We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Orchid Mumbai
Ranked #60 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is one of the good hotels in Mumbai close to Domestic Airport. The surrounding of the hotel may not be good, but once you enter the hotel, you will like the ambiance. Rooms are good, clean and comfortable. Food quality is excellent with wide range buffet spread. However, I found some issue with the staff at reception during check-in and check-out. Apart from this everything about this hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: An excellent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Mr. Mohan,

Being rated as one of the good hotels near the domestic airport by your esteemed self is something that we indeed feel proud about. The proximity coupled with the service does make us the preferred choice for the discerning clients who prefer to abstain from the unpredictable Mumbai traffic.

The approach road has improved drastically since the ALM ( headed by The Orchid Hotel ) has taken it up as a matter of prime importance. I am glad the you find the ambiance, rooms and the food spread to your liking.

I gather from your review that the Front desk experience has left a lot to be desired. The Front Office team has been briefed to be more alert and efficient to ensure a smooth check-in / check-out process going forward.

I am sure that you shall definitely be visiting us in the very near future. Looking forward to personally interact with you....

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    574
    305
    134
    135
See reviews for
230
157
138
946
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My previous visits to the hotel were not as bad as it happened this time. The check in guys were lazy and only one was available at 8.15 PM. Before that even though the pick up was assured, no one was present at pick up area at Airport. I had to call the hotel and after putting me on hold for 5 minutes, I was connected to the guy who was merrily standing near the coffee shop! I had to wait for almost 20 minutes before the pick up car could arrive. Consider this - the travel time to hotel is 5 minutes only! Then at the check in, I was given a room which was looking like a room of a one-star hotel. The furniture was rundown needing replacement. The centre table in the room was vibrating and was making funny sounds. I asked for a room change, spoke to the Front Manager and even after 15 minutes, there was no response. I had to carry my luggage to the front office and had to demand a good room, as was always given to me in earlier visits, in a firm voice. Earlier I was told that there is no room on club prive available but when I asked for cancellation and refund, I was ushered in a room on 5th Floor. Only God knows, how the room appeared? In the room, TV was not functioning and the electric point for charging my devices was also out of order. I ordered for food and it was served after 55 minutes! Probably, it was my bad day. I could settle down to my work at 11 PM. The sleep quality was not good. The room windows were unclean. The shower was alright and that was the only saving grace. This hotel is doing business because of its proximity to the airport. I regretted having not stayed at Trident at BKC. Service is a major issue and this hotel is going down in every respect. The owner - Mr. Kamat needs to be a concerned guy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Club Prive side. They are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashish_Makhija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Mr. Makhija,

First and foremost, kindly accept an unconditional apology on behalf of my entire team that we have not been able to live upto the usually high standards that you have experienced on your previous visits.

I would request you to kindly consider this visit of yours as a one off case and not a fair reflection of the usually high standards that we take pride in maintaining. I assure you that on your next visit you shall notice a marked improvement in the services and keep patronizing us in the ready future as well.

Looking forward to meet you personally and ensure that you have the best of experiences at The Orchid Hotel.

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Loved my stay here. The hotel is great - very luxurious and provides incredible value. The breakfast and lunch was sumptuous and the spread left no desire for food unfulfilled. The location close to the airport is a great plus!

Room Tip: If you are into airplanes, choose the rooms that overlook the Mumbai airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A picky travell... f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Its actually fantastic guests like you that come up these really fantastic comments which make us believe that we are headed in the right direction - being the first choice of any traveler visiting Mumbai.

The best part of your review was that you have mentioned that we are incredible value for money. The breakfast spread is constantly reworked and improved based on the feedback provided by our guests and hence has now developed an universal feel. I am glad that you have highlighted it for exquisite praise in your review.

Also, while the location always make us a prime choice for any traveler coming to Mumbai... your room tip is indeed worth a special mention. We do have a decent spread of airport facing, atrium facing and hotel Main porch runway facing rooms for the guest to choose from....

Looking forward to meet you in person as the Orchid continues to enthrall you in your future visits as well...

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Initially I was frankly scared reading the previous reviews, but we had already booked our super deluxe room.
I was PLEASANTLY surprised ! Our room was very beautiful with nice decor, extremely neat and clean. The sofa was extremely comfortable and cozy, I loved the bath tub in the bathroom. We were given complimentary fruit bowl in the room.I had a nice and De-stressing spa session followed by sauna in the happy hours , 9 pm to 11 pm with 30% discount. We lazed around in the swimming pool in evening. The breakfast was very nice though there were no Mangoes in the mango season.
We just wished the breakfast was included in the room tariff as we had to pay extra for breakfast but considering the cost of the rooms of a 5 star hotel I guess it is fair enough.
The house keeping was very prompt.
The Spa girls were very professional and nice.
The receptionist was a bit indifferent.
The dinner on the terrace with the bird's view of the airport was kinda fun !
We had ordered chicken biryani...which was cooked appropriately and tasted very yummy !

Overall We were very happy and pleased with our stay and unwinded ourselves pretty well...
I loved the wooden panels and decor of the hotel, unlike the modern day hotels which seem very crisp and white . The wooden walls and staircase have a classic look about them making them look more elegant !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MukulRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Ms. Roy,

A weekend is something that everyone looks forward to... and to have one which is absolutely relaxing and leaves a feeling of awesomeness is something that all yearn for... I am glad we have been able to provide you such an experience.

Its indeed a superlative performance from the entire team... as per the review that you have penned down. As the General Manager of the hotel, it gives me immense pride that as a team we have been able to make your stay a memorable one.

Looking forward to meet you on your next visit...

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

You really start doubting your choice when you walk towards the lobby; the place doesn't even look like a modest 3-star from the outside, quite ill-maintained at that. On the inside though, thankfully, is a different story. The hotel has the old-world charm to it, and the rooms are quite spacious, unlike the new ones on the block. The buffet deserves a mention! Simply delicious food...Being opposite the Domestic airport is an added advantage if you have a flight to catch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prateek76ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mr. Prateek,

Its such a pleasure to go through your review that actually describes us a jewel... albeit a old one.

I gather that you have liked the old world charm ambiance, the rooms and have specially mentioned about the buffet spread. The food at the Orchid has always received rave views and I am sure it will continue to do so in the near future as well...

Looking forward to meet you in person on your next stay with us...

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I keep travelling to Mumbai every two month once, this is my 2nd visit & still the service is best. I like their roof top restaurant amazing view from the restaurant. The best thing is that Hotel offer compli Two way Airport Transfer & breakfast. I recommend to stay at the Newly built Club room view is really amazing facing the runway. I would definitely stay at Orchid whenever I visit Mumbai..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sho_Hasini001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Ma'am,

It gives me immense pleasure to note that even on your second visit you found the entire hotel experience to your expectations and not just a flash-in-the-pan experience the first time around. I am thrilled to note that you intend to keep visiting us in the near future as well.

The complimentary airport transfers and breakfast ( as well as the wifi access ) have always won us rave reviews from our esteemed guests. I am glad you found it worth appreciating as well. As you rightly pointed out the club wing rooms have an awesome view of the domestic airport runway and are hence, always, a high demand product !!

Somehow, i feel that you have given the swimming pool, the wonderful spa and the in-house museum a miss... I would really like if you could check out the same on your next visit and let us know your valuable feedback.

Looking forward to meet you on your next visit...

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is one of the perfect examples about how the surroundings for a 5 star hotel should not be, while inside you won't forget the experience of the whereabouts which keeps lingering about the choice of the hotel. The rest is ok if you are able to come out of the trauma of the area before entrance.

Room Tip: Any room if you find to avoid a look at the surroundings- which there isn't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vilaskalkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Mr. Kalkar,

I am glad that you find the interiors of the hotel, the service and the overall experience once you step into the hotel to your liking. I have no qualms in agreeing to the fact that the entrance to the Hotel could do with a lot of attention. Being in a prime airport zone, even the presence of a very active ALM and our constant endeavors to spruce the approach road leaves much to be desired.

However, I am sure that on your next visit, you will find the entrance area / approach road.. on lines with your expectations. Looking forward to meet you personally on your next visit.

Best Regards.

Rajesh Gupta.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Ibis Mumbai Airport
Ibis Mumbai Airport
#53 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#21 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#17 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Holiday Inn Mumbai International...
#35 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Mumbai

Property: The Orchid Mumbai
Address: 70 C Nehru Road, Vile Parle East | Vile Parle East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#44 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Orchid Mumbai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid - An Ecotel Hotel in Mumbai is Asia's first certified eco-friendly five-star hotel. This 372- room hotel is strategically located adjacent to the domestic airport making it a convenient place for the business traveler to stay.The Orchid Hotel Mumbai presently offers the most unique luxury experience in the city that encompasses well appointed environment friendly rooms and suites which are stylishly designed, each boasting of lavishly adorned décor, luxurious ambience and modern services. All the guest rooms are fully air conditioned and replete with contemporary elements, Wi-Fi internet access, attached bath, telephone and television. The hotel also features a variety of lifestyle activities like an exclusive club floor with a private lounge, The Club Privé room, relaxing outdoor Pool, well-appointed business center, conference rooms and state-of-the art banquets. It has five specialty restaurants and outlets namely South of Vindhyas (represents a unique culinary concepts from South India), Mostly Grills (International fusion Open-air barbeque restaurant on the roof top), The Boulevard, (a 24 hours coffee shop located on the first floor serves delicious Indian, Continental and Asian cuisine), Merlin’s (Bar with Karaoke & a Bulgarian Band called Sparkles) and The Gourmet Shop (For cakes, snacks & sandwiches) that seemingly fit the business travelers needs. The 84 international awards reiterate the efforts of The Orchid of being a pioneer amongst environment friendly hotels.Our clientele form the who's who of the discerning international corporate. We, just like our discerning clientele believe in sustainable development and have created an experience where:"Deluxe need not disturb, Comfort need not compromise and Enjoyment need not be insensitive." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Orchid Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Orchid Hotel Mumbai
The Orchid Hotel Mumbai
Orchid Hotels Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing