We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to the sights but away from the other tourists”
Review of Residency Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residency Hotel
Ranked #16 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to the sights but away from the other tourists”
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Residency has brand new rooms not yet on their website, so when we arrived they showed them to us so we could see if we wanted the old/new rooms. At 800Rs per night more, we went for the new ones, which are sparkling and MUCH nicer than the (little bit shabby) other option. At first I was a bit apprehensive about this as these rooms are in a whole other building, but there were always staff around in the new section and it was great to come back after a dirty and exhausting day sightseeing and have a plush room to recover in with icy aircon and cable tv on the widescreen. If you stay here, check out the backstreets around the hotel. I was amazed by how much life and buzz they can pack in!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    738
    149
    40
    25
See reviews for
219
772
256
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

... which is not really a Suite, but rather a bigger, newer room than the others we managed to see. We were travelling with a 5 year old and the other rooms looked fairly cramped for the three of us. The room was excellent value, with a bathtub and 'oh so comfortable for India' bed! It was also spacious. Things were a bit hectic when we went to check in, but we'd just taken a taxi from an overnight train so were there very early. I suggested to the staff that we go for a walk and come back when they were a little less occupied with the 30 or so people checking out at once. Otherwise, the staff were pleasant, always greeting us, and were quick to respond to any requests that we had. The only setback to the room is the window - it looks right onto the roof, where the hot water/aircon equipment is! However, it was quiet, and a small stairwell leading from the third floor to the room makes it feel like a little private sanctuary, such a luxury in Mumbai!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

The Residency is a decent hotel for an okay price in expensive Mumbai. It is clean, the staff is helpful and the location is good for sightseeing. Our room was fairly basic (different from the pictures shown here) and the AC was a bit loud, but all in all we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivylee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We spent two nights here. The price was great, the position was great and the service was great. A good option for busy Mumbai. We did book our final night in india at this hotel and when we arrived they had no booking. This was dissappointing and after much strained communication they did attempt to find us another room in a nearby hotel. This issue put a dampner on the stay. We left feeling angry but I suppose a lesson was to always re-confirm your accommodation a few days ahead.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laquaconcepts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We stayed for 3 days from 17th November 2009 and had a room in a separate block, 25 metres from the main hotel. This was not a problem. The room had been refurbished and was attractive, modern, clean and comfortable. The walk-in shower was spacious, worked well and the shine on the shower doors each day was impressive. We saw no sign of any insect life. The room itself had all modern comforts including flat screen satellite TV and surround sound DVD. The WIFI in our block was not working during our stay, but we were able to use the internet in reception free of charge. The hotel restaurant served a decent breakfast until mid morning, very reasonably priced, and remains open till late evening, during which time it serves predominately Indian food, which we both enjoyed without any qualms. The rice pulau, was particularly good, the best enjoyed throughout our stay in India.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We were very glad to have stayed at this hotel during our first visit to Mumbai, indeed to India, as it is very conveniently placed, within walking distance of the main tourist attractions of the city and gives a gentle introduction and acclimatisation to Mumbai! Despite being so central and amid the hustle and bustle of Mumbai life, we were not troubled by noise at night.
Excellent value for money and warrants more than 2½ star rating.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stay in the hotel when we arrive in Mumbai, and we repeat the last days of our trip in India.
The hotel is clean, great location and helpfull staff, they buy the plain tickets to Goa for us, absolutely reliable, and good price.
the best option in Mumbai, ask for the rooms in the club, good value.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrmenBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Bearing in mind that Bombay/Mumbai is one of the most expensive cities in the world, this hotel is an outstanding value choice. Rated two stars but really more like three and a half. Our double room at the very top of the building was comfortable and completely clean (only downside was the view, which was of an extensive collection of airconditioning ducts). The staff are friendly and helpful, there are none of the usual hotel ripoffs like ridiculous charges for internet, and the location is just fine -- in the middle of the Fort area with plenty of restaurants and shops around, Churchgate Station nearby and Colaba about 25 minutes stroll away. Breakfast is basic but who cares when there are so many fab places to eat nearby?

Would certainly come back here. Stayed at the Intercontinental when we came back to the city, but on balance I would prefer this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,884 reviews
Hotel Accord
#49 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
210 reviews
Residency Hotel Andheri
#53 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,970 reviews
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,301 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residency Hotel

Property: Residency Hotel
Address: 26 Corner Of Dn Road & Rustom Sidhwa Marg | Fort Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing