We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good choice in Mumbai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residency Fort
Ranked #17 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in Hotel Residency for 3 nights at the end of our three-week journey through India.

On arrival, there was a confusion about our booking. We had booked a club room several months earlier, and reconfirmed it just before leaving to India. Having arrived in the hotel, we were informed that on that day there would be no room for us, and that we can either go for a worse room type, or go to their affiliated hotel in different part of the city. Fortunately, when the discussion was getting lively, a manager came, and it suddenly occurred that there would be a room for us. He apologized, and offered us complimentary breakfast, since the room was not ready yet. The whole misunderstanding ended up very well, so there is nothing to complain about – but still we thought it is worth to mention the situation.

Apart from the arrival confusion, everything was OK. The location was very convenient, enabling us to walk to most destinations, including Gateway to India and Colaba in the south, and Victoria Terminus and Crawford Market in the north. The room was small, but modern and well-equipped. Of course rooms always look better in pictures that in reality, especially in India where everything gets worn-out quicker, but still – it was really OK. The bathroom was clean, and the room service was very efficient. WIFI worked well. We were particularly satisfied with breakfasts - a wide variety of items, everything fresh and tasty, attentive staff. As for the reception staff, except for the person responsible for the arrival confusion, other staff members were very polite and helpful.

Having visited quite a number of hotels in India, we can say that this was a really good choice. We will recommend Hotel Residency to any friends looking for accommodation in Mumbai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malgorzatatomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,847 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

The staff were fantastic, service was superb! They even let me check out 1 hour late because I was running late from my tour. I don't remember everyone's name but Rajith and Peter were standouts!
I had a very bad experience with P.A.Residency Hotel and I looked around the area for another hotel and this place really stood out. From the moment you approach the door, Rajith the doorman welcomes you with a big smile and you immediately feel safe and secure. All staff were honest and willing to always help, even in the middle of the night.
The food in the restaurant was ok but did the job. The rooms are a bit small but had every modern appliance and amenity required. The hotel is close to tourist sites as well and Central Train station.
If you are stopping over in Mumbai or staying for a while, I definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October and found the hotel staff welcoming and very helpful.
Our room was a bit small, nonetheless it was very clean, well equipped, including Wifi and very comfortable.The lobby and breakfast areas are also very clean and well kept. The breakfast is varied and includes eggs cooked to your liking in addition to buffet style. Again the staff is very attentive and helpfull here.
Location is outstanding as you can walk to India gate, churchgate station, Marine drive and all other tourist areas. The area is very safe day or night. We found the Residency to be an outstanding value for the price and very much enjoyed our stay here.
Marie-Claude and Phil
Canada

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel we immediately noticed that the staff was very polite and courteous, the hotel lobby was very clean and modern. We stayed only 1 night here but our stay was made very comfortable by Peter and team.

The hotel is very close to the main tourist areas in Mumbai. The room we were in was absolutely modern and very clean. The bathrooms were excellent as well. Breakfast in the morning was included for us and had a great deal of variety and we enjoyed it.

Wifi was an additional 100 rupees for 12 hrs but I felt that was reasonable. The hotel was also kind enough to store our luggage for the 2nd day while we toured Mumbai.

Will definitely choose this hotel next time I am in Mumbai and I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in Residency for our first three nights in India in late October 2013 and liked it so much we ended up going back there for one night at the end of our trip. The staff were so friendly and welcoming that we felt really at home, and they seemed genuinely pleased to see us again when we went back. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble and everyone was professional and efficient. The breakfast was lovely, and overall, we thought the hotel was great value for money. I would definitely return to this hotel if I go back to Mumbai.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was a bit of a risk for us but it was definitely a risk worth taking.
The price was very good and the value for money incredible. It is a hotel for a few nights stay and has good walking access to all the main tourist sites in Mumbai.
The room is small but nicely modern. We had to put suitcases under a suspended night stand as there was no walking space otherwise.

Breakfast was fantastic. I like the idea of eggs made to order and the traditional Indian menu rotated daily as well.

The staff were the best in India. So friendly and helpful without expectation and always with a smile. When we arrived we didn't have any change to tip the concierge (who also serves in the Breakfast room) and he didn't hover expectantly so when we left we said a big thank you and made sure we had small change then.

The ONLY niggle to this hotel was that the drains in the bathroom were so terrible we had to keep the bathroom door closed.

I really recommend this hotel and if you perhaps have a bigger budget definitely upgrade to a slightly bigger room is my only advise!

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford a slightly bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSed22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was the first hotel we have stayed in on our trip to India and we realy enjoyed out time there. The staff is great and did help us with every thing that we asked them. They had tips and advices for us, just great for us first timers in India. The room are small but very clean and comfortable
beds. Rajesh the doorman is a awesome, you can realy trust him, and is very helpful.
But... We did ask to book the last days of our trip with them and they could not accommodate us but said that when we come they will help us find another hotel close by. I did call a few days before the end of our trip and they told me they can't help... i was counting on them... not nice...

Room Tip: make reservation as soon as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yardena50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#80 of 465 in Mumbai
650 reviews
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Hotel Accord
#60 of 465 in Mumbai
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#70 of 465 in Mumbai
486 reviews
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 465 in Mumbai
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residency Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residency Fort

Address: 26 corner of DN Road & Rustom Sidhwa Marg | Fort, Mumbai 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: £44 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residency Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Residency Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing