We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be great but the small touches let it down”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Residency Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residency Hotel
Ranked #17 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could be great but the small touches let it down”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had an OK stay at this hotel and with a few small improvements it could have been an excellent one. The small lapses in service began with the car pick up. Our driver was on time, helpful and easy to find, the car was clean. Seeing some nice bottles of water available it was a shock to find out that they were already opened and half drunk, which was a little off putting. If you are going to make the effort to offer complementary water make sure you do it right or don't do it at all.

Arriving at the hotel we got the Executive Room we paid for and whilst small looked exactly like the pictures on the hotel's website and at first glance appeared to be in great condition. Nice bed and a big screen TV with surround sound system. However there was a room fridge complete with unmarked water bottle which was not plugged in for some reason. The closer you looked the more it looked like someone had just panelled over the old hotel room, rather than gut it and start from scratch. The bathroom was less than impressive with the products being a sachet of shower gel that looked like it had come from the front of a magazine. Again, a nice inexpensive set of bathroom products would have left a much better impression on the the less than perfectly maintained bathroom. The executive rooms are located in an annex building a few doors down from the main hotel building. The outside space is again in great condition and feels very secure with a card based entry system.

Breakfast was a mixed affair with a slightly stale buffet and a few interesting touches, such as a perfectly made spiced omelette but why did you garnish it with 3 cold chips and carve a heart into it.

Residency Hotel is very well located for seeing all the historical sights of Mumbai, the rooms were quiet and we slept well, the free WIFI was handy. The rooms were nice for the price. What was frustrating was that with a little more attention to detail this could have been a fantastic stay, instead we will most likely forget it unless pressed for a recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    715
    146
    39
    24
See reviews for
206
751
247
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very polite and attentive to our every needs. The cleanliness and decor of the rooms are impeccable, and the beds are very comfortable. Our deluxe room was very spacious and we were even given a free upgrade to a Club room on our return to the hotel during our final night in Mumbai. Breakfast is included and is incredibly varied and tasty, offering both South Indian and Western breakfast fare. The hotel is well located and close to many sights of interest, including the Victoria Terminus and many restaurants. We had an amazing stay here and would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed there for two nights. Very nice hotel, rooms were clean. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of fruits, pastries, omelette, etc. Mr Peter and his breakfast team were very kind and always prompt to serve...Hotel is well located. Wifi was working well and was very fast. Overall, had a pleasant stay as all the hotel staff were kind and eager to help. Special thanks to mr Rajesh who helped us a lot. Would definitely return and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miltab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent location to access all tourist sites and amenities within the fort. Staff were extremely helpful and efficient. Extensive choice on the breakfast menu and overall very good value for money. Unfortunately we were unable to give the hotel full marks due to the design of the bathroom not allowing great ventilation in the smaller room we had chosen and due to our request for an early check in, the room floor had not been thoroughly cleaned. Noise from the streets can be heard from the rooms but should be expected given the central location.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for a better quality room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJWaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent location. Quiet room. Really comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Excellent staff, especially Rajesh. Functional but ageing bathroom. Decor very good, but electrics are a let-down - all sockets hanging off walls. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PClaireT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Good points;
1) staff are very VERY helpful & definitely make up for some of the hotel's bad points.
2) good location - in between CST train station & Gateway of India in Colaba.
3) breakfast good.
4) airport transfer cheap & reliable. He did drive like a maniac, but so does everyone in Bombay!
5) relatively good value...about £50 per night including one way airport transfer, breakfast & all taxes.

Bad points;
1) Rooms are very small. I believe there are different types of rooms in the hotel - I don't know which type we stayed In, but it was small.
2) badly stained bed linen, cushions & towels.
3) duvet is unbelievably thin...can't really call it a 'duvet'. Also it is too small for size of the bed.
3) damaged / badly marked walls.
4) the 'hot' and 'cold' parts of the shower were labelled on the wrong sides.
5) wifi is not free & it's not very fast.


In summary, I would stay hear again, but I hear on the grapevine you can stay at Taj Mahal Palace in Colaba for just over £100 if you get a good deal. Probably worth paying extra £50 per night for better quality. Although, I doubt staff would be as friendly at Taj.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2shots3089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

stayed 4 nights at beginning of April in superior room in annex, room fairly large, clean and had all facilities required. Breakfast excellent, staff excellent with the exception of the elderly gentleman in reception who was very rude and unhelpful (hence 4 stars not 5) location is good with lots of tourist attractions within walking distance(30 mins).10 mins walk to CST station. Good selection of restaurants nearby but only one bar which looked like it was for men only.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: try room in annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob13159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,509 reviews
12.7 mi away
Residency Hotel Andheri
Residency Hotel Andheri
#47 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#8 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,063 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,182 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residency Hotel

Property: Residency Hotel
Address: 26 Corner Of Dn Road & Rustom Sidhwa Marg | Fort Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing