We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you must...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Orchid Mumbai
Ranked #60 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“If you must...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

It's tired and old and very badly needing investment and refurbishment. It rely shouldn't be classed as a 5* hotel now. Everything is just a little rattly, a little dirty and a little old-fashioned.

But - it's super-close to the airport, so needs must...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KarlPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mr. Karl,

As you rightly stated being super close to the domestic airport ( and now 12 minutes away from the International airport since the opening of the new terminal ) has always worked in our favor when it comes to choice of hotels for most guests traveling to Mumbai.

WE have recently opened up a complete new wing of rooms ( 127 rooms ) which could give any of the top 5 star chain hotels a run for their money. at the same time there are many of our patrons who prefer the more homely, comforting ambiance of our initial inventory of rooms. We have a systematic preventive maintenance team working along with the refurbishment team to spruce up the rooms and I am sure that on your next visit you shall find the visible difference.

Looking forward to meet you on your next stay with us...

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    574
    305
    134
    135
See reviews for
230
157
138
946
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Everything had gone good during my stay at Orchid this time. It is a pure business hotel and also very conveniently located within a kilometre from Mumbai Airport. By virtue of their being very close to the airport, some may feel that conveyance would be a problem. But they have a complementary pick up and drop from and to airport. Buffet break fast spread was very good. Amongst all food items, the quality of fish was extremely good and worth having a ton.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apurbakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mr. Apurba,

I am glad to find that you have found the Hotel to your liking. As rightly mentioned we do offer complimentary pick-up / drop services from the Airports and its very much appreciated by our discerning clientele.

The buffet spread at the coffee shop caters to the varied taste preferences of our guests.. from the Indian to the European... to the Far East. We all know the affinity for fish as far as people from the beautiful city Kolkatta are concerned hence its little wonder that you have earmarked the fish options that we proffer for a special foot note. I am glad that you found the fish to your liking.

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just a stones throw from the domestic airport the lobby is spacious, elaborate with a gigantic water cascade from the top. The ambience is good and reception staff on their toes. Rooms are comfortable, well maintained and make for a comfortable stay. Well serviced and helpful staff.
The nuisance is only of the crowd in the lobby where the karoke bar is as it gets very crowded and noisy and in high spirits especially on weekend.
Food is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhishi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mr. Rhishi,

It is a pleasure to have such a well traveled gentleman stay with us... and even better take out time to review us.

I gather that you liked the hotel's location, the ambiance, the friendliness of the staff and the comfortable rooms were really to your liking.

As we have been enjoying a very good occupancy round the year, the constant movement of guests is always a regular feature. Also, the karaoke music played at the Bar is a big hit and draws in substantial crowds. If its a soothing drink with good music you look forward to, I would suggest you try the Rooftop restaurant, The Mostly Grills, on your next trip. I am sure you shall find it to your liking.

Looking forward to meet you again, on your next visit..

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The entrance to this hotel is the same as the entry to the domestic airport... it's almost skip hop jump to the airport. It's a pretty good value for money with all 5 star amenities in a place like Mumbai. The rooms are big and clean with a window that gives a great view. Only problem is that the rooms in the new building are good which is little far from the reception, so gotto to walk a bit to reach your room.
I stayed at the 7th floor and the swimming pool is right outside. It's got a nice view, you can have a drink and get a view of the airport runway sitting there.
The breakfast has a huge spread, though the sad part is that they don't change the menu. It remains the same spread everyday which can get boring if you are staying for long.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooja_Kabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Ms. Pooja,

We always used to state that we are adjacent to the domestic airport but your mentioning that.. The Orchid and the domestic airport share the same entrance... is an even more befitting description of the locational advantage that we possess.

I am glad that you liked the rooms ( particularly the new wing ) and the swimming pool located at the same level where you were staying. We like to take special care of our lady guests and hence we try to block rooms on the 7th floor where we have an additional Reception counter which is manned round-the-clock , along with extra security rounds, just to ensure our guests feel safe.

I have also noted your feedback with regards to the breakfast spread. Though we do have a cyclic menu, I feel that it would be appropriate that we gather your personal preferences so that we can tailor make the breakfast options for you.

Looking forward to meet you on your next visit...

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

nice experience, with good service
am sure cleartrip offered best rates conpared to other service provider.
looking forward to many more booking in future to meet my future requirements when I travel. recommeded

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Brijesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mr. Brijesh,

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service as well. I sincerely hope the next time we manage to get the 5th star for our services as well in your review rating

Cleartrip is one of the well known online Travel Agents which does enjoy a very good rate with us. I am sure that you shall continue patronizing us through them in the near future as well.

Looking forward to meet you in person on your next visit..

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Don't understand to how this hotel has been given a 5 star rating !!

The airport pickup was badly managed, the check in at the reception was painful, rooms are far below average. Room service was just about ok !!

Would not recommend this one at all !!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank darora123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Mr. Arora,

As I read your feedback, I realized that you speak to the point and make no bones in expressing your angst / appreciation... just the way a seasoned business traveler would be !!

The areas of improvement as highlighted by you have been shared with our Airport Representative & Front Office Team as well. I apologize on their behalf and hereby assure you that you shall see a marked improvement on your next visit.

I would request you to treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards. Let us assure you that it is our constant endeavor to provide the best of services to our guests and that every guest of the hotel is treated with utmost professional care and hospitality.

Looking forward to meet you on your next stay with us..

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have stayed in Orchid in 2006 and also in 2011.
The 2006 experience was fantastic. 2011 one was a disaster.
This time the experience was something in between,
Orchid still have the geographic location advantage for its closeness to the domestic terminal;. The new T2 is about 15 minutes drive, through the elevated road.
Check in after a long-haul flight was thankfully smooth.
The room was smelly. Fortunately a man with a room freshener was around. It seemed the damp, the smell has become a regular feature in all the floors. You can see incense sticks placed on the corridor.

Ordered for lassi and it was served at room temperature! Never tasted a lassi so hot:-)
But it was quickly replaced with a chilled version of the drink.
Claimed to be a five star, but there was no weighing machine in the room.
This you need after an international flight and when you are scheduled to take a domestic flight next morning because of checked in luggage weight restrictions.

Wi fi internet is not only chargeable, it costs a bomb!
Need to print your boarding pass?
Hurry. The business center closes at 11 pm!
There you need to pay for the internet and also for the printing.
So the boarding card may cost you 250-300 INR!

Room Tip: Take the superior deluxe rooms on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drlahiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Dr. Lahiri,

I am glad that you feel there is a marked improvement in the services post your last stay though there still appears a far bit which we need to do to meet your realistic expectations.

The location close to the domestic airport has always earned us brownie points. now with the new international airport terminal opened up, its just a 10 minutes drive away from the Hotel making it the most ideal location for travelers.

I have also made a note of your points and shall ensure a thoroughly well prepared room sans any smell shall be kept ready on your next visit as well as the room service orders are more accurate and to your liking. The Business Center services do attract their charges but post your feedback I shall be doing a cross-check with other hotels and take a stance accordingly.

Looking forward to meet you on your next stay with us...

Best Regards.

Sampreeth Kotian.
Rooms Division Manager.
The Orchid, Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Ibis Mumbai Airport
Ibis Mumbai Airport
#53 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#21 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#17 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Holiday Inn Mumbai International...
#35 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Mumbai

Property: The Orchid Mumbai
Address: 70 C Nehru Road, Vile Parle East | Vile Parle East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#44 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Orchid Mumbai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid - An Ecotel Hotel in Mumbai is Asia's first certified eco-friendly five-star hotel. This 372- room hotel is strategically located adjacent to the domestic airport making it a convenient place for the business traveler to stay.The Orchid Hotel Mumbai presently offers the most unique luxury experience in the city that encompasses well appointed environment friendly rooms and suites which are stylishly designed, each boasting of lavishly adorned décor, luxurious ambience and modern services. All the guest rooms are fully air conditioned and replete with contemporary elements, Wi-Fi internet access, attached bath, telephone and television. The hotel also features a variety of lifestyle activities like an exclusive club floor with a private lounge, The Club Privé room, relaxing outdoor Pool, well-appointed business center, conference rooms and state-of-the art banquets. It has five specialty restaurants and outlets namely South of Vindhyas (represents a unique culinary concepts from South India), Mostly Grills (International fusion Open-air barbeque restaurant on the roof top), The Boulevard, (a 24 hours coffee shop located on the first floor serves delicious Indian, Continental and Asian cuisine), Merlin’s (Bar with Karaoke & a Bulgarian Band called Sparkles) and The Gourmet Shop (For cakes, snacks & sandwiches) that seemingly fit the business travelers needs. The 84 international awards reiterate the efforts of The Orchid of being a pioneer amongst environment friendly hotels.Our clientele form the who's who of the discerning international corporate. We, just like our discerning clientele believe in sustainable development and have created an experience where:"Deluxe need not disturb, Comfort need not compromise and Enjoyment need not be insensitive." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchid Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Orchid Hotel Mumbai
The Orchid Hotel Mumbai
Orchid Hotels Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing