We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitability and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Ranked #32 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have been staying in Taj Vivanta Cuffe Parade for more than 2 months now.I am here on a business assignment.
I would definitely recommend Taj Vivanta for your future stay in Mumbai.
I have travelled many Hotels around the globe and I will say Taj Vivanta ranks number 1 in Hospitability and Service.The staff is so polite and always has a smile.They take care of the smallest things you need and that too without you demanding for it.
The House keeping staff,the front office,the restaurant staff will surprise you with their service.
They keep a personal bonding with the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Amogh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTPM, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on your experiences with us and we appreciate your patronage very much.

Our stance towards delivering quality is of prime and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care for the future

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,592 - 1,598 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

This review should be read in conjunction with my earlier reviews over the past 1 year to get a true picture. After my venting in the last review, the only thing that has significantly improved is the service level. This hotel has taken it to the highest level, and that too all around in all areas, from the time you alight out of the car to the time you check out. And it is a genuinely, warm and caring attitude, not the put on that one can see sometimes when the bosses have told the employees they have to smile! The other thing that has improved is that there are many more valets, specially during busy times, at the porch, and the regular ones start to recognize me after a day since I drive my own car.

Unfortunately, not much has been done about the other items: wifi, South Indian fare at breakfast, cramped breakfast area, plastic water bottles, seasonal fruits, cuppa tea etc. In fact, it was a joke to see waiters carrying chai and pakoras during breakfast. The so called 'masala chai' in the kettle comes from the ubiquitous tea / coffee machine that can now be found in all hotels in India. The 'chai' tastes of hot masala milk flavored with artificial cardamom flavor. There is no trace of any tea. This from the hotel that is part of the Tata Tea group! The pakoras were ice cold. Five star hotels should stay away from offering street foods since they just cannot get it right. Have you ever had chaat at the Sea Lounge?

I was very pleasantly surprised to find jars full of almonds and apricots, and no they were not part of the mini bar! The devil (or God) is in the detail. So here, you will find the spare toilet paper all gift wrapped with a ribbon, flower petals every where, towels shaped into cute little animals, lemon wedges served all properly dressed in muslin cloth and bow tied and many other such little touches that please the heart and separates a good hotel from the also ran.

My friend , the GM, makes a plea on the hotel channel for suggestions to make the hotel more green. But he is unwilling to start with the biggest 'non green' item staring at every one all over the hotel, the plastic water bottle.

This is a very good value hotel if you can snag a rate of below Rs. 6,000 inclusive of breakfast.

And lastly, Mr. Anand Padmanabhan please spare yourself the trouble of responding to this review with the typical jargonistic response. If you are unable or unwilling to respond specifically to issues listed here, I would rather discuss them with my friend Pankaj Sampat when we next chat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Where do i start? The hotel has been home for the past 2 years and boy do we love coming back to them. Despite the million choices, we do not veer past the President. And the Thai Pavillion is beyond doubt the best Thai Restaurant i've eaten at. Must try!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank prinks20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTPM, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on your experiences with us and we appreciate your patronage very much.

Our stance towards delivering quality is of prime and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care for the future

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Was on a solo business trip. Stayed there for one night. Clean rooms, courteous staff, extremely polite and helpful. Great restaurants. 24hours restaurant service. Would suggest it for anyone. Overall I had a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sghosh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTPM, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on your experiences with us and we appreciate your patronage very much.

Our stance towards delivering quality is of prime and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care for the future

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed 4 nights at the Vivanta by Taj, switched room for the last night to experience the sea side view which is a lot better than the other side...

Main feedback was that I think the hotel is understaffed and that the existing staff require more training. For example - The concierge could not direct me with any tourists sites in Mumbai.I am sure there is a list of what attractions are near the hotel but this was not given. At rcpetion it is worse as the staff was very busy every time I got there, results was that no one could help you and you simply had to come back at another time.Only two of the three lifts were working during y stay so this caused long waits in the lobby to get to you room (but I am sure this will be finished by beginning of July 2014)

Positives are - the staff do try and help when they have time! The Thai pavilion restaurant is really good. The pizza place is expensive and not so good.

The rooms are small but nicely decorated and comfortable. Wifi is not free.

Special mention to Dakshala "the inroom dinig lady" - she was always very helpful, friendly and assisting

Room Tip: Sea side view is way better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldorphian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTPM, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on your experiences with us and we appreciate your patronage very much.

We have noted your feedback of certain dis-comfort and we are taking corrective steps in these avenues.

Our stance towards delivering quality is of prime and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care for the future

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The food in the restaurant is very good. You get German bread, deilicious juice and fruits. The rooms are in a very good condition. We enjoyed the bed. We slept very well. The staff is very helpful. The do a maximum security.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oberhausen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTPM, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on your experiences with us and we appreciate your patronage very much.

VIVANTA aims at creative a perfect balance of work and relaxation for our guests with our offerings ranging from business attributes, relaxation Spa, signature cuisine offerings and high energy bar in a secure environment.

Our stance towards delivering quality is of prime and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care for the future

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The service at the Taj was exceptional. All staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. The only downside, which is not actually a downside, was the constant security check every time you entered the hotel. It felt like we were back at the airport all over again. The restaurants were really good. We had drinks at the bar and the wait staff catered to our every need. As I have only non- alcholic beverages, they went out of their way to design special mocktails for me to blend in with the crowd. Really thoughtful of them.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a glimpse of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshaMabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTPM, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on your experiences with us and we appreciate your patronage very much.

VIVANTA aims at creative a perfect balance of work and relaxation for our guests with our offerings ranging from business attributes, relaxation Spa, signature cuisine offerings and high energy bar in a secure environment.

So rightly accorded the status of "Food Capital Of SoBo" by discerning patrons like you; patronising our iconic restaurants.

Our stance towards delivering quality is of prime and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care for the future

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#35 of 489 in Mumbai
902 reviews
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 489 in Mumbai
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Worli/Prabhadevi
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#23 of 489 in Mumbai
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai

Address: 90 Cuffe Parade, Mumbai 400005, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#20 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#22 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#26 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: £101 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj President is a fully renovated hotel with contemporary Superior Charm Rooms by American designer Dave Dunphy, fashionable state of art Deluxe Delight Rooms by Japanese Design Studio Super Potato, Premium Indulgence Rooms with lounge facility, Deluxe Allure Suites and Premium Temptation Suites. The hotel offers free Wi Fi, with limited bandwidth. Whilst meeting your business purpose with a fully equipped Business Center, Meeting Rooms and WiFi access; tantalize your taste buds to world class cuisines at Trattoria - all day dining, Thai Pavilion - best Thai cuisine in Mumbai, The Konkan Cafe - western coastal cuisine, Sugar n Spice - take away Deli and the Wink Bar - rated as the best waterhole for high spirits. Reclaim yourself at the signature JIVA SPA and rejuvenate yourself at the Pool and the Fitness Center. Vivanta is truly designed keeping the en age traveler of today in mind ... Experience signature Vivanta hospitality, Welcome to Vivanta by Taj ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - President, Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Taj Hotels
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Bombay
Taj President Bombay
Taj Hotel Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing