We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb host made us very welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Explore Globe Mumbai Homestay
Ranked #3 of 392 Mumbai (Bombay) B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb host made us very welcome”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (not consecutive) in December. The apartment itself is clean but fairly basic, there's a cold water shower, a squat toilet, a reasonable sized bedroom and a kitchen if you wish to prepare your own food. The bed was slightly short for me (I'm 6ft) when stretching my legs out.

The real reason to stay here is because of Sachin, he is a fantastic host and will go out of his way to make sure your stay is comfortable. He is more than happy to be your personal tour guide and you can really make use of his local knowledge. Sachin assisted us in booking train tickets, taxis and came to dinner with us a couple of times, ensuring that we didn't get ripped off and knew exactly what we were doing/getting.

When we first arrived we met Sachin at his home (5-10 minute walk from the apartment), we had the pleasure of meeting his parents who made us feel very welcome, providing us with some food and drink.

The location is good, you can get a taxi from the airport, Sachin will advise you what to tell them regarding directions. The train station is walking distance and that makes it easy to get around, there is a nice park nearby and plenty of decent places to eat.

I would advise communicating with Sachin before you arrive, if you let him know what sort of things you want to see and do during your stay he will be able to offer advice and be prepared for your arrival

Thanks Sachin, we hope to meet you again one day

Jamie & Sophie

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
32
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at Sachin's private apartment for our first 4 nights in early January., and the whole experience was excellent.

In the suburb of Mulund, the apartment is far enough away from the chaos of central Mumbai to be relaxed and comfortable, but close enough to be convenient for the important sights, and there are interesting things to see and do in the immediate locale. A a pre-paid air conditioned taxi from the airport should cost about 1500 rupees.

The apartment itself is of a good standard; clean, tidy, and plenty big enough for two. Coming from the western world, there are certain ways in which you should adjust your expectations: there is no hot water, the toilet is of the Asian 'squat' style, and the kitchen - while handy for preparing cheap eats - is pretty basic. We soon got used to all of this and embraced the authentic experience.

Sachin himself is a great host, and your comfort is his primary concern. As well as providing you with the private accommodation; he is also able to offer advice, and services as a guide as and when required at extra cost. Whether you want a full-time guide, or feel confident enough to set out entirely on your own is fine by him, just be clear about what you require.

We mixed private exploration with time with Sachin's guidance - we had a great day out cycling to the caves at Sanjay Gandhi National Park on his recommendation, enjoyed local cuisine with him, and benefited massively from his experienced company on our visit to central/south Mumbai's landmarks.

Sachin's knowledge and friendly, considerate nature helped make our visit to Mumbai a success, and we'd happily recommend the exploreglobalhomestay to anyone wanting to experience the amazingly vibrant city of Mumbai.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Localboy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mALTA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We planned our honeymoon during last Christmas 2011 and India caught our attention from pics on various web sites and moreover because we were in contact with a guy called sachin which we found from the trip advisor.

Having a limited time to spend in india after having visited Sri Lanka we decided to concentrate our holiday in Kerala south india.. Sachin was very helpfull in helping us planning the whole trip giving us tips of where to visit and which hotels and homestay to stay.. We kept in touch over the internet for some months using face book as our means of communication.

During our stay in Kerala we slept in different homestays and hotel and sachin was always near staying in some appartments nearby just in case we had a problem about something. Sachin is from mumbai so he had to travel 24 hrs by train to reach us in kerala and he was puntually waiting for us at the airport with a bunch of flowers for my wife and a very comfortable airconditioned car which made it easier for us to travel in the indian heat.

Having Sachin as our tour guide was an asset to the honeymoon. His practical knowledge is superb and we look forward to returning this time in Northern India in the near future and staying in some of the marvelous, simple and authentic accommodations he showed us during our stay.So Sachin Chaudhire is the guide that can give that simply extra bonus to you stay...

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JOSMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed at the Sachin's apartment for 3 days with a friend.
The place is simple but clean and functional, located in Mulund, northern part of the city.
The neighborhood is really nice, non-touristic place where you can shop at nice food markets, have a stroll in the park, or enjoy great restaurants !
It feels good to be out of Colaba..
And you can reach any part of the city with the train, which is a great experience in itself anyway..
If you want to, Sachin will take you around to less visited or touristic places in Mumbai and tell you a lot about the culture...
If you want to feel like a real Mumbaite, that's the good place to stay !

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank raph_blache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is the best parts of a homestay while still having your own space and privacy! The apartment is in a great neighborhood--friendly people, lots of local, non-touristy shopping, and an easy walk past vegetable sellers and chai carts to the train station. It's cooler and more pleasant than South Mumbai, and you won't be constantly hit up by beggars and touts around here. You will get to talk to real people, going about their daily lives.

It's about a 50-minute train ride to South Mumbai, and the ride itself is fun and a chance to meet people. Stand in the open train doors for the panorama of neighborhoods along the way. Sachin cooks a great breakfast--Indian style but with eggs, so it's good fuel for the day. He's also an amazing tour guide! We went places I wouldn't have thought to go, and he knows everything from where the best clothes are to where the water buffalo live (tip the water buffalo guys). It was an easy 10-minute walk to Sachin's apartment each day for breakfast and internet. There are plenty of autorickshaws around for when you're tired at the end of the day.

The apartment is not super-quiet--by Western standards, it's noisy. But hey, that's India, and if you wanted dead quiet you could stay home or somewhere less interesting. Best bet--get on the schedule of the neighborhood. Go to bed around 10-11 when it gets quiet, get up around 7 when it gets loud again. Neighborhood kids want to practice their English, too. Enjoy Indian-style bucket showers with refreshing cold water; if you're dying for a hot shower, take your stuff over to Sachin's. It's hot enough outside that you'll probably be just fine, though.

Make sure to visit
- the little shrine in front of the building;
- Lifestyle and Pantaloon (in R Mall) for modern Indian clothing (and you'll feel a lot more physically and emotionally comfortable dressed to local standards, ladies);
- Sanjay Gandhi Park for a bike ride (remind Sachin to keep getting in shape for those hills!);
- food carts in front of Desmukh Gardens in the evening for tasty snacks

Tips - The autorickshaw drivers can find Desmukh Gardens if you're headed to Sachin's (don't say the Station or they'll leave you there) and they can find Centerpoint Building if you're going home. Then direct them from those places.
- Sachin will be as tour-guide-y as you let him
- tip the man if he takes you places (a card at the end of your trip is nice) but don't be afraid to insist on your own time, he's cool.
- If you're a lady who cares about her hair, the Mumbai water is very, very chlorinated. It's a little Paris Hilton, but yes, I bought extra bottled water to wash my hair so it wasn't fried.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllisonW143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed in Sachin's apartment for two days/two nights and truly enjoyed my time there. The apartment is simple yet clean and full of adventure. I came to Mumbai to experience reality of an average Mumbai citizen. If you are after that then Sachin's homestay is the best of all places. It takes you right to the heart of Mumbai and ensures you leave enriched by the unique experience.

Also, be sure to book Sachin's guided full day Mumbai tour! He takes you all the way from Sanjay Ghandi National Park in the north to the Gateway of India in the south. In between, he will show you all these wonderful and not at all touristy places that bear all the little wonders Mumbai and its people have to offer. Sachin is very knowledgeable of the various parts of the city and a fun and hospitable person to travel with.

Insider tip: ask Sachin to take you on a train ride to visit his cousin in a northern suburb of Mumbai. The train ride, I promise, you will never forget, nad neither will you forget his cousin's warmhearted family.

I'll certainly come back. Next time for a guided tour to the Himalaya region, that - who would guess - Sachin also has on offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sachinc15nov, Owner at Explore Globe Mumbai Homestay, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Hi Marcus,

I am grateful to you to read your appreciation.
The review is very much encouraging for me to work better and maintain the same level as well.
it was wonderful day for me as well while on tour with you to share all those things about the places from where we are and the professions we are in to and many other things about commo and individual interests about culture, traditions etc.

Thank you so much again for this review.
regards
sachin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I had the good fortune to meet Sachin on my recent trip to India and spent time with him in Kerala and Mumbai.
Sachin is wise, insightful, entepreneurial and extremely knowledgeable about so many facets of Indian life, culture, tourism, cuisine and art. He is also great company. He took me to see sights I would have been unlikely to find, including an old Jewish Synagogue in mumbai, several art galleries, and even shops where I might not have found what I was looking for if he had not accompanied me. We enjoyed delicious meals, an authentic ayurvedic experience and more. His practical knowledge is superb and I look forward to returning to Northern India in the near future and staying in some of the marvelous, simple and authentic accommodations he shared with me. India can be an exhausting, challenging place to visit, I highly recommend connecting with Sachin for any type of trip one may be planning. His knowledge is remarkable and his company laid back, highly informative and personable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#84 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
627 reviews
Residency Hotel
#16 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,741 reviews
Hotel Kumkum
#76 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Accord
#47 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
210 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,771 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Elphinstone Annexe
Hotel Elphinstone Annexe
#2 of 392 in Mumbai (Bombay)
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explore Globe Mumbai Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explore Globe Mumbai Homestay

Property: Explore Globe Mumbai Homestay
Address: Behind Deshmukh Garden | Mulund-E, Mumbai (Bombay) 400081, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One room Kitchen Condo Unit(Air-Conditioned) In northeast Mumbai in suburb name mulund East. This is very calm and very much residence area, away from traffic of Mumbai. There is one beautiful garden of 6 Acre Land hardly 5 mins walk from the homestay. All public transport stations are within 5-8 mins walking distance and its very well connected to all cities in India. It has cooking gas and utensils. Also prepared meals will be supplied. Its on 4th floor where one can go by an elevator. We also provide travel desk where assistance to travel all over India is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Explore Globe Mumbai Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing