We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

great stay! wonderful view of the Arabian sea from the suite. service is top notch of course being Oberoi..any feedback was followed up pro-actively by the hotel manager. easy pick for a pleasant stay in Mumbai

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank chinmayshekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai. We thank you for sharing feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to note that you had a wonderful experience and that the overall service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

We hope you return soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,693
    277
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
349
540
165
677
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Engelberg, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Oberoi is and will be all the time best But this time when i came i really asked staff for my only one Butler Ms.Cecilia But she was missing as she really knew what were and are my actual preferences really appreciate her for that Really Miss that Lady
overall it was a pleasant stay with you Oberiotes.Thank You
Butlers are the best in Service

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 701katherine43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review The Oberoi, Mumbai on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience and that The Oberoi, will be the hotel of your choice whenever you travel to Mumbai.

Cecilia D’Cruz was one of our best Butlers. She had to leave The Oberoi, Mumbai as her family was relocating. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire Butler’s team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to your home in Mumbai.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had two fantastic nights at the Oberoi Mumbai in June. The hotel is situated around 45mins to an hour from the main airport depending on traffic. A taxi will set you back around 800INR which includes a toll bridge. We were picked up by the hotel car which was fantastic and check in was completed in the room itself which was very easy.

We had a suite on the 11th floor which had a very large lounge area, with a separate large bedroom with a huge soft bed. There was also a very large walk in wardrobe. The bathroom, like the other two rooms was also very large with a shower and big deep bath to relax in. There were two vanities and plenty of room on the bench top. There was also a separate, second toilet near the entrance which is a great idea so no need to wake up your other half if you get up during the night for a pit stop. We had an incredible view of the shoreline stretching back northwards to the right; great for watching the sun going down right in front of you! Everything in the room worked really well and the amenities were very nice.

We had room service one night which was absolutely incredible as well as breakfast each morning in the restaurant. There was a large selection to choose from with fresh fruit, cooked options, pastries and cereals. The staff ensured your glass of fruit juice never ran dry as well. We visited the bar one night which was also very nice and quiet. There are a number of restaurants to choose your evening meal from although we never dined there in the evening. There is a lovely outdoor pool to cool off in as well.

The hotel is located right on the waterfront, so if you enjoy a morning or evening stroll it is perfect. Colaba Causeway, where the main tourists sites are, is located around ten to fifteen minutes away on foot or a couple of minutes in a taxi, which are readily available. The area around the hotel is very quiet and we certainly weren’t subjected to any loud noises which is nice after the hustle and bustle of Mumbai.

Overall it is a fantastic hotel to stay in, located in a great area of Mumbai. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NX622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for posting detailed feedback of your stay on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the magnificent view of the ocean, the promenade facing the hotel, the room and its amenities and most importantly our friendly staff.

Your feedback of your stay is very encouraging and inspiring.

Thank you for recommending The Oberoi, Mumbai.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits and to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Mumbai again and again.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is billed as one of the best in Mumbai and probably deserves its reputation. Security is always a concern when staying at this place however. Loved the pool on the rootop - great to go up there at night after a hard days work and escape the humidity. Staff here slightly over-zealous providing the constant omniprescence that you seem to sense all the time In Mumbai. Great restaurants in the hotel and comfortable well cooled rooms - located right in the backpacker and western expat dominated suburb of Colaba. Plenty of nightlife nearby but tends to be a bit backpacker-ish. Loved marine drive and you will most likely get a good view from your room of it. It's a cool place to people watch but Bandra is the real place to party.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizzle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to receive your feedback and to learn that you enjoyed the restaurants, the room and the swimming pool. Thank you for your feedback regarding the staff being “slightly over zealous” We will share your feedback to the team.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our third stay here and it keeps getting better. It has become a home away from home for us.The staff recognizes us and treat us with great respect, professionalism and friendliness. The suites are great, facing the Arabian Sea with a beautiful view of Marine Drive. The Biryani at Fenix is the best biryani we have had in India. We are already looking forward to next year when we came be there again!

Room Tip: Get a sea facing suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawood H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your generous feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience and that you have experienced a better stay each time you have stayed with us.

Your mention about The Oberoi, Mumbai being your home away from home is very encouraging.

I have personally shared your feedback about the Biryani with the Kitchen team at Fenix.

We look forward to your return next year.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Last of the Oberoi properties I stayed for my one month holiday in India and I was expecting the usual Oberoiness.
And because of the tragic incident years ago at the same hotel, I was not very looking forward to it. Security when we arrived was adequate. Checks were conducted. So that was good!
We were staying in the suite and the room was very spacious. We had a living room, a bedroom and a large bathroom with a separate standing shower, WC and a big bathtub.
We had a nice partial view of the sea so one can enjoy quite the beautiful sunsets of Mumbai and the "Mumbainites" enjoying their waterfront walks by the promenade. I also spent my last night in Mumbai peering into the residential apartment block across the road! It made for good fun.
The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable and the electronic shades work well.
The lobby is expansive and the staff were polite. There was a lovely red piano at the lobby and a pianist tickled in the evening.
We had most of our breakfast and most of our meals at Fenix. The breakfast was ok but not as extensive as at the Oberoi at Delhi.
The swim pool was supposed to be heated but when I swam, I could only feel certain portions of the pool was heated. The pool is the noisiest of all the Oberois I stayed at but I guess it cannot be helped since it is located in the city. And it was really very windy at the pool!
The property is adjoined to the Trident hotel operated by Oberoi and it is more crowded. So I really enjoyed the cool calm of the lobby of Oberoi when I returned. It is also adjoined to a shopping mall which is pathetic. So you have to venture to other malls if you want to get your shopping fix.
As it was the last stop of my Indian holiday, I had actually prepared some surprise Indian gifts for my fellow tour mates as they were all leaving for their flights at different times.
I checked with some of them when we got home and some of them did not manage to get it. So I was quite disappointed that the front desk did not manage to execute what I thought was a simple request of passing the guests the gift when they check out.
Anyway, all in all, it was a good stay. It felt like an oasis for me when I returned from my jaunts...Far from the maddeningly traffic snarls!

Room Tip: Pay more for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulder-Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share detailed feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the calm and serene ambience of the hotel and the overall facilities of the hotel.

I am very sorry to note that the gifts that you left for your friends were not passed at the time of check out, I will personally investigate this lapse. Also, with regard to the heating of the pool, the heating is meant to be even throughout. We will check the heating system and should there be a fault, rectify it.

For breakfast, we offer a very elaborate buffet with fruit, cereals, meats, chees, juices and breakfast pastries. Eggs are prepared in the restaurant. All other hot dishes are served from the kitchen rather than offering these on a buffet. This is to ensure all items are prepared ‘ a la minute’ and as per guest requests.

We value your feedback as it helps us to review our services to strive towards excellence.

I do hope that you return to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very comfortable luxury hotel with great restaurants and service. Staff excellent throughout our stay, no request too much for them. Made to feel welcome throughout the whole hotel. Room, food, concierge and facilities all superb. Ate into the restaurants and very satisfied..best luxury hotel with great restaurants and service. Highly recommend to all travellers to Mumbai

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanisa823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed the food and the service at the hotel.

Your mention about our team making you feel welcome is very inspiring and it further encourages us to strive harder towards excellence. Thank you for recommending The Oberoi, Mumbai.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you to your home in Mumbai.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
12.7 mi away
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
#4 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Property: The Oberoi, Mumbai
Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing