We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A horrible place - do not spend your money here.”
Review of Janata Guest House

Janata Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Janata Guest House
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A horrible place - do not spend your money here.”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The only good thing I can say about this place is that the location is good.
The rest of our very short stay here was horrible.
The rude manager told us the price of a room was 1200, then changed his mind to 1500, then again to 1700 before finally agreeing to 1400 (thanks to my driver's bad bargaining skills). The rude manager then changed his mind again to offer us a non bathroom, no air con room for the same price. Once I picked up my bags and walked away, suddenly the attached bathroom air con room was again available for 1400. I should've kept walking but I foolishly agreed.

The manager was rude, ignorant and made me very uncomfortable, even more so AFTER I'd paid the money, and I immediately wished we'd never agreed to stay here.
Inside our room, the bed and pillows were stained and dirty, the room smelled horribly of cigarettes, the 'hot water' did not exist, the free wifi did not work, and one foul smelling wet, stained towel hung limply from the back of the door.

When I bought out a stained pillow slip and dirty towel to show the manager, he was clearly angry and almost yelling at me that they were absolutely clean, despite brown marks all over them. Eventually he agreed to give me a new pillow slip and towel, which were both still dirty and stained. When I requested two towels, since there were two of us staying, he tutted and muttered to himself and again, almost yelling, told me "One room, one towel."

The room overall was tiny, the bed incredibly hard, cockroaches roamed freely, the hot water did not work, the wifi did not work inside the room as promised, the staff were horrible, we felt uncomfortable and unsafe in this place, and we could hear people talking and making noises all through the night and early morning.

For the high price of 1400 dollars, this room was horrible, but the awful manager was even worse. In all my travels in Asia and India I've never had such bad service, and i only hope the manger reads this and changes his bad attitude.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good - they all resemble prison cells - stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ForeverTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    2
    1
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
klagenfurt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I can only confirm the horribly sounding reviews of the other fellow-tripadvisors so far! Don´t ever choose this place as it will only end up in disappointment, cheating and hygienical problems. The price for the room was much too high, A/C didn´t work, the place was a paradise for cockroaches and all kinds of other insects which resulted in a disgusting view! Besides, you get huge swellings and it´s very irritating to go through this experience, being attacked by animals from all sides in the middle of the night. Apart from this, the best was still to come ... we had agreed on a taxi-rate for our drop-off at the airport and had handed it to the hotel employees believing everything to be ok. First of all, the employees tried to grab more money from us and increased the price all of a sudden which we refused to pay. When we finally arrived at the airport, we discovered that the taxi-driver hadn´t received any money from the hotel and that they had kept the whole amount for themselves!! We had to pay twice the amount and had a lot of trouble which made our last remaining hours in India very unpleasant and stressful. Spare your money for a better place and protect yourself from this kind of unscrupulous liars!

Room Tip: There is no good room in this place, keep away from it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markusKlagenfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have seen our share of budget hostel accomodation in India, but this was one of the wordt hostels we've come accross. First because it was extremely dirty, and when coming back to our room in the evening the bed was covered in coackrouches.
In addition the manager tried to ask for extra lugage-watching money while first we clearly agreed that this was included in the price for the room. When we tried to address the this the manager suddenly was nowhere to be found. In short, I wouldn't trust this hostel with your belongings and extremely dirty to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This horrible guesthouse is infested by cockroaches. The manager appeared friendly at first, but charges too much and even when we agreed on a price, he didn't tell his employees - so they demanded more money than we had agreed on. The manager was then conveniently absent and could not be contacted. Don't trust the people here and don't sleep amidst the disgusting cockroaches.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

HORRIBLE!! the taxi driver "dind´n know" where the hotel we told him was so he took us to this guesthouse (for sure the owner was from his family).
We were new in India and we looked like it so, of course they charged us a lot for our room but, ok, that´s normal. But what is not normal is to make partys with your friends in your guesthouse till 5am(just beside our room), it is not normal to watch tv at 3am at maximum level, it is not normal to have all the doors half broken so u can´t really lock it...well, I don´t recommend it

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riojasolera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Spent, 3 days in the Janata Guest house, this place is very basic with separate toilets for non A/C, the manager was very nice and helpful although after his shift finished the young boys who took over fell way short of the mark by yelling down the hallway at all hours of the night, T.V was blarring at midnight, I had to get up during the nights to tell them to be quiet please, but don;t think it sank in. Complained to the manager and he did speak to them, so hopefully things may improve. The rooms were very basic but were clean which was good and cool. T.V was included, no hot water.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.0 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,975 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#59 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,889 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janata Guest House

Property: Janata Guest House
Address: 1/30 Kamal Mansion, Apollo Bandar Road 2nd floor | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 557 Speciality Lodging in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing