We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor maintanance”
Review of The Orchid Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchid Mumbai
Ranked #55 of 447 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“poor maintanance”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We arranged a annual general meeting in Orchid. I got a room in old building room no 485. 0n 21st august.Old building room are horrible and smelling like a toilet.Furniture is out dated,tv is outdated. you can not give it 5 star. all furniture due to old and badly maintain smell like you are in a cheaper hotel.

Room Tip: never take a room in old building ask before booking otherwise you will loose your sleep and will ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirmalsinh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrchidMumbai, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
We apologize for the experience you had with us.

As you are a regular your detailed feedback has been shared with the house keeping team and we assure you will notice a difference on your next visit.

Your satisfaction being our extreme priority, we will work towards ensuring you that your next stay will be more perfect and as per your previous ratings of a 5 star.

On your next visit we suggest you to try our club rooms in the new wing.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.
We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified 5 star Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    598
    307
    135
    138
See reviews for
243
164
141
979
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shillong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Everything was good except the guys at the reception. They kept me standing for 20 mins and did not even ask to sit and wait. I also asked for some information regarding buffet and the staff said that they will get back to me but they never did.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrchidMumbai, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for investing your valuable time to share the experience with The Orchid, Mumbai. We express our gratefulness towards the same.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Your detailed feedback has been shared with the Front Office team and appropriate measures have be taken. Please treat this as an isolated experience and not our usual standards.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First 5 star Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near the airport. The check in was very smooth... We were supposed to reach at around 8 am but reached at 4 am but were accommodated very nicely... the check out though is a bit of a problem as it takes inordinately long.... the ambiance is very good.. nice lobby.... very good transit hotel... highly recommended...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TUSHAR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrchidMumbai, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for investing your valuable time to share the experience with The Orchid, Mumbai. We express our gratefulness towards the same.

We are humbled with your token of appreciation & feedback which would certainly motivate our team to excel in their expertise and improve the checkout speed. Guest satisfaction being our ultimate priority, we will work towards ensuring you that your next stay will be more perfect.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Thanking you again for recommending us.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified 5 star Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

It was my first trip to Mumbai as well as first visit to an orchid hotel. I dont remember exact dates of visit but it was in between may and September.
It mentions as 5 star amd certainly striving to keep it. I found hotel a little overpriced.
The check in was smooth but as I emtered in room, foul odour welcomed. They changed room instantly to another one. Now AC didn't work in this one and it took 40 minutes to get it operational.
There were no welcome drinks or fruits. Pool was closed.
Restaurant menu overpriced though a tasty food.
During breakfast, most of things are out and no one payed attention to refill. The order for a dosa given, which never arrived And even two reminder to persons, I was told 10 mins. At last had to leave as such without it.
It was total disappoiniting after which I checked out.
Its quite late to give this review but as I am visiting Mumbai again the experience came across my thoughts.
I hope by now it must have improved.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank InderPartap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrchidMumbai, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for investing your valuable time to share the experience with The Orchid, Mumbai. We express our gratefulness towards the same.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and sincere step has been taken as your detailed feedback has been shared with the concerned departments.

Certainly, we assure you with a mark of improvement and you wont be disappointed when you come and stay with us.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified 5 star Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location near the airport. Transportation and breakfast is often included in the room prices. Affordable hotel. Great staff. Had room service, very tasty warm food served with a smile. A comfortable transit hotel which will leave you refreshed and well fed.

Room Tip: High floor, away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrchidMumbai, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for investing your valuable time to share the experience with The Orchid, Mumbai. We express our gratefulness towards the same.

We are humbled with your positive response. This is our constant effort to keep our guest satisfied; we constantly thrive to maintain consistency to provide our guests an ace of services in regards to every segment of hospitality experience.

Your kind words are shared with our team. This will surely motivate them to excel in their expertise. Also thank you for rating us maximum on Service & Value. It is our responsibility to comfort you with the league of services and making your stay pleasurable.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First 5 star Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diu, Daman and Diu, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice hotel with beautiful lobby.Rooms are good but the bathrooms are not up to the mark. breakfast buffet was very good,the hotel provides complimentary airport transfer.Need to improve in regards to room upholstery, T.V ext.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrchidMumbai, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Management Response

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Firstly thank you for appreciating our lobby & the buffet @ Boulevard – 24 x 7 coffee shop. Your feedback has been shared with the team. This will definitely help us improve and even motivate us to perform better

Apologize for the experience you had with us . We assure, you will note a difference on your next visit. Also we recommend you to try South Of Vindhyas our fine – dine restaurant for authentic south indian food from four states on your next visit.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pros
Good ambiance
Buffet Spread is decent
Spacious Rooms

Cons
Approach Road can be a horror to navigate
Check out can be uncomfortably long

Stayed here during a business trip. Booked a room with one bed but was assigned one with 2 separate beds initially and had to get it changed. Excuse given at reception was that the Hotel IT/Database systems had recently been revamped. Not very professional. Rooms were clean but the coffee-maker smelt like someone had used it to make rotten eggs. It was changed after the second complaint.
The buffet spread is decent but the idea of a midnight buffet is quite innovative. Thumbs up for that.
The most uncomfortable part was the check-out. It was quite irritating to see new trainees being put on shift during rush hour in the morning. Nirav (Reception Desk Trainee, it seems) was quite incompetent with the system, causing a huge queue up. Another experienced hand (Stany) had to come and sort it out. Not the best idea to have inexperienced folk handle check-in/outs during the morning 7-10 am and evening 6-9 pm times.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the outer periphery of the hotel and towards the west. Lesser noise and better Data...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrchidMumbai, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Management Response

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Thank you for sharing your detailed feed back and highlighting the problems you faced. It has been shared with the Front office manager & house keeping department. We assure, you will note a difference on your next visit.

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had with us. We would request you to treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Ibis Mumbai Airport
Ibis Mumbai Airport
#51 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#23 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#20 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#14 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Holiday Inn Mumbai International...
#35 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Mumbai

Property: The Orchid Mumbai
Address: 70 C Nehru Road, Vile Parle East | Vile Parle East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#43 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Orchid Mumbai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid - An Ecotel Hotel in Mumbai is Asia's first certified eco-friendly five-star hotel. This 372- room hotel is strategically located adjacent to the domestic airport making it a convenient place for the business traveler to stay.The Orchid Hotel Mumbai presently offers the most unique luxury experience in the city that encompasses well appointed environment friendly rooms and suites which are stylishly designed, each boasting of lavishly adorned décor, luxurious ambience and modern services. All the guest rooms are fully air conditioned and replete with contemporary elements, Wi-Fi internet access, attached bath, telephone and television. The hotel also features a variety of lifestyle activities like an exclusive club floor with a private lounge, The Club Privé room, relaxing outdoor Pool, well-appointed business center, conference rooms and state-of-the art banquets. It has five specialty restaurants and outlets namely South of Vindhyas (represents a unique culinary concepts from South India), Mostly Grills (International fusion Open-air barbeque restaurant on the roof top), The Boulevard, (a 24 hours coffee shop located on the first floor serves delicious Indian, Continental and Asian cuisine), Merlin’s (Bar with Karaoke & a Bulgarian Band called Sparkles) and The Gourmet Shop (For cakes, snacks & sandwiches) that seemingly fit the business travelers needs. The 84 international awards reiterate the efforts of The Orchid of being a pioneer amongst environment friendly hotels.Our clientele form the who's who of the discerning international corporate. We, just like our discerning clientele believe in sustainable development and have created an experience where:"Deluxe need not disturb, Comfort need not compromise and Enjoyment need not be insensitive." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchid Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Orchid Hotel Mumbai
Orchid Hotels Mumbai
The Orchid Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing