We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern with total old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Modern with total old world charm”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

While this hotel property seems to be a bit more expensive if you are on your first trip to Mumbai ( or Bombay as everyone there calls it), you would be well served to experience this very special hotel. While they offer a Tower building , you will really experience "old India service and atmosphere" by booking a room in the legacy part of the hotel. The service and personal attention is always at the highest level. I stayed on their "club level" and enjoyed every minute. This hotel unfortunately experienced a terror attack a few years ago and the result is very high security even as your car pulls into the driveway. The security level is not over bearing and even quite subtle but you get the comfortable feeling that you are in a very protected property. The onsite shopping is a great distraction if you don't want to venture out but don't let that stop you. The neighbourhood around the hotel is clean , safe and a great place to walk and explore. As for the city itself, I was a bit concerned having never been there that I would arrive to a dirty and squalor filled place. WRONG !. I ( a male) toured and walked around quite a bit and found this to be a very noisy, very crowded, very leafy city with relatively clean streets and very few beggars. Yes , there are many parts in need of repair and yes there are the slums but that is not the main picture you come away with. You could actually be in Mumbai for weeks and never see a slum. Back at the hotel, the restaurants will be a delight as you return from meetings or touring. The lobby bar or the Palace lounge are perfect to grab a drink or tea. The Zodiac restaurant may be the finest continental dining in the city. The head waiter Dominic is definitely in command. He is outstanding along with a their very talented pianist August. If you want a safe place to experiment with real Indian food try the Marsala Kraft restaurant in the hotel. Its a bit more casual than Zodiac but again the food and service is superb. If you want to enjoy a lazy day you can't beat their very large pool with tons of shade if you need it. The poolside grill is casual but very elegant. In all this entire property hits all the marks in their goal to get it right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,199
    928
    242
    62
    82
See reviews for
1,175
2,376
557
1,368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We visited the hotel for afternoon tea with our young sons. The hotel building is stunning. The food was very good (but we generally stay away from eating fresh fruits and unbottled water even at very good restaurants). The staff were polite and professional. The view from the restaurant over the Gateway to India and all the ferries and people was a lot of fun. Definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LockhartsUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is 5* throughout, from check in to check out. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and is in a prime location in Mumbai, close to tourist sites and overlooking the sea. The service was top notch and we felt really welcome. As our first hotel India the Taj felt special and really delivered, even giving us a complimentary upgrade. The breakfast in the Ocean Lounge was great as well, and the perfect start to the day. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and the first Taj hotel I have ever tried.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karljhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Taj Mahal Palace at Xmas and had a wonderful stay.
Our room was in the original building and fabulous.
The hotel is magical, facilities amazing, including the gym and pool, go on the hotel tour to hear the history of the building. The Indian restaurant was the best Indian food we've ever had although very pricey by Indian standards.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. We also stayed at the Oberio which is the number 1 hotel in Mumbai, but we felt that the Taj was number 1.

Room Tip: Book a room in the old building I.e is the palace wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We got to The Taj palace around 6pm last sunday and it was a beauty from the out side.. We entered from the Tower entrance witch the lobby was nice but not special.. At reception a guest relation executive Gunjanpreet Sehdeva took us to the executive lounge in the Palace end for checki-in and offered us a upgrade..

The key in elevator system and a short walk to our Room and what a room it was very nice with marble bathroom. We had dinner at Souk on the top floor of the tower end with a view of the majestic Gateway of India. Breakfast in Sea Lounge next morning was great everything you like for breakfast even bacon...

We were there for only one night so we did not try the spa or had a chance to try a few of the other restaurants, or pool area, but over all it was great and the staff and everyone we came in contact from the hotel was warm and friendly...

Room Tip: The Taj Club Rooms or Suite With Sea View....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletch305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This time I was again treated to an upgrade to the Palace wing. Though this was a hectic work trip, my stay left me feeling rejuvenated, thanks to all the personal, warm attention showered on me. The most "delightful" moment of this visit was the set of facial scrubs and facial gels waiting for me when I was back after a long day at work. Thanks for a royal experience once again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

very good very goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery good

Room Tip: very goodvery goodvery goodvery goodvery good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,065 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#8 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,282 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#12 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,639 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#11 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 550 rooms including 42 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing