We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
Ranked #18 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is continuation to the review of Renaissance hotel.

We stayed here due to seminar at Renaissance. We were shifted to this property without prior notice. When we checked in at night 11 pm they said our booking was cancelled. Which of course was a false info as they had goofed up. After 1 hour of constant follow up they gave us rooms and specially for female colleagues it was too much a wait. Even a foreign national who was in the group was spoken rudely. All check in was completed at 12:30 pm in the night.

Next day just happen to meet the Ops manager who apologized but shared with him that a person expects only proper communication and basic courtesy. Problems do occur but how it is managed and service is delivered is what people will always remember. Later he arranged a bottle of wine and bouquet of flowers. I thank him for it but i do not drink so the bottle was left in the room.

Next day, at breakfast table again a lot of issues, dead flies, not cleaned utensils which was highlighted but we were not in the mood to share as we already had a bad experience earlier and decided never to choose this hotel for whatever reasons. The worst part was the foreign national who has been in this country he commented as that is the problem with Indians when the need is there to be courteous they are very rude.

Property is very good. But the swimming is pool is very shallow.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Read59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest

I am very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience during your stay with us. It is particularly sad to hear that you do not wish to return and I would like to touch base with you to change your opinion of our hotel.

I would very much appreciate if you would drop me a mail on pavithran.nambiar@marriott.com so we could be in touch.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    551
    184
    66
    74
See reviews for
449
392
141
855
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at the JW Marriott in mumbai for the first time and it turned out to be a nice experience. I got upgraded to the club floor since I am a gold member.The rooms although slightly small were very nicely done...practical and pleasing, The only thing I would have liked was more light in the room. The ceiling lights are spots and realy the room could do with more light. The bathroom design and layout was innovative and very nice...made the room look larger ....and the lights in the bath were just fine. The service was great. Had food at the coffee shop and it was good. They made an effort to check my name, the chef came to greet and the waiters were very helpful. The view is really nice and the ambience great. The lounge on the 4th floor was also well managed and inviting. Could have done with a larger breakfast menu though.
Overall quite pleased.

Room Tip: Definitely one with a sea view on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillliwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am delighted that we were able to send you away happy.

We will definitely work on your suggestion for having more variety in the breakfast menu as well as having brighter lights in the rooms.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, definitely the best one to stay at during a trip to Mumbai. The rooms are good sized, especially for Mumbai hotels, the staff is very friendly and helpful. It has a well-equipped fitness center with trainers available, nice restaurants with great Indian and Western food. It is pretty close to the airport and can pick you up from the airport if you like. Fast wifi in the rooms and lobby. Plus it's right on the beach so the view is amazing and you have direct access to the beach by just walking out the back door of the hotel. There is an Executive Lounge where the service is great and a comfortable place to relax.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone coming to Mumbai for business or holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good sized and I believe most or all have a sea view. If you can get any of the Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 400Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that you can find some extra few days to return on a pleasure trip along with your family. It was great to read the list of all the facilities that you enjoyed.

Look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Have stayed here before as well, but this time I decided to write review.

I was picked up from the airport in a nice Mercedes Limousine and the check in formalities were quick and was ushered to my room. The room size for the deluxe room is also very average. The extreme right side rooms offer a "slit" view of the sea and adjoining bungalows (yes Bungalows, in Bombay!).

To reach the shower of the washroom, you have to cross WC area. The washroom is really very small. If you compare it with Hyatt washrooms, its 1/2 or 1/3rd the size.

In name of fruits, hotel provided 2 oranges. The tea/coffee maker has insufficient quantities, but was replenished when asked. I had to attend a function within the hotel, so there was no trouble going anywhere. In middle of maddening Bombay traffic, this place is quaint.

I could not run on the beach in the morning as the beach was littered with junk left behind due to high tide the previous night. I ran 10 Km in the gym. The gym is open to outsiders as well and is pretty good. There are several trainers in the gym. The wooden flooring of one side of the gym is coming off and needs replacement.

JW offers best breakfast in amongst Mumbai hotels, the other good breakfast in similar category hotels is in Oberoi. I met a friend for breakfast and kept sitting there till 1:30 PM, without disturbed by the staff even once!

I loved my stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room and get inspired by morning runners and walkers on Juhu Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JW Marriott Mumbai.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. We are in the process of replacing the gym wooden flooring. I am sure on your next visit you will see the changes.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

With best regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a very nice short stay at this hotel. The food was excellent and the service first class. We were very happy with the staff''s professionalism and efficiency. However, when we went out to the beach we could not believe our eyes. The place was full of garbage, most of it plastic. We even found a syringe. The entire beach was like this as far as our eyes could see. I'm not sure what the issue is. Maybe the beach is considered government property and, therefore, the hotels along it are not responsible for cleaning it? Who knows! It was truly a sad site, especially because all of that plastic could help the people who collect garbage and sell it for recycling.

Room Tip: Our room had a damp smell which was coming from the AC. You might want to check the room first to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JW Marriott Mumbai.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. As part of our Community Service we do clean the beach around our area, however, it is in bad condition during the monsoons and especially when the high tide has receded.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

With best regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pros:
- Friendly / welcoming staff
- Hotel is well located
- Nice spacious room with ocean / pool view
- Celebrity hangout

Cons:
- Lighting in the room was a little bit dim
- Overall, stay was comfortable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.


With best regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent our first night of our honeymoon at JW Marriott hotel (Juhu)
We had an outstanding experience at JWM, Next day morning we were greeted with a chocolate cake,bouquet of flowers, and one sweet note(Its was surprise for us)..Too much variety in Breakfast.We enjoyed very nice lounge areas. Pool are was very clean.
Room which they allotted us, don't have bath tub..me and my husband was expecting that.
Bathroom ws quite decent, showering area ws too small.
From my room, there is really beautiful sea view..
Really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend.
I will surely revisit JWM again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachanaUtekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to spend your honeymoon. I am glad that we made it memorable for you and it sounds as though you had a great time. Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We would love to have you on your 2nd honeymoon as well and make it just as memorable.

Best wished for a long and happy Married Life.

Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
12.4 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,534 reviews
3.4 mi away
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
#4 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#74 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#12 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu

Property: JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
Address: Juhu Tara Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India (Formerly JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Juhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#12 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#13 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Mumbai is situated on the sands of Mumbai’s popular Juhu Beach with a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea. This five star luxury hotel is located in the heart of the suburbs, enjoying close proximity to the commercial & industrial estates in North Mumbai as well as the tourist hub of South Mumbai. The hotel provides the perfect destination to both business & leisure travellers. It is equipped with a state of the art Business Centre, Conference facilities, indoor & outdoor Banquet spaces and the award winning Quan Spa. JW Marriott Mumbai also houses some of the city’s most renowned restaurants & lounges offering a host of various authentic culinary experiences. The hotel is situated only 20 minutes away from both the domestic & international airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott In Mumbai
Jw Marriott Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing