We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent interior, comfortable bed, small room”
Review of The Leela Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Mumbai
Ranked #18 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Magnificent interior, comfortable bed, small room”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on a tour of India, so able to directly compare with several other hotels. Public rooms, facilities, service and variety excellent, with friendly and efficient staff. Pricey though. Rooms somewhat smaller than what i had come to expect in India, but comfy and great bed. Breakfast was very good. Checkin and checkout courteous and efficient. Barfood in the lounge is tasty but expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the arrival experience, departure experience, guest service, culinary experience and room accommodation which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

We have also made a note with regards to the pricing, please be assured that your suggestions would be implemented based on feasibility.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    614
    160
    55
    49
See reviews for
256
312
208
1,164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at The Leela for a two nights whilst on business in and around Mumbai. The staff were waiting to pick us up at the Airport with very clear signage, the drive from the airport to the hotel was just 5 minutes. Excellent location for the airport and for my business appointments. The staff were very helpful and friendly the food was good and reasonably priced as were the drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejazzman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our guest services which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had never stayed or heard of "Leela" before but since the Taj was full took the Leela instead, got the Executive floor for a little bit more as i just wanted to vegetate at the hotel during my holiday. Service was amazing. My daughter felt like a little Princess. The Executive lounge was the best decision. Great snacks through out the day. Staff were a little un-attentive at the lounge but a quick stop at the service desk a few steps away solved the problem right away. The daily night-cap selection was a sweet surprise. Great company. Property's Gym is fully equipted for a full workout. Pool was okay, i prefer a lap size pool but it was fun for my daughter. We stayed for 10 days and when we left the staff really made us feel like we had to come back soon.

Room Tip: Get the executive floor if you want to spend time at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiraazPeerbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the executive lounge, the gym and the pool which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

Also please be assured that your feedback with regards to our associates at the executive lounge has been taken up with utmost seriousness and all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very elegant property, well located just 10 minutes drive from Mumbai's gleaming new international airport. The hotel is very secure, very attentive staff and well appointed. Excellent fitness club, nice pool with lush surroundings. The breakfast was extensive and my meal at the traditional Indian restaurant was superb. Highly recommended.
Tip - there are a number of interesting shops in the -1 level selling all sorts of Indian jewelry, rugs, scarves, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, gym and pool which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Its nostalgic to check in Leela after 20 years, when Leela was the only 5 star hotel in this side of Mumbai. Sea Rock was closed and Taj was in other end. Others hotel in Juhu and ITDC in the entrance of airport in a poor state .
Same environment except more youth full staff from hotel management schools.
Got one non smoking room, large enough for me without family.
Used the bar , not crowded with friendly attendant indulged in some chatting. For smoking go to the garden outside.
Breakfast lavish and I could almost skipped lunch.
Its most likely a business hotel as for family holiday unless you have your own arrangement , hotel taxi is expensive and public transport not comfortably accessible.

Room Tip: Insist on a smoking room if you are smoker, two bed rooms are good for two individuals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sankarchowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the room accommodation which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself.

We have also made a note with regards to the taxi charges, please be assured that your suggestions would be implemented based on feasibility study which we will carry out on this aspect.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a one night stay which was quite comfortable. Was upgraded the room was nice, clean , big. The toilets were also big and well maintained. While checking in at 1:00 am it took a quite bit of time which was the only disappointment. the breakfast was good had tummy full.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 365aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. We at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We have noted your comments with regards to your arrival experience, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience cause to you. We would also like to assure you that all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was on a business trip in May, 2014 and the hotel was full due to the sad demise of the hotel owner. Very safe hotel in a big city like Mumbai in close proximity of the airport. Huge conference halls with good food. Hotel staff were efficient and well mannered. We had a musical song and dance program which was fabulous which was followed by superb dinner. I plan to stay with my family during my next visit to Mumbai.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dranishmadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the culinary experience and the guest services which have been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,955 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#20 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,208 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,179 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,786 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#25 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Mumbai

Property: The Leela Mumbai
Address: Sahar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 059, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the bustling heart of India’s commercial and entertainment mecca lays one of the finest luxury hotels in Mumbai. Nestled within the tranquillity of 11 acres of lush landscaped gardens and cascading waterfalls, The Leela Mumbai is a shimmering beacon amongst Mumbai hotels.Only five minutes away from Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport and 15 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport, the Leela Mumbai is well equipped with world class facilities and warm, friendly service providing the ideal gateway from which to explore northern Mumbai’s commercial hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Hotel Leela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing