We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delightful stay in a great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)
Ranked #31 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
140 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“delightful stay in a great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

although the location of the hotel is a bit remote, the taxis are not expensive, and i suggest you don't discard this hotel from your shortlist. we were a bit concerned about spending extra time for the rides across the city, but in the end of the day this hotel turned to be by far the best stay during our one month long business trip around india.

there is a number of shopping malls nearby if you feel like walking. as for dining, we had all of our meals in the hotel's restaurants, and the food was just perfect. we were actually curious to try all the menu items and find out if all the listed dishes were equally good. it turned to have no drawbacks.

the room was just huge, with a generously sized bathroom. all very clean and well-maintained. the hotel is relatively new, and i really hope they will keep their high standard by the time we go to the next scheduled trip to mumbai.

we had a small incident with our bank card during the check out, as it turned to be not accepted by the payment terminal, and we were told it might be due to a problem with internet connection with the bank, however it was a bit uncomfortable to be looking for alternative solutions short time before the flight. i hope this will be fixed, as many travelers prefer not to be carrying amounts in cash, especially if the trip included other countries and currencies.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    80
    41
    14
    18
See reviews for
117
59
30
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

i chose this hotel last week during my trip to mumbai since this was a stone's throw away from office. Check in was bumpy as the amex machine at the hotel didn't read my card...but beyo nd that a spacious airy room awaited. Functional decor, lots of space & pretty good food. Had a hard time one evening when the airconditioner did not function for almost 2 hours; expected some sort of a goodwill gesture from the hotel, but there wasn't to be one.
Bottom line: nice place if you want proximity to your office - however, way highly priced

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurav2075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupa A, General Manager at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Svenska on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was delighted to read that you found our room to be spacious and airy and also you loved our decor and food at Svenska. However, I was sorry to learn that you had challanges with our credit card machine.I have personally checked back on this and there was a slight problems with our connection which connects our bank with the machine. Here at Svenska, our aim is to provide a personalised service to all our guests. I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable short stay with us.

I was very concerned to read that your AC was not working in your room and you did not get any feedback from my team.I have personally conveyed your disappointment to my team. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I do hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Svenska and please get in touch with me and i will ensure you have a great time with us.Once againhank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Yours's Sincerely
Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I recently had a party at Svenska and the place just amazed me.I had a huge task to get work party organised but from the time i stepped in i knew i am just at the right place.The team exactly knows what service is and how to make an impression on the guests.I told them my requirements and they just did everything for me i just had to sit back and relax.

I cannot praise them enough for organising such a wonderful evening for us the music,food and atmosphere was such that we never wanted to end it

I just want to say you guys are doing a great job and thanks to everyone who made our evening so beautiful i am alraedy a fan of svenska and so is my office and we all know where our next party would be.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikash0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The reviews and the website of the hotel had me hooked and I almost booked myself there for a short stay, but it was location, which wasn't suitable to me and hence I booked elsewhere. My loss.
But I was intrigued to go see this place while I was in Mumbai, and I decided to go there for lunch.

That place exudes class, warmth, and comfort
and they don't want to steal all your money to give you that!

From the time you drove your car up to the gate and the way the smiley good looking valet took your car away
you knew you were at a good place

as we entered we were greeted with such a warm "hello' that you almost felt you were visiting long lost relatives!
Seriously, am not kidding

We were shown around the place immediately, the options for food and seating......so you could make a decision where you wanted to sit
and once you sat
they immediately offered you a drink...part of the lunch deal, but the way they put it across is as if its a welcome drink, which makes you feel so much better

the service was outstanding
once you were settled in, it was discreet but still personalised...without being intrusive

they helped you make little decisions
snacks
drinks
food
in a beautiful manner
the manager explaining what all is on offer
the steward making suggestions
the chef coming up and recommending his meal


wow
never felt so pampered

the food was great
the toilet was great

the people were great
the customers were great

and the rates were so totally affordable and down to earth


This ladies and gentlemen
is the place to go always and everytime you are in mumbai
and next time am checking in too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, General Manager at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Svenska on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

The entire team is delighted to note that you have had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed everything about Svenska.

We are pleased to share that Svenska Mumbai has received the “TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence” this accolade, which honours hospitality excellence, is given only to establishments that consistently achieve outstanding traveller reviews on TripAdvisor, and is extended to qualifying businesses worldwide. Approximately 10 % of accommodations listed on TripAdvisor receive this prestigious award.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed first time in Svenska Hotel, Mumbai during 10th May 2012 - 11th May 2012. I stayed in many top hotels in Mumbai, like Holiday Inn, Leela. But I rate Svenska as the best hotel with excellent un-believable service. Very clean room with clean toilet and plenty of clean towels, linens.
Everyone of the staff is well behaved and very courteous. Rupa Aggarwal the GM took personal care to ensure the guest is well taken care off.
Hats off to the Svenska team!!!
I decided to continue staying Svenska Mumbai and I will put all my guests in their Bangalore branch also.
Rajendran
Bangalore

Room Tip: I stayed in 504, it is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajendran22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, General Manager at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to know that your experience at Svenska, Mumbai has exceeded your expectations in every way.

At Svenska, we take great pride in the services we offer and your recognition motivates us to strive harder for excellence.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2012

If you are on a visit to Mumbai and need to traverse say between Khar & Malad (west) then this is the hotel to stay.

With local shopping, diners, theatres, beach, pubs its great location to stay and if you are on business then too its great.

The rooms are nice, clean, no nonsense and with good gizmos.

The bath is clean and modern & hip.

You must stay here once if not always!

Room Tip: They also have a gym (affiliation) and they drive you down to it, so even with the space crunch on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajivHariram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments through TripAdvisor.

All of us are thrilled to know that you have had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the overall ambience of the hotel and especially the design of the room.

Your appreciative comments for our team members motivates us in delivering excellent service. Do let me know when you plan to travel next, as I will be pleased to look after every aspect of your stay personally.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

recently stayed at this hotel on connecting through mumbai for one night. For the price its excellent value with attentive staff, a warm welcome, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Will be returning.The butler service was very welcome helping me gain access to the wifi service. The roof top restaurant has great views and real indian food.I didn't eat at the hotels spanish restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear VJS,

Thank you for posting your review about your experience at Svenska, Mumbai.

I am happy to note that you left with a positive impression of the hotel and its services and enjoyed your dining experience at the Kabab restaurant- Soul.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and next time when you come you have to try our Spanish/Mediterranean Restaurant which has been the Winner of the Best Mediterranean Restaurant Award from the Times Food Guide 2012,

Warm regards,

Rupa Aggarwal
General Manager
raggarwal@svenskahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
4.5 mi away
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
#26 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
#34 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartments
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartme...
#112 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residency Sarovar Portico
Residency Sarovar Portico
#27 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waterstones Hotel
Waterstones Hotel
#44 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Empresa Hotel
The Empresa Hotel
#106 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)

Property: Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)
Address: Sab T V Lane, Off Link Road | Opposite Laxmi Industrial Estate, Andheri West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400053, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#35 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#43 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svenska Design Hotels are a collection of luxury boutique designer lifestyle hotels from Sweden, part of the Worldhotels 5-star Deluxe Collection. The chic and trendy hotel has various food & beverage offerings, including French-style Bistro for all-day-dining; Delicatessen offering fresh breads, bakes & confectionery; specialty Mediterranean fine-dining restaurant; Tapas bar with inventive cocktails and beverages; rooftop al-fresco Indian specialty restaurant & bar; and conferencing/ banqueting facilities.Focused on highly personalized guest experiences, Svenska offers plethora of complimentary guest services, including:- 24x7 Private Butler Service- High-speed WI-FI Internet across the property- Welcome Drink on Arrival- Breakfast- In-room Spa Treatments (Daily 20mins massage)- High Thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linen- Top-end Crabtree & Evelyn Toiletries- Access to Swimming Pool and Fitness Centre- Two Bottles of Mineral Water- Tea-Coffee Making Facility. All these are completely free-of-charge. In addition, each room has 40" Sony TVs and DVD players with a collection of movies-on-demand. Fully-stocked Mini-bar, IPod Docking Stations and Mood Lighting are also standard features in every room. Various other gadgets are also available complimentary on-request, including IPads, Sony PS3 and Nintendo WII gaming consoles with selection of games, and much more. Svenska Mumbai is located in the heart of Lokhandwala Complex amidst North Mumbai's largest, commercial and residential district of Andheri West, Versova, Oshiwara, Malad and Juhu. The hotel is at a walking distance from the Ambani Hospital, leading Bollywood studios, shopping malls, multiplexes, bars, restaurants and coffee shops. It is located 5km from Andheri Railway Station and 8km from Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing