We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - check out the National Centre for the Performing Arts across the road”
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent - check out the National Centre for the Performing Arts across the road”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here for four nights when exiting Mumbai. Make no mistake - the Oberoi is pure luxury.

The hotel is well-appointed, the staff excel in customer service and the room (and its view) was incredible.

There's nothing more I can add about its magnificence that hasn't already been said except to say that the hotel is wonderfully located across the road from the National Centre for the Performing Arts. If it had not been for this location, I would not have stumbled into a free performance of two emerging artists playing playing Hindustani classical music. It was the most amazing performance.

My only criticism is that the standard room I was in was very small, and that is fine because the view makes the room seem large. The problem is that it was very cramped with too many furnishings. Due to the close proximity of everything, the desk corner or maybe it was the drawer handle (it was something with metal) scratched my upper thigh and made it bleed.

Also, I bumped my head on the corner of the wooden 'box' area where the safe is, when I was looking into the safe. The bump ended up bruising quite badly for weeks.

Nonetheless, I would still stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Tell taxi drivers you want to go to the National Centre for the Performing Arts. If you say Oberoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetimemachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review The Oberoi, Mumbai on TripAdvisor.

While we are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay and that The Oberoi, will be the hotel of your choice whenever you travel to Mumbai.

I am sorry to learn of your injury. A lot of care and planning has gone into the design of the rooms. It is such feedback which enables us to learn and make improvements.
The hotel offers various room size options. From Luxury rooms, to Premier Ocean View rooms, to very spacious, well-appointed suites. On your next visit, we will be delighted to recommend other room categories.
I thank you for your valuable feedback.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,790
    284
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
374
563
174
714
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel was amazing! Great service, a true luxury hotel.

If something is not there in the room, just ask - they'll bring it right up.

If something is not on the menu, just ask - they'll do what they can. I had some awesome fresh mango juice by the pool.. which was not on the menu. (It helped that we were in mango season, but still, great service)

Rooms are awesome. Ours had some minor issues (water leaking from bathtub faucet), but not really a problem.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great, but others are not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IFlyCarryOnOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very very happy to receive your feedback and to note that you had an enjoyable stay. At The Oberoi we are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and your feedback motivates us to strive harder.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Though I did not spend that much time in the hotel it was a haven in the chaotic city of Mumbai. Well sized rooms and great bathrooms. Very professional service from all staff I encountered. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy_journey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking out time to review The Oberoi, Mumbai on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the serene and peaceful ambience of the hotel and found it as a haven in Mumbai.

Thank you for complimenting our well-appointed rooms with comfortable beds and professional service.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to spend more time on your next stay at our hotel.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was there for 2 nights and loved it. Love the hotel contemporary design. Spacious bedroom with wonderful ocean view . Love my bathroom . Great choices of restaurants. Very impressed by their 2 star MIchelin Indian restaurant . Lovely spa amenities . The staff is exceptional !

Room Tip: Even the first room category is spacious . The rate vary with the view . You cannot go wrong all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DominiqueDNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for posting feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to note that you had a wonderful experience.

Your appreciation of our ambience, the magnificent view of the ocean, the amenities and your dining experience especially at Ziya, is very motivating. The team, our strength are delighted that you find them “exceptional”

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great view, most comfortable and luxury stay. Most humbled, well-trained staff is the strength of this hotel. Breakfast was yummy. Chef who personally visited with manager while having breakfast was well trained. One lady Prenana (if I m not wrong) was exceptional to take care of my son. A bit struggle for my laptop charger, couldn’t find plug easily even not in cafeteria. My Mumbai and My Oberoi. Employee makes any business and any hotel great.... This is an example of the same....The final choice...Love to stay soon at other Oberoi as well...

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are great. Hotel is cool, calm and good for business or family stay both. Get ready...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have your family and you stay at The Oberoi and we thank you very much for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are so delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay and that The Oberoi, will be the hotel of your choice whenever you travel to Mumbai.

The team is our strength and your appreciation encourages them to scale greater heights of excellence.

I have personally shared your compliments with Chef Prerna Bandal from the Kitchen team for whom your feedback is a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

One must experience. My wife and I just visited the Oberoi Mumbai and wow, what an experience it was. The attention to detail and the kindness and thoughtfulness of the staff is nothing but extraordinary. I have in my many years of travel never encountered anything like this. We only stayed for 1 night and yet they gave us a memorable stay we will never forget! Thanks to the whole staff... Every one was part of making this the, without comparison, the best hotel stay we ever tried! Ps. Seriously... It was that good!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavdrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have your wife and you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai.

Thank you for complimenting our staff. We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you have taken back fond memories of your stay with us.

Your generous praise of our team members is very rewarding for all of us.

Thank you for recommending The Oberoi, Mumbai.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Wow - I have never experienced service like we did at the Oberoi!

From the front desk who always knew our name and room number when we dropped off or picked up our key, to the little treats left in our room each day, to the fabulous suggestions for Indian breakfasts at the buffet each morning, to the in-room check-in and orientation, to the accommodating restaurant staff, to the porters and helpful doormen/ taxi-hailers - everyone working there was spectacular!

It wasn't the cheapest hotel but we were more than impressed with the service and quality and would willingly pay the same amount to stay there again. If you are trying to decide between the Oberoi and the Trident at Nariman Point then you should know that they are attached and you can walk indoors from one to the other (somehow I didn't realize this...) There is also a shopping centre that was much appreciated during one of the monsoon downpours.

Room Tip: You can see the sea from the north-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbm770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, Mumbai.

We are all delighted to note that you found the team at The Oberoi, Mumbai to be spectacular!

At The Oberoi, we strive to exceed guests experiences in creating memories for our guests.
We thank you for having taken out time to post feedback on TripAdvisor.

My team and I look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,780 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,930 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,740 reviews
The St. Regis Mumbai
#17 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,039 reviews
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#19 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Property: The Oberoi, Mumbai
Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
The Oberoi Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay
Oberoi Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing