We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with it”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Broadway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Broadway
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't bother with it”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Not a pleasant place to stay in Mumbai. First of all it is pricier than what it should be. We came to Mumbai last minute so found this place last minute - if you can, look around for better deals at nicer places.

The rooms were clean enough - the towels were kind of brown and dirty though. Use your own.

The staff were just horrible - they were not friendly at all, and were not helpful. The bell boys hover around 24/7 and stand outside your door (basically) waiting for you. I did not like that at all. But even worse - I mentioned that a room they wanted to move me into wasn't clean yet... and the guy behind the desk pushed and hit the bellboy to clean it as if he were a dog. Absolutely disgusting.

They also told me I could take a different room (I was right off the lobby and it was loud) one night for the same price as my reserved room and that I wouldn't have to switch again. The next day they insisted I switch rooms again. I get it, they needed the room to make more money - but why tell me something that wan't true?

The neighborhood is decent. You're in the tourist district and there are plenty of restatraunt around, and Cafe Leopold is next door. There's even a supermarket close by if you need one. That's about the only good thing about this place.

Room Tip: Rooms off the lobby are not only loud but you get the stink-eye from the person behind the desk ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Broadway, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Broadway!!!

We regret that you were not pleased with your room, however we are delighted that you have been moved and upgraded for the rest of your stay. Thank you for your feedback and we have shared this with the team. We have a process of evaluating our rooms to make necessary refurbishments in a reasonable time frame to stay contemporary with the market trends and we did recently have undergone a multi-million dollar rooms refurbishment with some of our rooms that have brought them up to a high standard.

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We understand there are many hotels in Mumbai from which to choose, however, we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you and we would be happy to ensure you get a room that does exceed your expectations. We have frequent return guests, thus I assure you that we will make your stay a memorable one.

with warm regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    33
    14
    16
    11
See reviews for
11
27
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaisalmer, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October and found the hotel staff welcoming and very helpful.
Our room was a bit small, nonetheless it was very clean, well equipped, including Wifi and very comfortable.The lobby and breakfast areas are also very clean and well kept. The breakfast is varied and includes eggs cooked to your liking in addition to buffet style. Again the staff is very attentive and helpfull here.
Location is outstanding as you can walk to India gate, churchgate station, Marine drive and all other tourist areas. The area is very safe day or night. We found the Residency to be an outstanding value for the price and very much enjoyed

Room Tip: first floors room is very good and good ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payalsafaricamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Broadway, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Broadway!!!!

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, it is always encouraging to receive feedback and suggestions from our valued guests. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and all of us look forward to your return visit very soon.

with warm regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varkala, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are looking for a good value hotel in a great location this is a good place. Rooms are decent and clean nothing special but all we needed for backpacking for a few days in Mumbai we booked through booking.com and this allowed us free wifi. The location is very good the main reason we stayed here, just a road off Colaba behind the Taj palace hotel. Unfortunately Staff seem quite rude, don't really have much to say and if you ask questions you usually just get a grunt so we avoided having to speak to them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Broadway, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Broadway!!!!

We are delighted to read that you were pleased with your room and our restaurant, thank you for noting that it is of good value. It is also great to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you were able to check out some of Mumbai's main attractions like the famous Taj mahal palace and your comment about the staff behavior have been noted and necessary action will be taken and i assure you of the best hospitality on your next visit.Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Broadway soon.

with warm regards
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked this hotel for one reason "location",This place is directly behind The Taj Hotel,the location is ideal for venturing out in Colaba.
The Hotel is a first and second floor affair with no elevator,check in was ok,check in staff not all that friendly,dropping off was a problem as the taxi we were in had to block the road while we unloaded which created a massive problem for traffic.
The room on Agoda said it was a decent size room but ended up being a 3x3 room with no window,very tight with little or no space for belongings.OK it's a room for a couple of nights and the price is good but it's a backpackers hotel at best.
On the way out it was so funny to see pigeons living in the entrance area (see photo)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim-on-the-run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Broadway, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Broadway!!!!!

It is great to read that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. All of us look forward to your return soon!

with warm regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Behaviour is not so friendly. If you book online then they dont give u service properly. Even they dont give you invoice copy of stay. They wont give you option to choose room in the same category even if they have vacant room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Hitesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Friendly staff, great location in Mumbai, breakfast is served in your room. The rooms are clean, come with a tv but aren't very spacious. Bathroom is all wet after you have taken a shower, but this seems to be a typical Indian affair.

Defenately recommanded: good value budget option, in a nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Broadway, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Broadway!!!!!

Thank you for your kind compliments, we appreciate your continued support and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We strive to create seamless and memorable experiences for our guests from the point of arrival to departure, and we are pleased to hear that our associates played a significant role in enhancing your stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel and it is always our pleasure welcoming you back to Hotel Broadway.

with warm regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

You will simply not find any better place to stay for as cheap in Downtown Mumbai! It's clean, no-frills and right above the famous Leopold Cafe. Yes the idea of staying for so cheap in the most expensive area of Mumbai sounded dodgy to me at first, but after having stayed here, I'd safely recommend this to anyone. Rooms are small, but clean. You get a cupboard and TV, which is standard. Couldn't have been located better - less than five minutes away from all top South Mumbai attractions. I stayed here in September 2012 for five days, for around ₹2500 a night. If you're in Mumbai to explore and will spend very little time at the hotel, this should be your top choice hands down!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Saurabh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh123347, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Broadway, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Broadway!!!

Thank you for your post following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you were pleased with the location of our hotel and found it to be close to Mumbai’s main shopping district and attractions.we are also grateful for recommending the hotel on this forum

Thank you for your feedback, we have shared these with the team. We do hope to have the pleasure of extending our warm welcome once again when next your diary permits your return to Mumbai.

with warm regards,
Nilesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#368 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#210 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fortune
Hotel Fortune
#311 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Castle
Hotel Royal Castle
#133 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
#320 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kumkum
Hotel Kumkum
#76 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Broadway

Property: Hotel Broadway
Address: Building No. 2, 1st Floor, Mathuradas Building | 10/12 Mandlik Road, Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 526 Speciality Lodging in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Broadway 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing