We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Nearby Hotels
US$214
US$203
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$299
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$182
US$174
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$218
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$152
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$154
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,501)
Filter reviews
2,501 results
Traveller rating
2,108
327
47
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,108
327
47
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseau barfenix restaurantchampagne loungemarine drivenariman pointarabian seaocean viewqueen's necklaceexecutive suitebutler serviceindian restaurantworld classexcellent hotellate checkbusiness tripbusiness hotelziya
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,512 - 1,517 of 2,501 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel itself is superb...could not fault it for style, room quality, food quality etc.

Sadly whilst over all the service was good in some key areas its as just over bearing...if you like someone in your face all the time this is the place to stay if you like going to the rest room by yourself don't bother.....5 times someone (different people)moved my news paper whilst i was having breakfast meeting to the point where i am afraid i swore at the last one and checked out.

Great location just too much faff for my liking....needs to be fixed.

Room Tip: all are good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaggybaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi during your recent visit to Mumbai.

In our endeavour to provide warm, courteous service, I sincerely apologise that you found the service at the hotel to be overbearing.

Based on your feedback we will conduct more training to ensure that our team understands the difference between “service” and “over service”.

I am hopeful that you will give us another opportunity and return to stay with us.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This must be rated the best hotel in mumbai and has always lived up with the expectations .. Rooms are the best and come with butler service .. The best restaurant and food in town as well ... Breakfasts are the best .... Good array of cars to drive around mumbai and location quite perfect if You request sea view rooms ....

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Limesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you have rated our hotel as “the best hotel in Mumbai”
Thank you for your very generous compliments.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits.

Kind regards,
Varun Chhibber
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at Oberoi for one night, the suite was excellent and a great view of the Ocean. As usual Oberoi takes care of each and every need to yours and they had toileteries for my 4 year daughter and things were taken care to the minutest extent in terms of having room slippers and a bathrobe for her. She had gifts on her bed when she arrived. Totally impressed by their caring attitude.
I am a huge fan of the Oberoi's having stayed at a few of their properties now and nothing beats them, great staff and perfect service. They will never give you any reason to compliant

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kshrma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have your family and you stay at The Oberoi and we thank you for posting very encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have taken back fond memories of your stay with us.

I am delighted that the staff were caring, friendly and helpful. We believe it is the small details, which make the big difference and drive us towards perfection.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully very soon.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at Oberoi for one night, the suite was excellent and a great view of the Ocean. As usual Oberoi takes care of each and every need to yours and they had toileteries for my 4 year daughter and things were taken care to the minutest extent in terms of having room slippers and a bathrobe for her. She had gifts on her bed when she arrived. Totally impressed by their caring attitude.
I am a huge fan of the Oberoi's having stayed at a few of their properties now and nothing beats them, great staff and perfect service. They will never give you any reason to compliant, from the cars to pick you up at the airport, to the welcome you get on check in, the care you get during your stay....,they are the BEST.

Room Tip: The Suite offer going on right now is totally value for money.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nandita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have your family and you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your generous feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to receive your feedback and to note that you have recognised our hotels at “the Best”.

Your appreciation of our service is very inspiring and will motivate us to scale greater heights of excellence.

Thank you for recommending the Suite Surprise offer, which is indeed a very popular offer.

We value your patronage and look forward to your continued visits.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Rooms immaculate, truly worth the 5* rating, perfect for business traveller, or tourists of a more discerning taste. Nice not to be greater by inappropriate attired guests at the fantastic buffet breakfast. All facilities, that is spa and pool available, but run as more as a private enclosure. As it should be in my own personal view. Staff are professional, amenable and educated, making them a pleasure to converse with. Travelled solo and wasn't uncomfortable in the slightest. Great location in the business sector with great views available of the bay, enjoy walking so is easy to access museum, galleries and veer nariman and even further, the gateway of India. All in all after 2 months in India spent 2 weeks there, if I could spend 3 months there the I would. If you can get a deal with the airport car pickup then do! It's a service to die for! P.S. I booked direct with the hotel for both my stays.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to note that you had a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed the ambience, the service and the location of the hotel.

It gives us great joy to learn that The Oberoi, Mumbai will be the hotel of your choice in Mumbai and you would stay longer as an when you visit us.

The Oberoi, Mumbai is indeed in close proximity to various Heritage sites and places of tourist interest. This includes the Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus earlier known as the Victoria Terminus, The Rajabai Tower, Prince of Wales Museum, Gateway of India and the famous Queen’s necklace.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

The team and I, eagerly await your return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews