We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of The Orchid Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Orchid Mumbai
Ranked #55 of 447 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days . As its located adjacent to domestic airport , mumbai . its always crowdy but thats fine . the rates were reasonable , service was good . food quality and quantity was magnificient . Breakfast to Lunch and Dinner there use to be lot of variety to choose . Rooms were Good Overall I would rate it 3 stars and say a decent hotel in mumbai suburbs .

Room Tip: Rooms On Higher Floor should be prefered .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

We do enjoy a strategic location as we are in close proximity with the domestic & international airport. Also, connectivity to the Western Express Highway which makes it convenient to move around the city for guests staying with us.

We are glad to know that you also enjoyed your dining experience at ‘Boulevard’ – 24hour coffee shop.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    597
    307
    135
    138
See reviews for
241
164
141
979
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I had a corporate booking at Hotel Orchid,Vile Parle, Mumbai upon recommendation of our concerned OfficeTravel desk
Still staying there after checking in on Feb 5th 2014 at Room No. 359

Saddened and surprised by shoddy experience at each moment of truth.
a) DEspite a early arrival at Waiting Area, the pickup cab was much delayed- though complimentary pickup offered (which was appreciated)
b)Reception Check-in was very low point. Not only staff was impolite, they allotted me a room which was not on Roster. So Housekeeping had to rush through room preparation as i stood in foyer
c) Reception didnt bother to explain norms and offers for Inclusive breakfast/other options,etc. during check-in .Expected out of a good hotel.
Had to embarrassingly call to enquire for few things.

A good Hotel needs to be hospitable to guests. By overpricing and ambience, a hotel cannot claim to be Good and Rated property

Will not aim to stay again on my next 6 day visit to Mumbai in Feb 16th 2014.

Nitin Sharma

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NS_TravelStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!
Apologize for the experience you had with us. We would request you to treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards.

Your feedback has been shared with the respective teams and we assure you will notice a difference on your next visit.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great Location, just minutes from the domestic airport. They have a free pickup & drop service from the Airport which is very convenient.

Service is good. Ask for the newly renovated rooms, as they are quite large.

The 'Mostly Grills' Restaurant on the Roof top is excellent, offering a great view of Mumbai city and the Airport, And when the weather is good - Dec - April dining there is an amazing experience.

Recommend going early to check out as the number of desk staff is not adequate when multiple people are checking out in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly renovated wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

We do enjoy a strategic location as we are in close proximity with the domestic & international airport. Also, connectivity to the Western Express Highway which makes it convenient to move around the city for guests staying with us.

Our rooftop restaurant ‘Mostly Grills’ is the only restaurant in the city with breath-taking view on the airport runway.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Nice hotel with warm reception and homely atmosphere. confirmation of booking also prompt. all the services asked or attending in a nice manne. never disturb in room unless you ask for. Check in and check out prompt as well as with pleasant manners. Airport pick and drop tidy and on ime

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHANSHYAMPRASAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Mr. Ghanshyamprasad,

Scoring a 5/5 on all aspects of service proffered by a hotel is something that every GM of a hotel would feel proud about. I am thankful to you for proclaiming that we deserve the excellent ratings.

We always take pride in the fact that we add a homely feel to the entire guest experience. I am glad you noticed the same and have detailed out aspects of the service which you particularly liked.

I would really like to meet you in person and thank you for your encouraging appreciation...on your next stay with us.

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai, india
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Near Airport this is a decent hotel. Lobby is great and the rooms are well decor but needs maintenance and better housekeeping. Food was OK. Staff were co-operative. Over all a good hotel but could be much better if improve in some categories.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anand a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

There is always room for improvement and we are glad you see the potential in us to grow.

The Orchid - An Ecotel Hotel in Mumbai is Asia's first certified eco-friendly five-star hotel. This 372- room hotel is strategically located adjacent to the domestic airport making it a convenient place for the business traveler to stay.

Your feedback has been shared with our Engineering & Housekeeping team.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was my 3rd stay at the Orchid in the last 6 years or so. The first stay was very good. In the second visit, I was greeted by the previous occupier's underwear hanging on the toilet door. In this visit, the bathroom stank of urine. The hotel has a great lobby, but is so full that you will not get a table during breakfast nor can you get a cup of coffee at your table unless you ask for it 3 times. The room otherwise was okay, not much noise from outside. My advise - choose another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Sir,

I can understand that for a regular patron it does hurt when the standards of service are not as per the expected levels. Hence, such articulate feedback coming from a very well traveled individual who in the heart-of-heart does mean good for the organization.. is really very valuable to us

I have shared your feedback with my team and we have collectively decided to take it constructively and ensure that you see a marked improvement on your next visit ( though you have suggested readers of your review to opt for another hotel, I am sure you will give us one last chance ). I assure you we will live up to your expectations.

Looking forward to meet you in person on your next visit...

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed at the Orchid for business due to it's proximity to the airport and exhibition centre. However if I had to be in this area again, I would go out of my way to find somewhere else to stay. On my first night at the hotel, I had the pleasure of discovering that my sheets were dirty from the previous occupant. I found the service to range from apathetic to rude. I would recommend checking where your room faces, as I ended up looking on to (and listening to) one of the domestic airports runways.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wing that surround the front atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XpatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Apologize for the experience you had with us. We would request you to treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards.

Your feedback has been shared with our team and we assure you will note a difference on your next visit.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Ibis Mumbai Airport
Ibis Mumbai Airport
#52 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#20 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#14 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Holiday Inn Mumbai International...
#35 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Mumbai

Property: The Orchid Mumbai
Address: 70 C Nehru Road, Vile Parle East | Vile Parle East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#42 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Orchid Mumbai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid - An Ecotel Hotel in Mumbai is Asia's first certified eco-friendly five-star hotel. This 372- room hotel is strategically located adjacent to the domestic airport making it a convenient place for the business traveler to stay.The Orchid Hotel Mumbai presently offers the most unique luxury experience in the city that encompasses well appointed environment friendly rooms and suites which are stylishly designed, each boasting of lavishly adorned décor, luxurious ambience and modern services. All the guest rooms are fully air conditioned and replete with contemporary elements, Wi-Fi internet access, attached bath, telephone and television. The hotel also features a variety of lifestyle activities like an exclusive club floor with a private lounge, The Club Privé room, relaxing outdoor Pool, well-appointed business center, conference rooms and state-of-the art banquets. It has five specialty restaurants and outlets namely South of Vindhyas (represents a unique culinary concepts from South India), Mostly Grills (International fusion Open-air barbeque restaurant on the roof top), The Boulevard, (a 24 hours coffee shop located on the first floor serves delicious Indian, Continental and Asian cuisine), Merlin’s (Bar with Karaoke & a Bulgarian Band called Sparkles) and The Gourmet Shop (For cakes, snacks & sandwiches) that seemingly fit the business travelers needs. The 84 international awards reiterate the efforts of The Orchid of being a pioneer amongst environment friendly hotels.Our clientele form the who's who of the discerning international corporate. We, just like our discerning clientele believe in sustainable development and have created an experience where:"Deluxe need not disturb, Comfort need not compromise and Enjoyment need not be insensitive." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchid Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Orchid Hotel Mumbai
Orchid Hotels Mumbai
The Orchid Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing