We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesum experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)
Ranked #33 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Awesum experience”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I went to Svenska design hotels for my b'day with my wife and parents and was very happy to see the buffet setup and the variety spread... being a Punjabi i'm a complete foodie and loved all the varieties that was offered for dinner buffet right from the starters to the main course to different types of deserts... overall a fine dinning experience and time well spent with family with good ambiance and humble staff... congratulations to Svenska and all the best!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhiljain660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    83
    42
    15
    18
See reviews for
121
58
31
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Visited on my friend's birthday, and enjoyed a lot. Starters were awesome in both veg and nonveg, as my friend is vegetarian got to taste both and there is lot of variety is vegetarian food compared to other restaurants we have been. Pizzas and dimsums were one of the best I have had. Main course is burning hot as compared to other buffets I have had, And a lot of desserts for sweet lovers. Overall itz a foodies paradise. The staff is very friendly and prompt. Prawns lowers go only on Saturday, Sundays.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Swapneel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our experience was great.. The service was superb.. The food was awesome.. we will visit quiet often to this really nice place.. Kudos to the entire staff.. Had a Great time.. Must Eat is the barbeque chicken, freshly baked pizzas, tawa fish and last but not the least desserts..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasani p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel, staff, service and food at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai. It has been a pleasure hosting you at our hotel and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Get your money's worth by dining at Sevenska Design Hotel.
Personally my hot favourites were Chicken in Bean Sause & Pizza.
In Desserts the Pastries &Mousse were just Awesome.
The Service & Staff attention was Excellent.
Enjoyed my visit to the Hilt, Would eagerly look forward to visit Sevenska again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Prerna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed there with my Wife for a two night stay. The staff seemed nice enough but for a luxury hotel the stairway was a cluttered fire trap, the food was overpriced and pretty bad to boot. The room itself was nice, the bathroom was the highlight of the hotel room, especially the shower. The hallway smelled like smoke so they plugged in air fresheners. The main disappointment was upon coming back to the hotel after an amazing adventure to the Elephant Caves (which the hotel is really no where close to any of the tourist type things in Mumbai) we found our luggage was gone through and even though nothing was stolen zippers of my back pack and luggage where opened, and my things were re-arranged. My phone charger was missing and I reported that to the front desk and they had to call housekeeping to figure they had hid it into a drawer. I expect that a nice hotel would not have someone going through and moving your personal things. Last turn-off was when I asked for transportation to the Airport in the early morning I was told they could drive me for a 1000 rupees, I told them that my taxi from the airport was only 250 and taxi was better then there little car. I then asked for them to arrange a taxi for me they quoted me 600 rupees, I called myself and got it for 250....anything to turn a buck on a tourist

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWP300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear that you found the food overpriced as our Global Buffet starts at only around $10, which includes a lavish spread of over 50+ multi-cuisine items, including 16 starters and live counters. In fact, 90% of our guests are local residents who visit our hotel for meal, with resident guests comprising only about 10%. Therefore we maintain our prices at very reasonable levels; e.g. alcoholic drinks start at only $1.50. Further, our bars & restaurants have been critically acclaimed and won several awards.

Further, you will be pleased to note that the hotel is fully compliant with international fire and safety norms with regular audits and drills.

We are also very surprised to read about your comments on your bags being opened and personal items rearranged. The hotel has been operational for over 3 years and we have never had any guest even once complain about any such thing. Every room has designated butlers who are trained in not just housekeeping, concierge, in-room dining and other aspects of butler service, but also are very senior and experienced staff who would never do anything with guests personal effects.

Finally, on the airport transfer, you may kindly note that our chauffeur driven sedan service costs merely $16. Local cabs are surely available at even cheaper rates and when you wanted cheaper option, our staff merely suggested third party cab fleet services, which charge around $8-10. There is absolutely nothing that the hotel makes from any of its guests for arranging these third-party cabs as these need to be paid directly by the guest to the cab driver at the end of the journey, depending upon the meter reading.

Maybe there was a communication gap, but we assure you that we are not in the business of making money one time from a guest; we largely depend on repeat business and are proud of the fact that almost a third of our guests are repeat customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

i would like to introduce myself as a foodie who loves to try out new hotels and restaurants serving some good varieties in food around the world.by experience the evening i visited svenska design hotel was amazing..i was impressed with the way i was met up with by the hotel personnel,a warm gesture of welcome,greeting and escort to the restaurant. a very pleasant approach towards explaining the menu for the buffet spread which was a wow factor !
i was very well served starters on my table,with proper accompaniments and yes not to forget the temperature was piping hot for all my starters which impressed me alot.
the buffet spread was wholesome and a good choice of veg and non veg foods on display looked fresh and well garnished and presented.
the kitchen staff was also quite keen to receive feedback upon my dining haven completed.
the overall experience at svenska was a memorable one for me and i would surely advice all food lovers to visit this place and have a great time !!

mr. kaviraj khialani.
mumbai.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaviraj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A live singer would be like a cherry on the cake for sunday brunch coz after a good sleep you always want you sunday lunch to be soft @ environment and mouth watering @ food. The food was simply delicious. My kinda environment would be with a live soft singer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhiraj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.2 mi away
The Empresa Hotel
The Empresa Hotel
#92 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
18 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
#23 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
413 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
#34 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Sarovar Premiere Mumbai
Grand Sarovar Premiere Mumbai
#37 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
580 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waterstones Hotel
Waterstones Hotel
#39 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartments
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartme...
#108 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)

Property: Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)
Address: Sab T V Lane, Off Link Road | Opposite Laxmi Industrial Estate, Andheri West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400053, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#35 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#43 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svenska Design Hotels are a collection of luxury boutique designer lifestyle hotels from Sweden, part of the Worldhotels 5-star Deluxe Collection. The chic and trendy hotel has various food & beverage offerings, including French-style Bistro for all-day-dining; Delicatessen offering fresh breads, bakes & confectionery; specialty Mediterranean fine-dining restaurant; Tapas bar with inventive cocktails and beverages; rooftop al-fresco Indian specialty restaurant & bar; and conferencing/ banqueting facilities.Focused on highly personalized guest experiences, Svenska offers plethora of complimentary guest services, including:- 24x7 Private Butler Service- High-speed WI-FI Internet across the property- Welcome Drink on Arrival- Breakfast- In-room Spa Treatments (Daily 20mins massage)- High Thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linen- Top-end Crabtree & Evelyn Toiletries- Access to Swimming Pool and Fitness Centre- Two Bottles of Mineral Water- Tea-Coffee Making Facility. All these are completely free-of-charge. In addition, each room has 40" Sony TVs and DVD players with a collection of movies-on-demand. Fully-stocked Mini-bar, IPod Docking Stations and Mood Lighting are also standard features in every room. Various other gadgets are also available complimentary on-request, including IPads, Sony PS3 and Nintendo WII gaming consoles with selection of games, and much more. Svenska Mumbai is located in the heart of Lokhandwala Complex amidst North Mumbai's largest, commercial and residential district of Andheri West, Versova, Oshiwara, Malad and Juhu. The hotel is at a walking distance from the Ambani Hospital, leading Bollywood studios, shopping malls, multiplexes, bars, restaurants and coffee shops. It is located 5km from Andheri Railway Station and 8km from Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing