We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Leela Palace”
Review of The Leela Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Mumbai
Ranked #18 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had never stayed or heard of "Leela" before but since the Taj was full took the Leela instead, got the Executive floor for a little bit more as i just wanted to vegetate at the hotel during my holiday. Service was amazing. My daughter felt like a little Princess. The Executive lounge was the best decision. Great snacks through out the day. Staff were a little un-attentive at the lounge but a quick stop at the service desk a few steps away solved the problem right away. The daily night-cap selection was a sweet surprise. Great company. Property's Gym is fully equipted for a full workout. Pool was okay, i prefer a lap size pool but it was fun for my daughter. We stayed for 10 days and when we left the staff really made us feel like we had to come back soon.

Room Tip: Get the executive floor if you want to spend time at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiraazPeerbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the executive lounge, the gym and the pool which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

Also please be assured that your feedback with regards to our associates at the executive lounge has been taken up with utmost seriousness and all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 2,151 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very elegant property, well located just 10 minutes drive from Mumbai's gleaming new international airport. The hotel is very secure, very attentive staff and well appointed. Excellent fitness club, nice pool with lush surroundings. The breakfast was extensive and my meal at the traditional Indian restaurant was superb. Highly recommended.
Tip - there are a number of interesting shops in the -1 level selling all sorts of Indian jewelry, rugs, scarves, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, gym and pool which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Its nostalgic to check in Leela after 20 years, when Leela was the only 5 star hotel in this side of Mumbai. Sea Rock was closed and Taj was in other end. Others hotel in Juhu and ITDC in the entrance of airport in a poor state .
Same environment except more youth full staff from hotel management schools.
Got one non smoking room, large enough for me without family.
Used the bar , not crowded with friendly attendant indulged in some chatting. For smoking go to the garden outside.
Breakfast lavish and I could almost skipped lunch.
Its most likely a business hotel as for family holiday unless you have your own arrangement , hotel taxi is expensive and public transport not comfortably accessible.

Room Tip: Insist on a smoking room if you are smoker, two bed rooms are good for two individuals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sankarchowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the room accommodation which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself.

We have also made a note with regards to the taxi charges, please be assured that your suggestions would be implemented based on feasibility study which we will carry out on this aspect.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a one night stay which was quite comfortable. Was upgraded the room was nice, clean , big. The toilets were also big and well maintained. While checking in at 1:00 am it took a quite bit of time which was the only disappointment. the breakfast was good had tummy full.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 365aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. We at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We have noted your comments with regards to your arrival experience, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience cause to you. We would also like to assure you that all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was on a business trip in May, 2014 and the hotel was full due to the sad demise of the hotel owner. Very safe hotel in a big city like Mumbai in close proximity of the airport. Huge conference halls with good food. Hotel staff were efficient and well mannered. We had a musical song and dance program which was fabulous which was followed by superb dinner. I plan to stay with my family during my next visit to Mumbai.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dranishmadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the culinary experience and the guest services which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at the Leela, Mumbai on 24th May. There was a wedding at Leela, so stayed back to experience the Leela. The Grand Ball room is huge, the wedding started with the Hi Tea, snacks served tasted great. Sandwiches were simple yet, tasted good. Dinner spread was good, all the main course was perfect. Desserts, Ras Malai tasted amazing.
I took the City facing room, rooms are a little smaller but perfect for a couple. We were at the 3rd floor, but try taking the higher floors for better view. Bathrooms are well maintained, toiletries are of 5 star quality. The breakfast next day, was great too. Leela, has a huge spread from Indian, Continental etc. timings of the breakfast are perfect from 6:30am to 11am, which makes not so early wakers eat late too.
I would suggest Leela, to all who want to experience Luxury. Leela, stands tall by its name.

Room Tip: City Facing rooms, take on the higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barkhakhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the culinary experience and the room amenities which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The service and the location close to the airport are perfect, but that's about it.
My room was used by a smoker and reeked. No opportunity to open an window. Only airco.
Internet / wifi service is not included in the rate, expensive and slow.
Also extremely expensive are all alcoholic drinks. Even a small beer costs a fortune.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. We at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We have noted your comments with regards to the internet services, kindly be assured that your suggestions would be implemented based on feasibility study which we will carry out on this aspect.

Also please be assured that your feedback with regards to the non-smoking room has been taken up with utmost seriousness by our team and all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#5 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,176 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,910 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,241 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#25 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,878 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Mumbai

Address: Sahar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 059, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £107 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the bustling heart of India’s commercial and entertainment mecca lays one of the finest luxury hotels in Mumbai. Nestled within the tranquillity of 11 acres of lush landscaped gardens and cascading waterfalls, The Leela Mumbai is a shimmering beacon amongst Mumbai hotels.Only five minutes away from Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport and 15 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport, the Leela Mumbai is well equipped with world class facilities and warm, friendly service providing the ideal gateway from which to explore northern Mumbai’s commercial hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Leela Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Hotel Leela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing