We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five star rated hotel only !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Leela Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Mumbai
Ranked #19 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“five star rated hotel only !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Feel is not so Five star !!! Apart from the lobby, the feel is just of another plush property. The staff is not very Hospitable specially at the Reception. They went upto the extent of saying that the hotel PREFFERS foreign crew members as guest and the hotel is more concerned about their comfort. The Buffet breakfast is OK !Nothing very exciting !!! The entrance is not properly lit, The rooms quite small and smelly . We were charged for the Airport pickup but not provided. In case of an emergency checkout, the hotel will not oblige u, doesn't try and understand ur urgency. Please make sure u have every thing in black & white when u r about to check in or out and make sure u clarify every thing charged or to be charged to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room near the lifts !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sachet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We note that we could not delight you as intended, in terms of your arrival and departure experience and the room accommodation. We would like to assure you that all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence and we are confident that you would notice a marked improvement in this area on your next visit.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    596
    150
    53
    48
See reviews for
243
300
198
1,107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
142 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is near the airport which is convenient and the bmw 5 is comfortable.
The hotel is however a bit old, they upgraded me to a nice exec suite (thank you), but the ceilings are so low that at 6.3 i almost constantly have to lower my head everywhere in the bathroom and hallways which is very uncomfortable. The beds are nice but hard!
The sound isolation is good.
I had dinner at the great wall which was downright bad. Unimaginable vegetables, bad soup, i asked for non spicy dish and got a spicy one which had to be changed.
A glass of Moet in the lobby sets you back 30 dollars which is almost the same as in St Tropez clubs so a bit disconcerting. What i liked is the seperate breakfast area for the club lounge members, great! And friendly staff, and great robes (wake up Taj and get rid of those abominable baby sized waffle ''robes'').

Room Tip: room 627 is not nice, overlooking the taxi depot and squating men
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We sincerely regret inconvenience caused to you with regards to the room design and the dining experience at the Great wall.

We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast experience . Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

if one is in mumbai and does not visit the LEELA it is not possible.

From the road it is not evident that the hotel is so huge and towering. And the best point is that the Security at the gate is so polite and with folded hands one drives along the long path leading to the hotel.

The valet approaches before the car stops and the staff at the gate welcome you with folded hands and with a smile which seems to be on everyones lips.
All this makes one feel at ease and comfortable knowing that the service is bound to be good and the Ambience --Well--the Ambience is one of the Best that I have seen in five star hotels.

As the suite had been booked, the check in was at the 8th floor and while the formalities were being completed, we were offered juices and/or tea.

A great way to welcome Guests.

Then guided to the room which was cool. clean and just wonderful.
Laden with fruits on a table and chocolates and cookies it was a pleasure to have checked in at the LEELA.

It is advisable to become a member of the connoisseur club at the leela and upgrade to the suite for a small payment. One gets the benefit of the lounge and also the privilege of staying in a suite.

Hardly less than a kilometre from SAHAR AIRPORt it is a boon for tourists who book in advance.

After check in, we relaxed for some time before visiting the lounge for light snacks and tea.

We did not realise how time passed as sipping juices we came to know that it was 6pm.

Such is the ambience and there is no outside noise. The Metro had not started and we could see the trial runs.

However it was time to eat something so we decided to visit the lounge cafe on the ground level. Sandwiches and Mix Pakodas were the items and the quality was just right.

It seemed that the chef knew our order since our last visit and it was perfect.,

After a quick visit to the lounge we had some dinner and retired to the coziness of the suite.

The washrooms are well maintained and the Ambience cleanlinessand hygiene makes one feel at home.

It was time for breakfast in the morning and the spread is huge. One does not know where to start.

Various types of Juices, Lassis, Yoghurts Dosas, Egg dishes, Parathas with Idlis, Medu Vada, Pan cake, etc as it is not possible to recount all the dishes.

After a sumptuous breakfast, it was time to check out and the feeling was "EK BAAR PHIR" meaning "ONE MORE TIME".

But on a solemn note the Hotel had recently lost CAPT NAIR who was the promoter and life behind the hotels success which was sad. MAY the soul of CAPT NAIR rest in peace and may GOD bless and give the family members the strenght to bear the loss.

By family members the entire Hotel is the family as Capt Nair treated everyone as a family member.

It seemed evident while leaving that another visit to the LEELA was in the offing and the Pleasure will be ours.

If one lands at SAHAR, LEELA should be the CHOICE for service, ambience, quality, hygiene, cleanliness and the Hotel has its own PERSONALITY

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahendra_kalantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai!

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very close to the Airport, Dont look out through the window: slums all around . Luxary in the middle of ultimate poverty. Impersonal lobby. Room confortable allthough not too spacy.An hotel limousine will drop you back at the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden. You want to avoid the slums looking out of the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Did D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai!

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us.
Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

May we request you to share some more details with regards to your experience at the lobby with us at gm.mumbai@theleela.com , which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very close to the Airport, Dont look out through the window: slums all around . Luxary in the middle of ultimate poverty. Impersonal lobby. Room confortable allthough not too spacy.An hotel limousine will drop you back at the airport.

Room Tip: Not on the SLUMS but on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Did D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai!

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us.
Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

May we request you to share some more details with regards to your experience at the lobby with us at gm.mumbai@theleela.com , which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay in Hotel Ibis, Mumbai.

My first impression is - Clean, Efficient, Well located hotel. Biggest advantage is its location -next door to domestic airport, which saves precious minutes, when one is checking in late & catching an early morning flight.

Once inside hotel, one won't know if he is in India or in Japan or in England. It is similar layout, furniture, dimensions, cleanliness.

Room was small, but I was not disappointed, since Ibis is known for economy business hotels. Obviously many things you take it for granted like dental kit, comb etc. are available here on chargeable basis. Soap cake size also is optimised for one day usage!

Airconditioning in my room was not satisfactory although the ambient temeperature outside was low, since it was raining.

Channels on TV are limited selection. Internet is complementary & speed is ok.

One thing I found missing - the natural Indian warmth at the check- in counter. No smiles, no asking about stay etc.

Overall good, but at Rs. 7600 (including taxes) a night, I feel it is quite overpriced.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dillikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy-le-Vieux, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

It was a pleasure to stay at the leela. Transfert from the airport (really close less than 10 min) in BMW.
The hotel is nice and the room have enough space. the garden is gorgeous and the swimming pool is also nice.

The restaurant, both Chinese and indian are good, quite expensive.
Laundry is ok.

Room Tip: choose a room with garden and swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai!

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. We at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience, signature gardens and the swimming pool which has been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself.
We have also noted your comments with regards to the laundry services and we would like to assure that all steps have been taken and you will notice a marked improvement on your next visit.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Lalit Mumbai
#21 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,534 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Mumbai

Property: The Leela Mumbai
Address: Sahar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 059, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the bustling heart of India’s commercial and entertainment mecca lays one of the finest luxury hotels in Mumbai. Nestled within the tranquillity of 11 acres of lush landscaped gardens and cascading waterfalls, The Leela Mumbai is a shimmering beacon amongst Mumbai hotels.Only five minutes away from Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport and 15 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport, the Leela Mumbai is well equipped with world class facilities and warm, friendly service providing the ideal gateway from which to explore northern Mumbai’s commercial hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Hotel Leela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing