We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Mangalorian Udipi Restaurant amongst Imitators”

Ramashraya Hindu Vishranti Griha Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 14,477 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Classic Mangalorian Udipi Restaurant amongst Imitators”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

f you really want to enjoy South Indian Mangalore Food, Ramashraya is THE place

You have to be prepared to wait on almost any day to get a seat

Try the Butter idlis, Bise Bele Baath, Mysore Masala, Goli Bajae, and Rassam Vada. Don't forget to ask for the Molga Pudi that is extra. And Ah, The Filter Coffee!

I was surprised to see they server the Mangalore Buns; a Banana based Puri, famous dish in Mangalore.

The Sambar is not like the imitation Udipi restaurant but is authentic Mangalore style.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunil U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    65
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One for south!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

On a Sunday morning been to ramashray only to be greeted by a couple of dozen people waiting for a seat. After nearly half n hour came our chance. This is a pure south indian restaurant and theres loads of variety here. We ordered Sunday special Coconut sewai, Buns and rasam wada which were spectacular. The buns were sweet and super hot. The coconut sewai was over for the day before 9am. We then had neer dosa which was amazingly served with 3 diff chutneys. The onion rawa sada and mysore masala dosa were very well made. The dosa's were crisp and the serving was good. We had the sweet sheera which was super soft and very sweet made of pure ghee. The ever refreshing filter coffee was great as u wud expect in a south indian hotel. The Rates were economical as well. Overall highly recommended for a delightful breakfast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nishad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My best South Indian food place!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have been here infinite times - all times in the day even at 6 am once!

The best chutney in town I would say - very very good medu wada, mysore sada, rawa mysore dosa ( which is their speciality)!

I personally rank it much better than Mysore Cafe! The prices are reasonable with the old world - down south charm.

If only they could do something about the long queues:( at pretty much all points in the day.

A big thumbs up to Ramashraya.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PG1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick & Tasty Food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you want a quick bite without compromising on the quality of food this is the place to be...BOnus being it is not harsh on your pocket...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KediaSaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“amazing food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have had countless meals here.. it was bang next to my college.. very very reasonable to suit our pocket money..and awesome taste.. i would finsih my meal n b back in college in under 30 mins.. its my fav south indian joint.. dosas n lime water.. must visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aparna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramashraya Hindu Vishranti Griha Restaurant also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Ramashraya Hindu Vishranti Griha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing