We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“2 Hotels”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Taj is in fact 2 hotels - The old original hotel where alll the hotel services are situated and this is just fabulous. However the 'new wing' which is not so new, I would guess circa 1975, is like staying in a ghastly South London council estate block. It is a little shabby and past its best and more to the point it has very poor soundproofing. We had 2 rooms in this concrete block and were kept awake all night with, firstly the traffic and then by other guests in nearby rooms. Stay here, BUT get a room in the original hotel do not stay in the new wing no matter how much cheaper it is - You will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the new wing - Book a room in the original part of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

We thank you for your suggestion on the Tower Wing Room and the soundproofing of the room and appreciate your honest feedback.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,526
    965
    246
    64
    86
See reviews for
1,283
2,508
578
1,430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days loved everything about it,typical 5 star no complaints.so then comes check out day,what I usually do while I'm staying at any hotel I stash my money some in the safe and then have a little back up hid some where else,for this occasion thinking I'm in one of the most prestigious hotels in the whole of India.while presidents and famous stars have stayed here I didn't really take as much caution as I usually do,I just hid my back up cash in my case stashed in a shoe usually locked up when I'm out of the room,but some times as you may all know in the mornings we wake up to rush down to breakfast I may of left my case unlocked,anyway to cut a long story short come check out day I'm packing my bags empty my safe and realise my £1000 I stashed in my case was gone,Gutted..I was meant to stay in India another ten days had to cut my trip short due to this....now you tell me people who else has entry to your room.....WARNING BEWARE PEOPLE

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

The safety and security of our guests and their belongings is a matter of paramount importance to us. As you will appreciate, due diligence and investigations were done for you as well and we had been in touch with you throughout the same.

Should you have any further concerns on the matter, please do let us know and we would be delighted to assist you with the same.

Regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A lovely heritage hotel with so much history -- plus outstanding service and well appointed rooms with a wonderful view of the Gateway to India. From the arrival experience (flowers and drinks in the private lounge) to the special touches in the room (small gifts left each day and the staff inserted a Taj Mahal book mark in my book when they noticed I had folded down the page) - my stay was wonderful. I stayed in the Palace Wing and highly recommend it as this part of the hotel has been recently renovated Great breakfast by the pool, fantastic location close to shopping and other sites and restaurants. I highly recommend this property - to the first time visitor or to others, like me, who travel frequently in India. I will definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to the pickiest of travellers.

Room Tip: Suggest the Palace Wing for the incredible view. Sometimes the street noise is on the loud side but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lspitsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The best place to stay in Mumbai... Amazing view of The gateway of India and also of the Arabain sea. Just an amazing place to stay. Great prime location in Colaba, South Mumbai. The Hotel stands as the pride of inida.

Room Tip: If in Mumbai, Taj Mahal Palace is the palce to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johncena_har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Few experiences have come close in my experience to the amount of attention and thought to detail paid by staff from housekeeping to the butler to the waitstaff at the restaurants. Opulence rarely matched, Mr Tata's legacy lives on...It's service, coupled with its heritage, staying at the hotel is a travel experience in itself. They even had a tour. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: I liked being in the older section as it added to the authentic "Bombay experience"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCentertainment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Taj Mahal Palace hotel is very upscale. Upon check in, you get your own personal staff escorting you through the entire hotel explaining all the amenities. The place just reeks of opulence. The restaurants were high end. We only ate sushi at Wasabi by Morimoto and it was expensive. It was our last night in India, so we went for the gusto.

The service was excellent and the ambiance was elegant. The breakfast was very tasty and had good variety. The hotel is located by the water and the West India Gate and we walked everywhere from the hotel. Shopping was abundant nearby. The concierge was very helpful in directing you to places you wanted to visit.

The hotel boasts a long list of celebrities as former guests with their pictures displayed in a case.

We had a room in the older section which we were told by our guide that it is better than the newer tower rooms. It was very nice. We were also told that our room was a free upgrade from the room we were originally assigned to in the tower wing. Nice!

One thing they need to improve on is that many of the wood railings in the hall had dirty fingerprints or smudges on its white paint. It was obvious and should not have been seen in such a high end hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older section and not in the newer tower wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrCUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Adviser further to your experience at the hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We are grateful to you for letting us have the feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.

I have also noted your feedback on the quality of wood railings and appreciate your honest feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, in the near future to The Taj.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I are from New Zealand and were privileged to spend 4 nights at the Taj Mahal Palace hotel in Mumbai (December 2013) en-route to Spain and Portugal - This is an iconic hotel with superb rooms and service standards unmatched anywhere else. Every aspect of our stay was well looked after ,often proactively, before we could ask for stuff.

As it happens I sprained my back on the second day and casually asked the hotel if they might be able to help. They went out of their way to organise a top end Physiotherapist from Bombay Hospital to visit me at the hotel at a very reasonable rate ($30 a visit) - He set me right over two days, otherwise our onward journey to Spain and Portugal would have been a disaster.

The room was exquisite - the food was excellent as was the housekeeping and other services provided by a butler no less. The security is tight all over the hotel which is always nice to see. The staff are outstanding.

I would like to thank Reshmi at the guest relations desk for looking after us so well.

A pleasure to break journey in Mumbai and in such a great hotel
Many thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,710 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#12 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,545 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing