We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residency Fort
Ranked #17 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at the residency for 3 nights. Overall a great stay. The location of the hotel is fantastic, within walking distance to many of the sights and attractions in the area. Good range of food for breakfast and comfortable rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely return to the residency hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lheath27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Me & my wife had advance booking for two nights for double deluxe room & accordingly we checked into this Hotel on 20th June 2014 , we were allotted an awfully small room opposite the lift (Room no. 305,in which the bed just fits in ) when we protested we were shifted to a relatively bigger room (Room No 302 ,in which there is a little more space around the bed but no place for an extra bed ) and the other family of two that also had booking along with us were allotted a still bigger room ( Room No.312) all for the same voucher,booking category and price.I have lodged a complaint in the complaint register.Somebody later told me that 305 etc is for single occupancy , 302 etc for double occupancy and 312 etc for a family with extra bed but all are double deluxe rooms !!!! Otherwise the hotel is neat and clean , well located , value for money. Serves good buffet breakfast but arrange tasty lunch and dinner on order from outside into your room.

Room Tip: Book a room for three even if u r two !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagdeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A great hotel, well equipped with rooms of a high standard. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Simple but nice breakfast buffet A good location in the Fort area. A bit far to walk to Colaba, but conveniently situated a short taxi ride to the train station, Colaba, Crawford Market and other popular tourist destinations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I thought the service here was exceptional and from arriving to leaving we were made to feel incredibly welcome. Location is great too, safe and about a 20 minute walk down to India gate. One extra tip, if you are feeling adventurous and a little peckish, go onto the street behind the hotel, stop halfway down and you'll see a chap making some cracking onion bahjis - go and try them! The hotel was great, fantastic value, clean and we would stay there again - a perfect central base (in the Fort area at least) for you to discover all the delights that this fantastic city has to offer! Enjoy, I'm utterly jealous that I'm not back there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A big "Thank you" to all the staff at Residency Hotel for the very enjoyable stay. We were blown away by the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff. We were immediately made to feel welcome, and all our 'touristy' questions were answered accurately and with enthusiasm. The facilities were perfectly adequate for our stay (breakfast and bed - we were out most of the day!). We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ind1go_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Look for Rajesh who works at front door because he's the most helpful man you will find in this hotel. Always helping us with a big smile. We enjoyed our stay greatly because of him.

Location is great to walk to most sight seeing places (Victoria Terminus, Gateway of India, Prince of Wales Museum, Flora fountain & Mumbai's 1st Starbucks...hehe).

Room is small & compact but was very clean with modern design. Everything worked well. TV had great english movies & news channels. Breakfast was included with great buffet styles in western & Indian dishes.

Rajesh made every effort to make our stay unforgettable. He even picked up & dropped off our laundry service, recommended great nearby restaurants & any other requests we needed help with (he even personally walked us to great nearby seafood called Pratap & helped change a broken zipper on my husband's backpack). His service & genuine smile is rare & greatly appreciated. Rajesh makes Residency Hotel special!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuuWongGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Great staff, perfect location just a short walk from all kinds of places (train station included) and fantastic breakfast - make sure you take advantage of the dosas!

The lift was in a state of repair whilst we were there but the staff suffered more than anyone else with the noise and kindly placed all guests just one floor up to save our legs. Work was done during office hours to ensure minimal people were effected also. Well all this is probably redundant now as this was a few months ago.

My one negative comment (if there can be one) is that the room, whilst fully equipped, clean, comfortable and cool, was just a little tight for the price - we've paid a lot less and got a lot more space, maybe a table and chair.

So I've just contradicted my title and my rating by faulting the place but - the friendly staff more than make up for that so 5 stars + nonetheless!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mridrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#5 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,171 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#80 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
641 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Accord
#55 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
218 reviews
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,392 reviews
Residency Hotel Andheri
#60 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residency Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residency Fort

Address: 26 Corner Of DN Road & Rustom Sidhwa Marg | Fort Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £46 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residency Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Residency Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing