We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Ranked #71 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very nice hotel and good location. Rooms are very clean and there's a lovely restaurant - evening buffet was excellent. Staff are very friendly and attentive and service is very good. The hotel is very busy not only with residents but seems very popular for functions. In the week that I was there, there were two weddings, a very elaborate children's party and a very loud adult party. This means that some outside areas may not be accessible and there seemed to be constant activity outside with setting up and then taking down stages, decorations, etc. I have to say that everything was very well organised and these functions didn't have any direct affect on residents and any extra noise didn't go on late in the evenings. Obviously, the rooms overlooking the pool and the beach have the best views but a room at the front (overlooking the car park) might be a bit quieter if there are a lot of functions on during your stay.

Room Tip: See review to decide whether to ask for an ocean view or a quieter room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlothBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Mumbai and taking your time out to review us on Tripadvisor! It is quite helpful on your part to share Room Tip with fellow Tripadvisor users.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    269
    131
    49
    48
See reviews for
184
106
61
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Its an excellent hotel and they know what they do. Fine rooms and pleasant ambience. Its gives u a good experience of staying at a place which is well managed.
Then again you guys need to improve in ur kitchen. Food is good but not a fine cuisine. Change the cook and change the way u cook. Its nothing like a great restaurant, jus some place to fill ur tummy.
But pool is good, Excellent view, Superb room service and reception request response.
Pick and drop off to airport was very efficient but kindly take care to give appropriate training to drivers to prevent rash driving (although i know tat goes with mumbai ;-) )

All in all Excellent Hotel to STAY** if you are near JUHU !

-Rohith K V

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms have a good view. Dont chose the other sides as all u see if u open the curtain a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Rohith K V,

We are glad to note that you find the hotel and its services to be excellent. Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai and taking your time out to review us on Tripadvisor.

I've noted your comments and appropriate action will be taken. Thank you for your feedback. Your review helps us enhance our services.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Mumbai.


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

was my second stay at this amazing beach property....its a very old hotel but very nicely maintained...the location is bang on the beach and in juhu which is the most happening are in Juhu...every visit you will surely encounter few celebrities also in the lobby or the superb bar that they have....overall a good value for money hotel...class...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anky2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for patronizing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Juhu, Mumbai and taking your time out to review us on Tripadvisor! We are happy to note that you found the location of the Hotel to be amazing.

Sun-n-Sand Mumbai turned 50 last year in November, a feat, that very few hotels in India can boast about. We have been refurbishing our rooms on a regular basis. A large number of our room guests are our repeat customers. The hotel’s recent renovations include a new lounge bar, Beachcomber along with a brand new Presidential Suite. We are also opening a Chinese restaurant (replacing the Sunset Room) which shall open shortly.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

In Mumbai, the season seems to have set in. Early this week when I was unable to finish my work in Mumbai and forced to stay for the night, no good hotels were available. Most reporting fully booked status and some reporting availability of very top end rooms. I had to settle for Sun-n-Sand. A bit of nostalgic experience as I had come to stay here after a big gap of 30 years. View from the restaurant or outside spaces is very good. Rooms look cluttered with too much of furniture, though kept nice and clean. Room service was too slow. Food in the buffet restaurant was very average and service moderate. A good consolation though came in the hospitality, a cool temperament.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhupeshjuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to share your experience with us through Tripadvisor!

I've noted your comments in regards to the service levels at the Coffee Shop and room service. I have taken it up with the concerned team members and have it on my priority.

I assure you of enhanced service standards during your next visit to Sun-n-Sand, Mumbai and I look forward to welcoming you.

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Have stayed at this hotel before and was only there for two nights during my last visit. Rooms are ok and yes ocean facing room is much better. Previously stayed on the top level executive suite which is very large. Attended a private dinner in one of the smaller conference type rooms, catering was superb. Menu in the restaurant could do with a bit more variety especially with local food. Food however is good

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank chezk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for patronizing Sun-n-Sand, Juhu, Mumbai!

I've noted your comment regarding adding local food in the menu at the restaurant. Your feedback helps us enhance our services.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here last week for 4 nights. Lovely staff and very friendly. 24 hour money changing service.I had a room at the back on the third floor...very quiet. (yes, you can actually request smoking rooms!) Work is going on at the front (pool changing rooms) and beware if you get a room at the front, great view but they often have functions at the front so there may be noise when they clear away afterwards. The location is lovely with lovely views from what looked a very clean pool..but as i was working i did not have time to have a dip. The spa/beauty place is also being worked on but they will take you to an alternative venue. We ate in both restaurants. The food was really good with lots of choice in the buffet and the North Indian food in the resturant was also good. Beware, the portions on the main courses there are big so if eating in a group share! The business suite is small but there is a fairly good internet service in rooms for 250 rupees a day. Juhu is a safe area and the hotel is well known in Mumbai for being a good one. If I went to Juhu again I would go back. It is off a main road and secure.I disagree with some of the reviews. My colleagues and I found the rooms clean, beds comfortable and all our rooms were well serviced. The air con is a little ancient perhaps but it worked fine. My bathroom was large (only a superior room) with a good shower. Not too far from the airport. I thought all the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter. At the moment ask where the works are and avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to note that you've had a pleasant stay at the Hotel and would return again during your future visits to Mumbai. Thank you for taking your time out to share such a detailed review about your experience during your stay. I've shared the feedback with my team and it serves as a motivation to all.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A neat and clean place to stay. Hotel close to the domestic and international airport. A great ambiance and the sea facing rooms are awesome. Service is good and rooms are clean. They have a complimentary airport pick up and also have some complimentary drinks at the bar which make it more interesting!

Room Tip: ask for the sea facing rooms! you will enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviHebballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai and taking time out to share your experience with us through Tripadvisor!

It is quite helpful on your part to recommend Sea Facing rooms as Room Tip to fellow Tripadvisor users.

We would love to see you again on your next trip to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#74 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,912 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#90 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
#72 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#18 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,234 reviews
Ramee Guestline Hotel, Juhu
#331 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
360 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Property: Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Address: 39, Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#49 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#62 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-n-Sand, Mumbai is India’s first beachfront hotel which was commissioned in 1962. A serene hotel, located right on the Juhu Beach, at a short 20 minute drive from the airport is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers. The major attractions around the hotel include the ISKON Temple and the Prithvi Theatre located just 5 minutes away. There are many shopping and entertainment areas near the Hotel. The outdoor swimming pool is just footsteps away from Juhu beach. AQUA, The 24 hour coffee shop has a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea and is rated as one of the best on the beach. The Kabab Hut serves authentic Awadhi cuisine and is very popular amongst hotel guests and local residents. The Kabab Hut is worth a special night devoted to the exquisite food, service, and ambiance. Rejuvenate at 'Ocean View', the fully equipped health club which overlooks the Arabian Sea. Sohum, the spa will pamper you, and don't be surprised if you bump into a Bollywood star. Your stay at India’s first beach front hotel with its first class service is sure to make your trip memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel Mumbai
Sun And Sand Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing