We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in the lap of luxury”
Review of The Leela Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Mumbai
Ranked #18 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Vadodara, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A stay in the lap of luxury”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A quiet place to stay very close to the international airport .the hotel is an island in a sea of greenery .the staff is polite and courteous. The checking was smooth and reaching the room took 10 minutes from getting down from the car .the standard rooms are a wee bit small but have all the standard fitting and accessories like tea maker and fridge. The furnishings are plush and comfortable.
The food we ordered in room service was good and the service was commendable.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashitpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our dining experience and guest services which has been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    613
    159
    55
    49
See reviews for
255
310
207
1,160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Being a Mumbaite had always known the legacy of Leela. Visited their Goa Property a couple of times but had never been to their Mumbai property even for dining.

Finally on 27th July I visited for a 1 night stay basically to try the cuisine they had to offer.

The entrance was grand. Private road leading to their property, unlike other 5 starts where there is hardly any distance between the entrance gate and the lobby. I arrived at 1 pm. My check in was smooth. I requested them for a late checkout as I was planning to catch a movie around 6. They readily agreed to a 5 pm checkout on 28th July. I thank Mr. Pinto for that, I am assuming that was the name.

I was allotted room no 657, to be honest the room was not at all what I had expected. Had stayed in the entry level rooms at JW, Sahara and lately Sofitel but I must say the room at Leela were very cramped. Be it the oversize furniture or the layout I don’t know but the room was cramped. The monorail view was decent. I was told that the other side was city view which is usually not preferred. For the pool view one had to shell another 2000 buks.
I dumped my luggage in a hurry and headed straight to “The great wall” as we were very hungry. On the way back when we relaxed in the room I found
• Dust in the corners
• Tv reception was not clear
• Boss speakers were not working may be cause dust had accumulated near the ipod dock
I immediately called the reception & voiced my displeasure, they sent me a technician. He failed to do anything and helplessly said the reception is the same everywhere may be due to monsoon. In the age of HD and 3D a hotel like Leela has a reception problem in monsoon? Difficult to digest!! However when I showed him the dust in the corners around the room, he asked me to talk to duty manager for the same. Mr Abhishek was the duty manger and he was there in a minute. He sincerely apologized for the state the room was and readily agreed to relocate. He made sure that the room was kept according to the normal standard before I checked in.

I was happy to see that they upgraded me to a Pool view room – 615.(Thanks Abhishek !!)_ It was of the same size but the view was definitely better and yes it was cleaned. Unfortunately the TV reception was still the same.Also the bed was not as soft which i usually prefer. Now instead of cribbing I decided to enjoy my rest of the stay which I very well did.

Now lets get back to the reason I came here – Food. I had a lunch at Great wall, dinner at Jamavar and buffet the next day at Citrus.

Citrus wins hands down be it the décor or the food. Pizza & Pasta were amazing, loved the variety of breads, man course was nice, Deserts were strictly ok. Umaid was the server over there and he was very attentive.

Dinner at Jamavar was un satisfactory .The attendant was not very helpful in suggesting the dishes. I enjoyed dal makahni no doubt. But bharwan aloo tikki was definitely not worth. Presentation of the dish also lacked finesse

Great wall was definitely better than Jamwar. The décor was nice. We had a waterfall facing table. The attendant was very helpful – unfortunately I don’t recollect his name. a bulky 40 something with moustache . Dimsums were amazing although the price was steep with respect to the portion, the main course portions were sufficient. Really enjoyed my lunch there.

My wife tried the saloon and she was very happy with the same. Unfortunately we were denied the pool access due to heavy rains.

I am planning to come back to try the Le cirque and dine at citrus again. Hopefully they don’t give me chance for complain on my next visit

Room Tip: Definitely a pool view, not only because of the pool but the greenery surrounding the same... City a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieJeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your arrival experience and the salon which has been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

We have also noted that we could not delight you as intended, in terms of the room accommodation and dining experience. We would like to assure you that you would notice a marked improvement in this area on your next visit.

We also look forward to welcoming you to the Le Cirque Signature.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Conveniently located right next to the airport, the Leela is a little haven of luxury. The staff could not be more accommodating and helpful, the rooms are spacious with fabulously comfortable beds and there's a good range of places to eat.
Breakfasts are buffet style with a good selection of western style options (cereal, pastries), fruit and local Indian options - idli, sambar and chutney.
There's a nice pool and it's fun to sit out in the evening in the pool area, enjoying a drink.
The hotel feels very secure with airport style checks on the way in.
The staff are what really makes the place special - probably a ratio of one staff member to two guests - perhaps even more - and very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool / garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast experience, the pool service and the room accommodation which has been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed for a night on business trip , Hotel is nice and clean. Rooms were as per the expectations and above all was quite.Breakfast was also very nice , Cant wait to be back to stay here whenever back in Mumbai

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonelytraveller19111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast experience and the room accommodation which has been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Feel is not so Five star !!! Apart from the lobby, the feel is just of another plush property. The staff is not very Hospitable specially at the Reception. They went upto the extent of saying that the hotel PREFFERS foreign crew members as guest and the hotel is more concerned about their comfort. The Buffet breakfast is OK !Nothing very exciting !!! The entrance is not properly lit, The rooms quite small and smelly . We were charged for the Airport pickup but not provided. In case of an emergency checkout, the hotel will not oblige u, doesn't try and understand ur urgency. Please make sure u have every thing in black & white when u r about to check in or out and make sure u clarify every thing charged or to be charged to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room near the lifts !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sachet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We note that we could not delight you as intended, in terms of your arrival and departure experience and the room accommodation. We would like to assure you that all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence and we are confident that you would notice a marked improvement in this area on your next visit.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is near the airport which is convenient and the bmw 5 is comfortable.
The hotel is however a bit old, they upgraded me to a nice exec suite (thank you), but the ceilings are so low that at 6.3 i almost constantly have to lower my head everywhere in the bathroom and hallways which is very uncomfortable. The beds are nice but hard!
The sound isolation is good.
I had dinner at the great wall which was downright bad. Unimaginable vegetables, bad soup, i asked for non spicy dish and got a spicy one which had to be changed.
A glass of Moet in the lobby sets you back 30 dollars which is almost the same as in St Tropez clubs so a bit disconcerting. What i liked is the seperate breakfast area for the club lounge members, great! And friendly staff, and great robes (wake up Taj and get rid of those abominable baby sized waffle ''robes'').

Room Tip: room 627 is not nice, overlooking the taxi depot and squating men
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai.

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us. Our team at The Leela Mumbai continuously strive to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We sincerely regret inconvenience caused to you with regards to the room design and the dining experience at the Great wall.

We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast experience . Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

if one is in mumbai and does not visit the LEELA it is not possible.

From the road it is not evident that the hotel is so huge and towering. And the best point is that the Security at the gate is so polite and with folded hands one drives along the long path leading to the hotel.

The valet approaches before the car stops and the staff at the gate welcome you with folded hands and with a smile which seems to be on everyones lips.
All this makes one feel at ease and comfortable knowing that the service is bound to be good and the Ambience --Well--the Ambience is one of the Best that I have seen in five star hotels.

As the suite had been booked, the check in was at the 8th floor and while the formalities were being completed, we were offered juices and/or tea.

A great way to welcome Guests.

Then guided to the room which was cool. clean and just wonderful.
Laden with fruits on a table and chocolates and cookies it was a pleasure to have checked in at the LEELA.

It is advisable to become a member of the connoisseur club at the leela and upgrade to the suite for a small payment. One gets the benefit of the lounge and also the privilege of staying in a suite.

Hardly less than a kilometre from SAHAR AIRPORt it is a boon for tourists who book in advance.

After check in, we relaxed for some time before visiting the lounge for light snacks and tea.

We did not realise how time passed as sipping juices we came to know that it was 6pm.

Such is the ambience and there is no outside noise. The Metro had not started and we could see the trial runs.

However it was time to eat something so we decided to visit the lounge cafe on the ground level. Sandwiches and Mix Pakodas were the items and the quality was just right.

It seemed that the chef knew our order since our last visit and it was perfect.,

After a quick visit to the lounge we had some dinner and retired to the coziness of the suite.

The washrooms are well maintained and the Ambience cleanlinessand hygiene makes one feel at home.

It was time for breakfast in the morning and the spread is huge. One does not know where to start.

Various types of Juices, Lassis, Yoghurts Dosas, Egg dishes, Parathas with Idlis, Medu Vada, Pan cake, etc as it is not possible to recount all the dishes.

After a sumptuous breakfast, it was time to check out and the feeling was "EK BAAR PHIR" meaning "ONE MORE TIME".

But on a solemn note the Hotel had recently lost CAPT NAIR who was the promoter and life behind the hotels success which was sad. MAY the soul of CAPT NAIR rest in peace and may GOD bless and give the family members the strenght to bear the loss.

By family members the entire Hotel is the family as Capt Nair treated everyone as a family member.

It seemed evident while leaving that another visit to the LEELA was in the offing and the Pleasure will be ours.

If one lands at SAHAR, LEELA should be the CHOICE for service, ambience, quality, hygiene, cleanliness and the Hotel has its own PERSONALITY

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahendra_kalantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshishKRai, General Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Leela Mumbai!

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Signature Leela experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates and encourages us even further.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,889 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#20 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,188 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,771 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#25 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,576 reviews
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Mumbai

Property: The Leela Mumbai
Address: Sahar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 059, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the bustling heart of India’s commercial and entertainment mecca lays one of the finest luxury hotels in Mumbai. Nestled within the tranquillity of 11 acres of lush landscaped gardens and cascading waterfalls, The Leela Mumbai is a shimmering beacon amongst Mumbai hotels.Only five minutes away from Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport and 15 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport, the Leela Mumbai is well equipped with world class facilities and warm, friendly service providing the ideal gateway from which to explore northern Mumbai’s commercial hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Leela Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Hotel Leela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing