helping me gain access to the wifi service. The roof top restaurant has great views and real indian food.I didn't eat at the hotels spanish restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear VJS,

Thank you for posting your review about your experience at Svenska, Mumbai.

I am happy to note that you left with a positive impression of the hotel and its services and enjoyed your dining experience at the Kabab restaurant- Soul.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and next time when you come you have to try our Spanish/Mediterranean Restaurant which has been the Winner of the Best Mediterranean Restaurant Award from the Times Food Guide 2012,

Warm regards,

Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel and I was very happy with my stay. I stayed in Svenska for nearly 12 days on a business trip. They provide you with a car to go to their affiliated gym called "Fitness First" and it's an excellent gym. The Butler and laundry service is excellent. All of the staff members are very friendly and efficient. I loved their breakfast! I definitely plan to stay here again...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rinil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to know that your experience at Svenska, Mumbai has exceeded your expectations in every way.

At Svenska, we take great pride in the services we offer and your recognition motivates us to strive harder for excellence.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have travelled extensively and stayed at many great hotels but this rates with the best. Spacious room, clean, attractive,functional and nothing is too much bother for the willing and attentive staff. The food in all the restaurants is fresh, tasty and of the highest quality with an extensive menu to suit all tastes. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who truly wants a cosmopolitan, Mumbai experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judydoubas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facility and services, especially the dining experience at our restaurants

We look forward to your return visit so you may have the opportunity to experience our other Food and Beverage venues like Soul,Miro & Miro Lounge.

Warm Regards

Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel is clean, the staff is smiley and friendly. I have been to Mumbai many times. When I stayed in this new hotel i was impressed with their perfect breakfast and neat and tidy rooms
with a big size TV screen and fast speed internet and efficient room service. The hotel have all modern look and facilities.The big windows of hotel gives you a mass look on the road and as well huge sun light. The in-room daily deserts, when you come in your room after dinner was a perfect gift after coming from a lengthy business meeting. I will recommend this hotel to every business traveler, if they want full attention of all the staff members as well as cleaning of rooms are concerned.

Room Tip: rooms on back of the hotel are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahmoodshafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your views through TripAdvisor.

The entire team is delighted to note that you have had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the views from our windows and had a great time with us.

We are pleased to share that Svenska, Mumbai has received the “TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence” this accolade, which honours hospitality excellence, is given only to establishments that consistently achieve outstanding traveller reviews on TripAdvisor, and is extended to qualifying businesses worldwide. Approximately 10 % of accommodations listed on TripAdvisor receive this prestigious award.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.6 mi away
The Empresa Hotel
The Empresa Hotel
#101 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
20 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
#24 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
426 reviews
5.6 mi away
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hote...
#15 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartments
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartme...
#119 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
49 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residency Sarovar Portico
Residency Sarovar Portico
#22 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
361 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Yogi Executive
Hotel Yogi Executive
#4 of 33 in Navi Mumbai
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)

Address: Sab T V Lane, Off Link Road | Opposite Laxmi Industrial Estate, Andheri West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400053, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#29 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#29 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#35 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#43 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £89 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svenska Design Hotels are a collection of luxury boutique designer lifestyle hotels from Sweden, part of the Worldhotels 5-star Deluxe Collection. The chic and trendy hotel has various food & beverage offerings, including French-style Bistro for all-day-dining; Delicatessen offering fresh breads, bakes & confectionery; specialty Mediterranean fine-dining restaurant; Tapas bar with inventive cocktails and beverages; rooftop al-fresco Indian specialty restaurant & bar; and conferencing/ banqueting facilities.Focused on highly personalized guest experiences, Svenska offers plethora of complimentary guest services, including:- 24x7 Private Butler Service- High-speed WI-FI Internet across the property- Welcome Drink on Arrival- Breakfast- In-room Spa Treatments (Daily 20mins massage)- High Thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linen- Top-end Crabtree & Evelyn Toiletries- Access to Swimming Pool and Fitness Centre- Two Bottles of Mineral Water- Tea-Coffee Making Facility. All these are completely free-of-charge. In addition, each room has 40" Sony TVs and DVD players with a collection of movies-on-demand. Fully-stocked Mini-bar, IPod Docking Stations and Mood Lighting are also standard features in every room. Various other gadgets are also available complimentary on-request, including IPads, Sony PS3 and Nintendo WII gaming consoles with selection of games, and much more. Svenska Mumbai is located in the heart of Lokhandwala Complex amidst North Mumbai's largest, commercial and residential district of Andheri West, Versova, Oshiwara, Malad and Juhu. The hotel is at a walking distance from the Ambani Hospital, leading Bollywood studios, shopping malls, multiplexes, bars, restaurants and coffee shops. It is located 5km from Andheri Railway Station and 8km from Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing