We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A baby amongst Five Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle
Ranked #43 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of a group attending an official function. As a hotel it is excellent however I think it would be only fair to rate it whilst comparing it with other five star properties. When one does that it rates as a baby. A lot has still to be done by the Kamat group to reach up to a five star level of finesse. The housekeeping guy who came to my room could not speak decent english or hindi for that matter. Soaps were not replenished for two days and had to be asked for. The bath tub took 20 mins to drain. The staff were grim faced and sort of aloof.
Then I really don't understand why most hotels in the world including this one don't have drapes or curtains which close fully to make sure the early morning light does not come through them???
Finally my room was right above the restaurant and the light restaurant music was too loud and could be heard in my room all day. Early in the morning at around 6 AM I was woken by the clatter of spoons and cups as the tables were laid.
At breakfast time tables were not re laid fast enough and getting coffee and tea were definitely a challenge.
Used the bar - my whiskey came immediately but the cocktail ordered by the person with me took 10 mins to make and was nothing like what it should be.
If you get a good deal use the hotel otherwise look around you will get better at much lower rates, though they may not be five star officially.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors near the lifts just adjacent and above the restaurant. I staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badasaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Apologize for the experience you had with us. We would request you to treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards.

Your feedback will definitely help us focus on areas of improvement as mentioned by you and we assure you will note a difference on your next visit.
Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Orchid hotel is perfect if you are using Mumbai's domestic airport for early morning flights.
Staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable.
It also has a European style bar off the lobby where you can relax in or entertain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!
Merlin’s Karaoke Bar has been appreciated a lot by our guests and we are glad to know that you loved it.

We do enjoy a strategic location as we are in close proximity with the domestic & international airport. Also, connectivity to the Western Express Highway which makes it convenient to move around the city for guests staying with us.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

It was a good place to stay, very convenient location..mainly very close to Airport. The rooms were clean and the staff were courteous. The fitness centre is excellent. Food was great. Good place for business travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Srinivasan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

The Orchid - An Ecotel Hotel in Mumbai is Asia's first certified eco-friendly five-star hotel. This 372- room hotel is strategically located adjacent to the domestic airport making it a convenient place for the business traveler to stay.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at the Orchid only for Half a day as I was transiting through flights. I had a very good experience. Check in was fast. Room was very ordinary and they can do much better and improve. I had ordered for In room dining and I must say, the service was very fast and amazing taste of the chinese dishes. I had requested for certain specifications in the dishes which they had followed perfectly

Room Tip: Do not take rooms which face the lobby area. As you can hear the music and noise from the Lobby area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMBom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

We are glad to know that you loved your stay with us. We strive to consistently serve our guests to make their stay the most comfortable one.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the breakfast and dinner buffet - absolutely amazing and tasty. Would recommend generally just for the food. Room service is average and slow. The wait staff were lovely, however reception when we arrived were not very nice. Then they gave us an extremely outdated room with an old box tv that ruins your eyes from squinting. The room was right near the service elevator so we would get woken up at 4am by the waiters preparing for breakfast. They don't seem to ever turn the music off at night. For the ridiculous price we paid we would expect to get a room in the nicer area of the hotel. The air con was really dirty and you cannot turn it off if you want to turn the lights off at night. This was a problem for me as an asthmatic. Bathroom is nice and they provide lovely toiletries. The pool is nice and clean and the pool attendant was extremely nice and efficient, and even though there is a sign saying "swim at own risk-any inconvenience regretted", he was keeping a keen and stressful eye on a 2 year old who had been left in the pool unsupervised, with parents no where in sight. The hotel is very secure being so close to the airport and there are slums right next door. Attractive lobby but probably wouldn't stay again given the choice and price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vettranomshanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

‘Boulevard’ – 24 hours coffee shope restaurant has always been loved and appreciated by our guests for its buffets.

We have shared your feedback with our Front Office Team & Engineering Team. We assure you will note a difference on your next visit.

Your positive stroke for the pool attendant has been shared with the team and appreciated in front of the entire staff at our town hall meeting centre.

We apologize since you were not impressed with the room you stayed in. On your next visit we recommend you to stay at one of our Club Rooms.
Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

our stuff got stolen from our room and the hotel management did not even bother to respond to your multiple requests to sort out the issue. Rooms were ok.. not that great.. we were promised a airport facing room but got a view of the slums instead..
Food is good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank rbehera1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Apologize for the experience you had with us. We would request you to treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel last month at room No 124, the first impression of the room was were poor, the light was not working , with the old cathod ray tv with defective screen , the beds were spit with a smaller size. the only good thing was its located next to Mumbai Airport.Interiors of hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 100 to 130
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinaydixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Apologize for the experience you had with us.

On your next visit we recommend you to stay at one of our Club Rooms which is in the new wing of the hotel.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Vile Parle East
ibis Mumbai Airport - An AccorHotels Brand
Sahara Star Hotel
#27 of 489 in Mumbai
2,823 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 489 in Mumbai
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit Mumbai
#17 of 489 in Mumbai
2,516 reviews
Hotel Transit
#120 of 489 in Mumbai
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle

Address: 70-C, Nehru Road | near Mumbai Domestic Airport, Vile Parle, Mumbai 400099, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: £73 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid - An Ecotel Hotel in Mumbai is Asia's first certified eco-friendly five-star hotel. This 372-room hotel is strategically located adjacent to the domestic airport making it a convenient place for the business traveler to stay. The Orchid Hotel Mumbai presently offers the most unique luxury experience in the city that encompasses well appointed environment friendly rooms and suites which are stylishly designed, each boasting of lavishly adorned decor, luxurious ambience and modern services. All the guest rooms are fully air conditioned and replete with contemporary elements, Wi-Fi internet access, attached bath, telephone and television. The hotel also features a variety of lifestyle activities like an exclusive club floor with a private lounge, The Club Prive room, relaxing outdoor pool, well-appointed business center, conference rooms and state-of-the art banquets. It has five specialty restaurants and outlets namely South of Vindhyas (represents a unique culinary concepts from South India), Mostly Grills (International fusion Open-air barbeque restaurant on the roof top), The Boulevard (a 24 hour coffee shop located on the first floor serves delicious Indian, Continental and Asian cuisine), Merlin’s (bar with karaoke & a Bulgarian band called Sparkles) and The Gourmet Shop (for cakes, snacks & sandwiches) that seemingly fit the business travelers needs. The 84 international awards reiterate the efforts of The Orchid of being a pioneer amongst environment friendly hotels. Our clientele form the who's who of the discerning international corporate. We, just like our discerning clientele, believe in sustainable development and have created an experience where: "Deluxe need not disturb, Comfort need not compromise and Enjoyment need not be insensitive." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Orchid Hotel Mumbai
The Orchid Hotel Mumbai
Orchid Hotels Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing