We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel ever”
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel ever”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in the Oberoi with my daughter for 7 days and this hotel is really the best one I have ever visited. The service is outstanding, really everyone from the staff seems to have the wish to make you happy. They are always friendly, give you good and reliable advice on restaurants etc., and promptly react to any requests you may have. For example, flying back to Germany at night, we wanted to change clothes before going to the airport. They immediately offered us a room where we could have a shower and change clothes. The rooms are very nice with a very good view on the Arabian Sea. The breakfast has everything you are dreaming of (and if they don't have it, they will prepare it for you). I had indian breakfast and that was delicious. The location of the Oberoi on the Marine Drive is also one of the best in Mumbai. You can walk easily to sights and shops in Colaba, for instance to the Gateway of India. Finally they have a Michelin starred chef in their Ziya restaurant with exceptional yet affordable food. This is especially true for the vegetarian dishes that are super delicious and come in a variety that you will perhaps never find in Europe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your valuable feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to read that your family and you had an enjoyable experience.

Your praise of our team and about their prompt service, your dining experiences at our restaurants, the location of the hotel on Marine drive and overlooking the ocean is very encouraging.

We thank you for your motivating feedback.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits.

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    285
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
377
563
175
714
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The Oberoi oozes class and professionalism and nothing was too much. Staff were extremely and friendly. Connected to the Trident which also has great facilities. Will return to Mumbai & the Oberoi. For a great night out go to Liv & the Irish Bar ... In all way beyond all expectations. Many thanks for an awesome start to our Oberoi journey through India.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenlondon_W5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post a review of The Oberoi, Mumbai, on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your feedback and to note that your stay with us was a very good beginning to the start of your trip journey to India.

Your appreciation of our team members is very encouraging.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you return soon.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel after a cruise that ended in Mumbai, we did consider the Taj but decided we would try this more modern take and we like the Oberoi chain. We were not disappointed, we has a seamless check in with very helpful staff. The room was a corner suite with a view over the ocean, absolutely gorgeous. The room was a good size with a separate lounge and a visitor bathroom as well as the en-suite. The butler was amazing and could not do enough for us, all of the hotel staff amazing, genuinely helpful and pleasant. in summary a great place to stay and an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your experience through Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you ended your cruise with a stay at The Oberoi Mumbai and also that you were very happy with your stay.

Your feedback regarding the magnificent view of the ocean, the well-appointed suite, serene ambience and most importantly, our team members is very encouraging.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again very soon.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Can't be more complimentary about this hotel. The staff are fantastic (Georgette and Pradeep in particular) and go to any length to make your stay comfortable. They are all very friendly and nothing is too much for them making the service second to none. The rooms are very light, spacious and the beds are hugely comfortable meaning a great night's sleep in time for the fantastic breakfast they lay on! Had dinner in their main restaurant one night and the food was excellent, can recommend anything that the hotel provides. Even by the pool they continue to make small gestures, offering you suncream and fruit. Went to the gym one evening which was empty too, well equipped and had the attention of numerous members of staff offering water and help.
Don't look any further than this hotel for your stay in Mumbai!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi during your recent visit to Mumbai.

We are delighted to read your feedback and to note that you had a wonderful experience, and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

At The Oberoi we are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and your feedback is very motivating. Such feedback will inspire the team to strive harder.

I have personally shared your compliments with Ms. Georgette Hedge and Mr. Pradeep Singh, for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Thank you once again for your generous feedback. We eagerly await your return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We arrived at the Oberoi after a business trip in China. I fell violently ill that night - food poisoning from a dodgy restaurant in China the day before. I managed to get to breakfast the next morning but was too sick to eat. One of the young waiters offered to make me a drink which would help settle my stomach. Soon he arrived with a delicious concoction of spices, hot water and honey which did indeed make me feel better but even that, and the fresh fruit didn't work. Their kindness and concern for me then, and the following morning was really lovely. Thanks guys!

As I couldn't keep anything in my stomach, housekeeping spent quite some time cleaning up after me. Thank you housekeeping!

The Oberoi is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location and we'll definitely stay here again on our next visit to Mumbai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review The Oberoi, Mumbai on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to learn that you were unwell when you arrived in Mumbai and at The Oberoi, Mumbai. I am very happy to learn that our team looked after you while you were unwell. I hope you are feeling better now.

I do hope that you visit us again and enjoy our hospitality.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandya, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Oberoi - Mumbai is one of the most highly rated hotels in the world. It deserves the designation. The staff is outstanding, the rooms are exceptional and the food is great. The grounds are also beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floradavid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted to receive your detailed feedback and to learn that you had a very good stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back as and when you visit Mumbai and The Oberoi, Mumbai again.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had 4 nights here .....at the end of a cruise. We were met from the ship in a fantastic hotel car....cold water/ cold towels/ and array of newspapers were displayed......as soon as we entered the gates of the hotel we were made to feel like royality.....and that lasted till the day we left...the service here is the best I have ever had in any hotel I have stayed in worldwide.....the staff cannot do enough for you.....we ate in the hotel signature Indian restaurant on our first night.....food was amazing...slightly lacking in atmosphere...but the food so made up for it....try the tasting menu ..you won't be disappointed ....our room was overlooking the bay, totally stunning...and a sunset to die for......we shall def return to India, and this hotel is top of our list!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the front...well worth the extra...butler service very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbleshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Oberoi, Mumbai. Thank you for sharing your views through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your feedback is very motivating and we are very happy to note that The Oberoi will be your preferred hotel when you travel to Mumbai.

We thank you for recommending our hotel and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Mumbai.

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
devendra.bharma @oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,796 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,935 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,745 reviews
The St. Regis Mumbai
#20 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,048 reviews
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#18 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Property: The Oberoi, Mumbai
Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing