We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its okay. Sister hotel offered but we stayed here. 2 and a half- 3 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residency Fort
Ranked #17 of 458 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Its literally okay and nothing more exciting. The resturant was fine, food was nice. We just had some idli sambar and it was nice and very cheap.

We paid for superior double and on arrival were told that there were no double rooms, so they would move us to thier sister hotel. We refused to move as had already made plans with friends to pick us up from that address.
We were shown two rooms and got to pick the one we liked best (magically there were two doubles to check even though initially they said they had none).
We picked the best of the two. Neither were fantastic. Good air con and then everything else pretty average/below average. Few stains on sheets and pillows. At night time a LOT of insects in the bathroom climbing the walls and floors as the window shutters are permenantly open.

In all. If they offer you a move. I would do it. We were too stubborn, so spite ourselves really. Our friends said the other hotel offered was a lot nicer and of better star rating... the resindency hotel even told us on check in that the sister hotel had nicer rooms and was 3 star whilst they were only 2. We only stayed in the residency hotel becasue of the area and location. However our friends advised us that the other hotel is literally the same just 5 minutes further up the road.

I would consider staying here again for just a night like we did, simply due to convinience and the price of hotels in mumbai, but would definitly move to the other hotel if offered!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2010

The hotel is at a perfect location - right between Flora Fountain, the Maidan, Victoria Terminus and all the other important tourist spots and travel hubs in downtown Mumbai.

I found the staff and management very helpful, the food from the room service was excellent. There is a computer with internet access in the lobby that you can use without extra charge. Cleanliness is not an issue at all.

If I had to add some slightly negative points about this hotel to this review, it would be: As it isn't a five star hotel and right in the middle of one the world's largest cities, there is some (but limited) noise coming from the streets. Given that is is actually Mumbai, it is not that bad at all.
Also, the rooms are kind of smallish and not very modern. Anyway, bear in mind that you don't pay 5 star rates.

Summarizing, I enjoyed the stay and would definitely return to Hotel Residency.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisIngolstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

This hotel is nice and clean and the rooms are great, especially in the annex, the service is professional but not overwhelming. The restaurant is OK, with a good and cheap breakfast.
So if You don´t want to spend all Your money on hotel but still want a nice, clean and comfortable room, this is Your place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BjornL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The hotel has a new wing where the 400 rooms are. This is all brand new and top modern, a real luxury treat at it's price.
We stayed in 3 different hotels in Bombay, and this was by far the best one. The bed was really confortable and the bed linen was clean and WHITE!
The owner is himself at the reception sometime and he is extremely friendly and helpfull.
Ask him for asistance for daytrips, taxi booking or whatever and you will be in great hands.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond-Ibolya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We arrived in the middle of the night after waiting for hours for lost baggage. We were offered, and accepted, deluxe rooms with prices to match. The rooms were first class as was the staff in the annex. However, we left behind a medicine/cosmetic bag and the hotel manager would not send it to our next Indian address. We offered credit card numbers as reimbursement for mailing but no luck. It's unfortunate that the excellent room is not matched by Five Star service by the top management.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zionprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residency, Owner at Hotel Residency Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2010

We thank you for your appreciation of the room and service of the staff. Regarding the delivery of Medicine and Cosmetic bag left behind, we communicate to you on your mobile that no courier service was willing to deliver Cosmetics and Medicine. We namely pride DHL, Blue Dart courier service, but they refuse to take Liquid cosmetic and Medicine. Every effort was made on our part. The cosmetic and medicine bag is in our safe custody and we await your instruction. Email to this effect is CC to your e-mail ID. We look forward to welcoming you at Residency Hotel and we assure you of our best services at all times.
Thanking you,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We were expecting to pay a lot for our stay in Mumbai and were plesantly surprised to find this hotel in such a great location.

I must point out that there is nothing special about this place. However it is to a good level for a budget hotel.

The reception and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinoringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

This is a fine option for a night or 2 maximum, however we found it quite pricey for the quality, but I think that's Mumbai for you.

The rooms are clean but very, very small and our room was just big enough for the 2 single beds and a set of drawers without much left over. There was also a lot of fittings, lights etc in the room that made a small space seem even smaller.

The staff were friendly and helpful in general although they didn't have a late check out option and I was forced to pay for an entire night even though we left at 6pm. On checkout they also made a mistake with the breakfasts, we had paid up front rather then put it on the room but they hadn't taken note, we then had to wait for 15 minutes in order to sort out a $3 bill... To be honest I think they just should have waived it and sorted it out later considering we had just paid for a days accommodation for 6 hours, just an annoyance when you are trying to get to the airport to have that kind of fuss over $3.

All in all, nothing to exceptional at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthteamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#80 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
647 reviews
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
#5 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,251 reviews
OYO 7149 Hotel Accord Premium
#52 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,175 reviews
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#72 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
485 reviews
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residency Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residency Fort

Address: 26 Hotel Residency Fort Corner Of Dn Road & Rustom Sidhwa Marg | Fort Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 458 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £47 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residency Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residency Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing