We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Taj Mahal Palace_Mumbai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #4 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have had the honour of visiting this excellent establishment a few times & everytime I do so I'm blown away.

The last time I walked into this hotel the concierge looked up and said - Welcome to your second home Mr Liebenberg - need I say more, I was blown away.

That is the level of service you receive from this fine hotel over & over again. I love the old world charm and modern technology combined in this grand old dame.

Next you are in Mumbai this is the place to stay, forget the other hotels, this is the best !!!

Take my word for it.

Kind regards

Ferdie Liebenberg

Room Tip: Ask for the old section.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ferdie_Liebenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Mr. Liebenberg,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,113)
There are newer reviews for The Taj Mahal Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,493 - 4,499 of 7,113 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

As a newly engaged couple backpacking through India we threw caution out of the window and opted for a night of opulence to celebrate.
We were given a complimentary upgrade to a room on the 5th floor with a great view of the grounds. The upgrade included afternoon tea, cocktails, chocolate and cognac tasting and the free tour - make the effort to do the tour as it's only when you're on the tour that you realise how iconic this building is.
When you've back packed around India, it's a bit odd paying London prices for beer and food but that quickly goes away as you're staying in one of the most luxurious hotels in India with a great selection of top notch eateries to suit whatever mood you may be in.
We stayed there one night and didn't leave the grounds as there was so much to do and so many places to chill out in.
It was rejuvenating - the service was incredible and attention to detail was exceptional. If you can do it, just do it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Abbas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This really is an amazing hotel. It feels really special, exclusive and is steeped in history - I'd recommend doing the hotel tour which is free, it's brilliant and the guy who presents it should be an actor!

The rooms in the palace wing are a little dated but it's a palace building so is to be expected. Food was ok, nothing special, great cocktails and service. The waiters/waitresses in the club lounge were very sweet and efficient. The one real negative is the manicure I had, I could have done better myself (they leave the cuticles on and paint over them?!) and the girls at reception were very giggly and not very professional. The gym is perfect, lots of equipment and cold - perfect!

Overall, one of a kind hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I have also noted your feedback on the quality of room,food, experience at the Salon and the staff at the reception and appreciate your honest feedback.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business 24-25 June and came away disappointed.First time Ive stayed since 2007 and wont be rushing back.As you would expect,security was exceptionally high on approaching the hotel which was reassuring.
The room was rather dull and dingy,whilst the bathroom was in need of a major refurb.There was no seperate shower and basically felt like a typical rubbish UK 4 start hotel.
The service in the bars/restaurant was very good although expensive for what it was.
They really need to up there game and take a lesson from Taj Lands End.Will try Oberoi or similar next time,its such a shame as I use to really like it here.

Room Tip: Try the old part of the hotel,cant be any worse .
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHOPSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests, such as yourself.

I have also noted your feedback on the quality of room and bathroom and appreciate your honest feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We started our holiday in Mumbai for 5 days and this was our first visit to India. We later moved on to the Leela hotel in Goa.
Upon our arrival which was early a.m. before daybreak we were given a room with a sea view in the Tower section of the hotel. The room had a bad odour smell and the following day we complained and were transferred to a deluxe room on a higher floor. These rooms are similar to a typical Premier Inn in UK and are definitely not 5 star. These rooms require refurbishing to bring the Tower section of the hotel back to good standard.
The old part of the hotel is spectacular and reminded me of our stay at Raffles in Singapore.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
The Zodiac restaurant is excellent and should not be missed.
The Health Spa provided an excellent service during our stay.
Nothing much to do in Mumbai and when we went out to do some photography we were bombarded with people begging for money.
A word of warning to anyone visiting this area is to avoid salads and fruit plates, even in 5 star rated hotels. During our stay the city was under a spell of gastro diseases and 350 people were suffering from typhoid.

Room Tip: Make sure you view your room before accepting it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kag-ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests, such as yourself.

I have also noted your feedback on the quality of room in the Tower Wing and appreciate your honest feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,



Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was concerned the rooms would be outdated and although the tower room was not large, it was bright, extremely comfortable and had a great view. Would not now stay anywhere else in Mumbai, great position and excellent service.

Room Tip: Tower rooms have small balcony with views over Gateway to India. good for smokers!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed there for 2 Nights with my friends and returned with big smile. I found the true meaning of Hospitality in TAJ. They pamper you like anything !!!! We have booked City View Room and while we checked in they immediately upgrade us to Sea View Room.Breakfast was good. All the facilities was well backed up by excellent service. The staff was attentive all the time and ready to serve almost all your needs !! Interestingly Our all requests were met! Like sea view room - Late Checkout etc. Initially I did not found Shaving Kit and Toothbrush-paste in bathroom, but on call they provided the same.
I must recommend and will come back again in Taj Mahal Palace .

Room Tip: Nothing better than a Heritage wing !!! If you can afford take a room in a Heritage wing facing the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.



Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,090 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Taj Lands End Mumbai
#12 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,643 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,868 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#4 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £144 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing