We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mesmerizing monument of luxury- incredible india”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #4 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

this was the most wonderful hotel stay in our life- we had a mixture of tradition, heritage and history all around us in this monumental hotel. we were ushered an and pampered in this monument of luxury and had an unprecedented and finest experience ever.

Room Tip: the room with the view to "the gateway to india" and arab sea
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vhm1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,117)
There are newer reviews for The Taj Mahal Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,465 - 4,471 of 7,117 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Taj is where me and my partner have always celebrated landmarks in our lives. Either Golden Dragon, Masala Kraft, Souk, Sea Lounge or Zodiac grill is where we usually go. We chose to spend a night here once and what a memorable experience it was!

We did the the Taj Hotel tour which is at 5pm everyday and i recommend everyone to go for it. Lovely anecdotes about the hotel were told and various artifacts were explained..

Pros
-Hospitality: One cannot beat the hospitality at the Taj, everyone is made to feel important and esteemed. If they realized that they've managed to upset you, they'll go all out to correct it and make sure a smile is put on to your face! Their older staff is just delightful and pleasing.
-Food: Take time out to enjoy all their eateries all are brilliant!

Cons
The rooms were good but they have an old feel, some may find it charming many will not. The bathroom tiles are pretty old and so is the lighting, there's no ambient lighting in the bathroom which most hotels today have. For the price I think the rooms could be spruced up a little.

Room Tip: Higher floors, sea-facing!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neha_Goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

I have also noted your feedback on the quality of room and bathroom and appreciate your honest feedback.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stay at Taj will remain as one of the most unforgettable stay. Lovely location, ambience, awesome food and service. The breakfast spread is one of the best I have ever had in India or abroad. Would love to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Meenakshi_nagdeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

One of my most favourite hotel. I loved everything these was to love about the hotel, the room was clean and very cozy, the service was way beyond my expectation and the food to die for. The location is excellent.
I stayed in August 2012 for my 30th birthday, I was working in India alone and decided to allow me a weekend of luxury. The hotel is welcoming and like I have said before the service was beyond my expecations. It was personal and made you feel right at home. Being one of the first (one before) from my country to visit the hotel they printed out the my national newspapers to read. Really amazing, it is not just a hotel stay it is an experience!

Room Tip: Does not matter where you get a room the old or the new part, it will be good
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ásdís L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the Taj Mahal Palace, Colaba, Mumbai on 1st Aug. We had a top floor room facing the Gateway of India & it was an amazing site. There was nothing fancy about the room, but had an old/royal charm to it. The balcony facing the sea was def a plus point. The service was top notch, we asked for linen sheets at 2am in the night & the call was answered & delivered in 5 mins.
The food quality was really good. The breakfast area ambience besides the swimming pool was too good & the offerings of western & Indian cuisine was elaborate. I will def say that the staff was the real highlight, everybody was courteous & helpful. As expected it was a SUPER experience.. :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank pag1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed there after the terrorists attack and maybe a year after it reopened. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. The service is as always, at its best when it comes to Taj Heritage hotels accross the country. We had a buttler asking us on the way out of our room what were our plans for the day. When we got back, we had on our bed a list of addresses and tips about the city related to our plans !!! To me the best service ever.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank titiparis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Taj Mahal is by far the very BEST hotel I have ever had the honor and priviledge to experience. Everybody and everything is exquisite. This hotel is a piece of paradise which will make your trip (business or leisure) unforgettable. Namaste ! I will NEVER forget you !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex6679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,092 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Taj Lands End Mumbai
#12 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,647 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,869 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#4 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £144 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing