We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In a league of its own.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In a league of its own.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Can't be more complimentary about this hotel. The staff are fantastic (Georgette and Pradeep in particular) and go to any length to make your stay comfortable. They are all very friendly and nothing is too much for them making the service second to none. The rooms are very light, spacious and the beds are hugely comfortable meaning a great night's sleep in time for the fantastic breakfast they lay on! Had dinner in their main restaurant one night and the food was excellent, can recommend anything that the hotel provides. Even by the pool they continue to make small gestures, offering you suncream and fruit. Went to the gym one evening which was empty too, well equipped and had the attention of numerous members of staff offering water and help.
Don't look any further than this hotel for your stay in Mumbai!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank otjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi during your recent visit to Mumbai.

We are delighted to read your feedback and to note that you had a wonderful experience, and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

At The Oberoi we are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and your feedback is very motivating. Such feedback will inspire the team to strive harder.

I have personally shared your compliments with Ms. Georgette Hedge and Mr. Pradeep Singh, for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Thank you once again for your generous feedback. We eagerly await your return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,685
    275
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
348
538
164
671
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We arrived at the Oberoi after a business trip in China. I fell violently ill that night - food poisoning from a dodgy restaurant in China the day before. I managed to get to breakfast the next morning but was too sick to eat. One of the young waiters offered to make me a drink which would help settle my stomach. Soon he arrived with a delicious concoction of spices, hot water and honey which did indeed make me feel better but even that, and the fresh fruit didn't work. Their kindness and concern for me then, and the following morning was really lovely. Thanks guys!

As I couldn't keep anything in my stomach, housekeeping spent quite some time cleaning up after me. Thank you housekeeping!

The Oberoi is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location and we'll definitely stay here again on our next visit to Mumbai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review The Oberoi, Mumbai on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to learn that you were unwell when you arrived in Mumbai and at The Oberoi, Mumbai. I am very happy to learn that our team looked after you while you were unwell. I hope you are feeling better now.

I do hope that you visit us again and enjoy our hospitality.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandya, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Oberoi - Mumbai is one of the most highly rated hotels in the world. It deserves the designation. The staff is outstanding, the rooms are exceptional and the food is great. The grounds are also beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floradavid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted to receive your detailed feedback and to learn that you had a very good stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back as and when you visit Mumbai and The Oberoi, Mumbai again.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had 4 nights here .....at the end of a cruise. We were met from the ship in a fantastic hotel car....cold water/ cold towels/ and array of newspapers were displayed......as soon as we entered the gates of the hotel we were made to feel like royality.....and that lasted till the day we left...the service here is the best I have ever had in any hotel I have stayed in worldwide.....the staff cannot do enough for you.....we ate in the hotel signature Indian restaurant on our first night.....food was amazing...slightly lacking in atmosphere...but the food so made up for it....try the tasting menu ..you won't be disappointed ....our room was overlooking the bay, totally stunning...and a sunset to die for......we shall def return to India, and this hotel is top of our list!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the front...well worth the extra...butler service very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbleshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Oberoi, Mumbai. Thank you for sharing your views through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your feedback is very motivating and we are very happy to note that The Oberoi will be your preferred hotel when you travel to Mumbai.

We thank you for recommending our hotel and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Mumbai.

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
devendra.bharma @oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am a Bombay person & go very regularly to the city. Have stayed at a lot of places but will say this is one of the finest hotels to stay in the city.
Great location & exceptional service make this an ideal oasis in the busy bustling metropolis of Mumbai.
Sumptuous breakfast with a welcoming & friendly staff makes this place extra special. Awesome rooms & suites with great attention to detail!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to receive your feedback and to note that having stayed at many hotels, you rated us as one of the finest hotels in Mumbai.

Your appreciation of our staff, the breakfast and the rooms is very encouraging.

I do hope that you keep visiting Mumbai and giving us an opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

An amazing time at The Oberio. Was oroginally concerned as had our 11month old daughter with us. The staff were so responsive & attentive to our requests and needs for our daughter. From the Fenix restaurant (breakfast & lunch) & the Pool area staff. We used a hotel babysitter for one evening & she was brilliant too.
Location of hotel great (however a little far from The airports), views amazing, pool great. Extremely clean and spacious.
Love, love, love, we will be defiantly going back any opportunity we have :)
Highly recommend, a little pricey however worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitasondhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have your family and you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai. Thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the splendid view, the friendly service, the food at Fenix and the overall ambience of the hotel.

The team is very happy to note that The Oberoi will be your preferred hotel as and when you travel to Mumbai.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stop your research, you got the best in Mumbaï!
The Oberoi is certainly one of the best hotels I stayed in in my life.
The staff is properly amazing, always watching what they can do for us, so kind, and always smily..
The hotel and his services are perfect, great pool, unique breakfast.. no no.. don't hesitate, this place is perfect. I really wanted to share it with next reader. All the best and have a nice stay in Mumbai!

Room Tip: hmmm.. best rooms get view on sea.. for sure.. but.. not really important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Fresh-Corner-COO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that your stay at The Oberoi was comfortable and that you have rated us as the “Best” hotel that you have ever experienced.

Your generous praise of our service, location, food and the team is very encouraging.
Thank you for recommending The Oberoi, Mumbai.

We look forward to your returning in the near future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
12.7 mi away
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
#4 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Property: The Oberoi, Mumbai
Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing