We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel but a bit out of the way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Lands End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj Lands End
Ranked #10 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but a bit out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Taj Lands End is a pretty good hotel with excellent service, an amazing view of the sea and good amenities. The only downside to the hotel is the location to downtown Mumbai. The hotel is literally at land's end so a taxi ride to the center of Mumbai, especially during peak times, can take an hour or more. On the other hand, it is like a respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. There is a nice pool area with a small bar that is quite relaxing. The buffet breakfast is also extensive and quite good with both continental and Indian options. The rooms are comfortable and definitely are well built. If you can stay on one of the executive floors there is an amazing happy hour with a really good selection of drinks and great snacks. The service on those floors is really top notch (filling up my glass of scotch before I get to the bottom is truly endearing!).

Room Tip: Try and get a view facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,158
    838
    171
    61
    41
See reviews for
579
542
255
1,677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Taj Lands end in bandra in mumbai is located right at the edge of the land ending and the sea begining which is why its called "Lands end". Its really one of the best located hotels right on the sea with amazing uninterrupted sea views! The rooms are nice as well as the service. Food is terrible though!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhruvmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

+ Good service, the staffs were very helpful towards me.
+ Good food at the restaurant: viva, masala, ming yang.
+ Brunch Buffet on Sunday was good, a lot of desert, unlimited pizza and spaghetti
+ I like the fragrance that they are using inside the hotel.
+ Ocean View room was great, you can see the sunset
+ Clean gym and you can run with sunset view

- They never change their breakfast menu, I've been eating the same thing for the past weeks. food quality is average here.
- opening the curtain, you need to press the button. it's semi automatic you need to keep pressing to open the curtain completely.
- you need to pay for the wireless, and if you choose long stay it's only applicable to one device. if you want two device you need to subscribe for the 24h plan
- I was surprised that on the last day when I uncovered my bed sheet, I can see the black dots at the bottom part. I didn't realize that. Forgot to take picture, but it looks like moldy (check the bed sheet by uncovering it completely when you check in)
- only limited A/C control: high, medium, low and off


my bad I should have taken the pictures and feedback this to the management during check out.

Room Tip: choose a room that face the ocean room completely (some room is facing half sea and city)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banananaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The best Taj hotel in India.
They upgraded me in one of the club rooms and the stay was more than pleasant. The rooms have been designed taking care to cover the minutest of detail.
The best part was the relaxing and the most comfortable pot-seat, which is temperature controlled and so is the water spray. Never experienced such a relaxing nature's call during one of those stress filled business trips. Lol.
There is not a single point which can be left out without a mark of appreciation. Everything about this property is commendable; except for the approach road.
In the end, after a hard tiring day, this is definitely the place to relax with a tantalising view of the Indian ocean at the best comfort a man can get.
Definitely would recommend anyone to this property.

Room Tip: Always ask for the recently developed club room for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Was at the Taj Lands End on business trips last December 2012, and then again this March 2013. Yes I will keep coming back to this hotel. In general, service is very good except at the coffee shop where I find, as in other Taj hotels, I always seem to have a problem getting coffee. I also don't like the idea of putting little patties of butter on a tiny plate instead of making it available at the bread station. I had to keep asking for more butter. Breads in Taj hotels is usually very good, except for croissants where only the Taj Lands End in Mumbai serve it fresh from the oven. Since I am a croissant lover, I look forward to oven-fresh croissants at Taj Lands End.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 23rd floor and the room was just great. Very modern. Bath had a flat screen TV, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horacio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Taj hotel brand is known for its customer service and this hotel has some of the best staff. As a hotel, you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Ask for a club floor room if possible- they are modern and beautifully designed with a gorgeous view of the sea. However if you want a more 'imperial' experience the deluxe rooms are fine with the vintage tv and pink carpets. Thanks to Searock being removed, all floors have a beautiful view of the sea. Try not to take a pool facing room, they tend to be dingy during the day. The breakfast buffet is absolutely lovely. The spread is lavish. If you're on the club floor, you can have an exclusive breakfast which is quieter, however if you want the spread, go for the general breakfast. Avoid using the spa here, it needs a bit of an upgrade. The gym on the other hand is worth a visit- recently renovated, while running on the boring mill you can imagine you are running toward the ocean for motivation! This hotel is very well located- at the cusp of bandra and worli. Location wise, there isn't a better hotel in Bombay to cover town and the suburbs. I will always go back to the Taj every time I visit Bombay. It feels like home.

Room Tip: Request for club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FizzyGubbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed here with an Australian delegation in March 2013. The hotel has an impressive entrance and first service is exemplary. However what I found at the hotel is that service is not consistent. The waiters at the bar were exemplary, but the staff in all three restaurants were continually lacking.
Three times I have stayed at Taj hotels in India (two further reviews to be posted). I think they are overly expensive and the price is only valued in the silver tray service rather than substance. Although I would recommend out of safety I am certain there are better hotels available.

Room Tip: Choose a club room or above as these have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourpoeticprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
8.5 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,338 reviews
8.0 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,169 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lands End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lands End

Property: Taj Lands End
Address: Band Stand, Bandra West | Bandra, Mumbai (Bombay) 400050, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#7 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#7 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#10 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lands End 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Lands End, Mumbai offers the best of both worlds - breathtaking views of the sea and the energy of city life. The hotel is located in the heart of Bandra, which buzzes with activity day and night. An integral part of the Taj Luxury Hotels, Taj Lands End offers some of the city's finest accommodation, dining experiences, and comprehensive conferencing and banqueting facilities. The hotel offers the ideal blend of business and leisure with easy accessibility to the Bandra-Kurla, Andheri and Worli business districts as well as the domestic and international airport. Taj Lands End Mumbai is modern, but like all Taj hotels, reflects India's warm and heartfelt traditions of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Taj Lands End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lands End Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Taj Lands End Mumbai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing