We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a business centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly a business centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Had a chance to visit the convention centre for an exhibition and since then always seeked a reason to have an extended stay at this beautifully located place..and before i could plan and arrange one, I was invited for a business group meeting spanning over 5 days..This was a dream come true!..5 days away from what is called home sweet home never felt like "away" because of the relaxing experience at this lovely hotel..I also tried the Spa and the ever smiling therapists added extravagant flavor to this stay..!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing on the lake side offer excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucheta M, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the services at the hotel as Marriott is known for its standard and service. It is always our pleasure to make our guests feel at home even though they are away from home. I am pleased to know that Renaissance proved to be a perfect abide to mix pleasure and work as being a Lifestyle hotel this is what we strive for. We look forward to welcoming you back again.


Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    663
    197
    96
    64
See reviews for
223
195
93
1,283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I checked in for two nights and luck of the draw I guess, I got put into the older wing of the hotel. Which means a nice large room with a comfortable bed, but a dated bathroom (shower that tended to spray water to the side so the bathroom floor was soaked faster than my body was, a leaky toilet cistern that kept dripping into the bowl, cracked and peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling ..)

That still would have made me give it a 4 (especially given the rather tasty avadhi lamb biryani I had at their nawab saheb restaurant, I'll separately rate that a 5), except for all the assorted inconveniences that got added on.

I checked in on thursday afternoon and got a 2nd floor room facing the htoel front (and the lake). Unfortunately there was some maintenance (and gas welding) work going on, on the awning above the hotel's entrance. To put it mildly, welding gas stinks, suffocatingly so. No matter, I was heading out for a meeting and the welding was over and done with by the time I got back (to an excellent biryani dinner at nawab saheb).

Then, yesterday night, I got woken up at like 3 AM by some extremely loud hammering and drilling going on god knows where in the hotel. Complaining about it to the hotel front desk - I found that I wasn't alone in complaining to them (no surprise), and they sent some hotel staff hunting around to locate whoever was doing this and make him stop it. OK, peace at last by around 3:40 AM. Only, I can't go back to sleep very easily when I get woken up this early .. and I went to sleep about an hour later (say 4:40 AM), before a 6 AM wakeup call I'd requested.

So, I got a wakeup call all right .. at 5 AM. Which did its job, it woke me right back up, so I decided to shower and finish my packing while I was awake. And when I was just finishing that, my room phone rang again .. this time for the 6 AM wakeup call, right on time.

This property needs some rather systematic improvement I'm afraid. I've been a rather regular marriott guest (platinum a few years back, silver in these days of travel cutbacks) and I'm rather sad that I have to write such a review about a hotel from one of their flagship brands.

Room Tip: ask for the new wing - I see from other tripadvisor reviews that there's such a thing, and may y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hserus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucheta M, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback on Trip Advisor. I understand that we were not able to live up to your expectations during this stay and showcase the true standard of "spirit to serve". This is not a norm and is an aberration from our normal high standards. I must apologize on behalf of the entire team for the service lapses you experienced during your stay. Your feedback have been put ahead to respective teams to take necessary actions, however i would urge you to allow us another chance to show the true colour of our hospitality. Do write to me in personal for your future visit so that i can take care of the same and make it a flawless one.


Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed in Renaissance Mumbai for couple of days in July and it was an awesome experience.
Service was outstanding, breakfast buffet and the powai lake view was cool.
I would like to come there again sometime soon

Room Tip: Its far from the city if you prefer to do sightseeing like visiting colaba, gateway of india.Always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandeepRaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucheta M, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that the hotel facilities suited your needs as we strive for perfection along with bringing comfort for all our valued guests here at the Renaissance. I am so gratified to know that Renaissance has embedded memories so deep that you would be back to revive them. Thank you for your feedback and we look foward to having you stay with us.


Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Renaissance Mumbai is certainly an ideal retreat for those who are nature lovers. To spend days in this lovely place amidst the beauty of nature gives undoubtedly, an inexplicable pleasure.
Anyone who enjoys feeling at one with nature will love staying at this resort. It's a truly magical place where tranquility is in abundance.
It's fresh and modern, with great service, for the right price.

Room Tip: Room should be on a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaistha_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucheta M, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed the Hotel has a breathtaking view which distinguishes us from others. The greenery to look at is a nice change from the computer screens our guests have to sink in whilst they are here with us on thier business trips.We look forward to your next stay with us soon.


Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patiala
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The rooms are excellent.
The food was marvelous, The only thing which caused inconvenience was the loud DJ sound which disturbed us during the night. The room was not that sound proof. Otherwise overall we had a nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raminder N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucheta M, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Renaissance on Trip Advisor. Your comments do help us in a way to motivate and improve our services and facilities. I am pleased to know that your stay at Renaissance was very comfortable and we hope to see you back soon.


Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in December 2012.

Pro's:

1. Very quiet location on Lake Powai, no street noise, no construction noise (this appears to be rare in Mumbai!). Close to Hiranandani area, which has lots of western-type shops, cafes and restaurants.

2. Restaurants are amazing - Fratelli, the Italian restaurant does some of the best pizza and pasta I've ever had, and also has great sunday brunch buffets. Chinese restaurant also has great food, although quite an unusual menu.

3. Pool area is lovely, lots of sun lounges, big pool, palm trees to provide shade etc. Looks out over Lake Powai, so again very quiet and peaceful.

Con's:

1. Rooms are very dated (we were in the original tower, not the new tower). We weren't told at check-in that newer rooms were available, we were just given the standard room. We would have happily paid for something better. Small bathroom, shower over bath (so old it never really looked clean), loud aircon etc.

2. Service was appalling - lots of staff (almost too many), none of whom would take responsibility for solving a problem. We were awaiting a delivery all day, which we had been told by the company was delivered first thing in the morning. We checked with the various concierge people every hour, but kept getting told nothing had arrived because there was no entry in the delivery book. Finally at 8pm the night concierge actually checked the pile of deliveries, rather than just the delivery book, and found our (urgent) package. It had been there all day. No apologies were given, just a shrug. Similarly, other attempts to have issues resolved were met with lots of promises, but no action. Very disappointing for a business hotel.

3. Noise can be an issue, particularly if your room is facing away from Lake Powai. There is a night club in the grounds of the hotel (immediately below half the guest rooms), which hosts weddings etc. The music is very loud, and can easily be heard from the rooms facing that side. When we rang at midnight to complain we couldn't sleep because of the noise, we were asked 'what noise?'. I held the phone up so the person could hear the lyrics to whatever horrible song was being played. It was that loud.

In summary, stay for the food and the pool, but insist on a newer room that faces Lake Powai. And don't expect much actual service.

Room Tip: Facing Lake Powai are quieter. Go for newer tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BFGMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucheta M, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for providing us your comprehensive feedback about our hotel on Trip Advisor. I understand that we were not able to live up to your expectations during this stay. This is not a norm and is an aberration from our normal high standards. I am confident that we would not fail you on your next visit and show you the true standard of our hospitality.Your comments do help us in a way to motivate and improve our services and facilities. Do write in to me for your next visit and would personally ensure you have a flawless stay.


Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed here for my anniversary. The reception was wonderful and we even got upgraded to the suite. However, while the room was large and quite comfortable, we missed the last finishing touches which would have made the stay more luxurious. The lounge was great in terms of the seating and space. The food also was good...but snacks (sandwiches, etc) were not available the whole day. The pool was quite nice. The daycare/ child play area was disappointing...they need the parents to stay back for children under 12 years (which is quite odd and unlike most other hotels). But on the whole, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenalS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucheta M, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and you liked the facilities offered at executive lounge. Do help me with an insight on the service you experienced lapse in for us to improve them and serve you better in future. Look forward to welcoming you back again!


Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Ramada Powai Hotel and Conventio...
#63 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hote...
#14 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#17 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
#4 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel
Address: 2 & 3B, Near Chinmayanand Ashram | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400087, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#25 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#40 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, a Marriott Luxury and Lifestyle Hotel, is your luxury retreat in the heart of picturesque Powai Mumbai. Perched neatly on the banks of Lake Powai, a short distance from Mumbai's domestic and international airports, our hotel features winding walkways, lush gardens, and 600 beautifully designed rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Mumbai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing