We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location, very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residency Fort
Ranked #16 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value, good location, very comfortable”
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This was a really good value place to stay in Mumbai. the staff were helpful, the rooms clean and tidy and the location was great and only a 20 minute walk to Colaba. I'd stay here again anytime. I paid about 2600 rupees for single and then about 3000 for the deluxe double. There's two parts to the hotel. The mains ection where the reception is located is betetr that the other section round the corner. Roshan was one of the reception staff who was a really nice guy. Access to internet for emails was generally easy and often available. Really good place

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    741
    150
    40
    25
See reviews for
221
777
258
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

We spent 2 nights at this hotel in February - Lawrence on reception was very friendly and the rest of the staff were really helpful. Room was OK (clean and had everything you needed like a fridge, fan, own bathroom with hot water). We thought it was good value for money ad was in a good location to explore all of Mumbai. They picked us up from the airport which although more expensive than going independently, was good as they were waiting for us at the airport and took us straight to the hotel. We tried to book to stay there again at the end of our trip but they were full. Dosas for breakfast were great!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarylJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Stayed four nights at the Residency Hotel in Feb '09 and were pleased with our choice (based on tripadvisor reviews and lonelyplanet). Booked a double deluxe room (INR 2640 including taxes) via the hotel website and were convinced this represented good value for Mumbai (which is comparatively more expensive than the rest of India). Location was great - between Colaba and the Victoria Terminus and within easy walking distance of most of the inner city sights, cafes, restaurants etc. Rooms were clean and suffieciently spacious, value was good, the staff were really friendly and helpful, facilities were basic but fine (like free internet, cheap room service etc) and the place had a nice atmosphere. I'd definitely recommend it in this price bracket. Bad stuff? The INR900 airport pick-up is not recommended - the airport prepaid taxi is half the price and our driver was as enthusiastic, welcoming and conversational as a brick wall. And he drove off without giving us change. The restaurant is nothing to rave about - I think there's better value within a 15 minute walk (like the Tea Centre, Mondegars or Leopolds for brekkie; the plentiful Parsi eateries & lunch rooms around Fort for lunch or lash out at Khyber or Gaylord for dinner). All in all though, the Residency was a great base for our Mumbai adventures.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We stayed at the Residency for two nights at the beginning of our trip to India. We stayed in a deluxe room, which was only slightly more expensive than the standard rooms (Rs 2600). The room was clean and nicely appointed for a hotel in this price range. The AC, TV, etc. all worked well and the beds were very soft and comfortable. There's a computer with internet in the lobby. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

The location is very central in the Fort area, just a short walk from Victoria Terminus. A longer walk or a short taxi ride takes you to Colaba or to Marine Drive. There were lots of restaurants and shops in the area, although it is less touristy than Colaba.

I enjoyed my stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garryoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

I stayed at the Residency Hotel at the beginning of December 2008 (at the start of my journey in India) and at the middle of January 2009 (at the end of it). Both times, I stayed in very nice, clean and comfortable rooms. The staff is very kind and considerate. Yes, of course, you hear a lot of noise but that's Mumbai and it's necessary to get used to it :-) It is possible to have a plentiful breakfast for only 80 rupies and once I have a good dinner (service room..quick and cheap). The place where the hotel is located is strategic: 5 min walking near the Victoria Station; 10 min near Colaba.
Next time I’ll go to Mumbai I’ll choose for sure again the Residency Hotel

  • Liked — location, clean rooms, kind staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Magjias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We stayed here for two nights just before ending our trip to India and returning home. The hotel is good value for the price, and in a good location, away from Colaba but in the centre of the city and near the main attractions.
However, there is construction work going on which means this is a far from peaceful hotel. We were put in the annexe, and directly above our room there was hammering from 8am - 8pm. For our last night in Mumbai we were awoken at 4.30am by the sound of a concrete mixer, and then the banging started at 7.30am.
I complained to reception on check-out, and the first reaction was to laugh and insist that there is no building work before 10am. I felt they were not taking my complaint seriously. As I became angry at their dismissal, they relented and waived the charge for my breakfast (£3) - I felt this was the least they could do.
Even if the hotel is not responsible for the work, they cannot reasonably use the annexe rooms for guests while this is taking place.
I should imagine that this is a good reasonably-priced hotel if you are not beset with noise. The beds are comfortable, the TV works, and the porter is very helpful.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Construction noise early hours of the morning, and poor response from reception
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LynThirza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Stayed in this Hotel on first trip to India and was gratefull for the room small but clean and comfortable. Staff were polite and helpfull.Price was good and meals were ok too. Location was great as near to the major train stations so we could make a quick getaway from Mumbai.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tooting Taxis
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,949 reviews
Hotel Accord
#54 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
214 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#83 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,989 reviews
Residency Hotel Andheri
#57 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
446 reviews
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residency Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residency Fort

Property: Hotel Residency Fort
Address: 26 Corner Of DN Road & Rustom Sidhwa Marg | Fort Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residency Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Residency Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing