We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option in South Mumbai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gordon House Hotel
Ranked #89 of 447 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Option in South Mumbai”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Gordon House was referred to me by a friend. His words were - when I don't get to stay at the TAJ (for those who are not aware, The Gordon House is just behind Taj at gateway of India).

With this in mind, I was expecting high standards from the Hotel - and I was certainly not disappointed. Right from reservation to check-in and during my 3 day stay at the hotel.

Location - Excellent location in Colaba. Everything, great eating joints, street shipping, sea is right at your doorstep.

Rooms - Spacious, Ample, well furnished and Clean (including the loos).

Management - The Manager (Mr Avisnash) was very helpful throughout as were the rest of his staff.

Food - The breakfast is elaborate (given this is not a big starred hotel). Selection of Paranthas, Eggs made to choice, Fresh juice, cheese, fruits, Cereals, cold cuts et.al

Budget - We got a deal of INR 6500 including taxes and Breakfast and Free & fast wifi - which I consider to be spot on.

The Icing on the Cake is their Pan Asian Restaurant - ALL STIR FRY. While I was tempted to try all meals there, unfortunately could check it out only for 1 dinner. Very Happy with the quality and Quantity of food served. The small, but well stocked Bar within the restaurant has decent collection and pricing


OVERALL - I would recommend this place Full On

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyBoy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    111
    32
    18
    33
See reviews for
38
64
47
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had heard a lot of good things about this hotel in the past, decided to try it while travelling on business recently, and must say all was correct, very conveniently located in Colaba very close to Gateway of India, Bade-Mia (if you enjoy rustic mumbai treats) Cafe Mondegar, Leopold and The iocnic Taj Hotel...

Good breakfast would not call it lavish but wholesome, nice clean room, clean bathrooms, good internet overall great value for money, I was a bit worried when I read reviewers talking about a nightclub at the Hotels and it getting noisy so checked before making the booking and was confirmed that Night Club is shut now with no plans to reopen it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Saxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a good option if you are in Mumbai. it was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed there a few years ago, and I was not disappointed.
Spacious room, clean bathroom, great shower. Good guest amenities provided. free Wi-Fi, which was great. The stir fry restaurant in the building serves great food, the breakfast though I thought was average.
Great location, walking distance to the gate of India, the ferry's to Elephanta, the Taj Hotel.
in a buzzing alive area, restaurants, pubs, shopping all a few steps away.
The staff are great, helpful and accommodating.
Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Clean good budget hotel in the heart of Colaba. Good for both business travellers as well as tourists. Rooms were clean and housekeeping was done daily. The breakfast spread was elaborate and food is tasty. They ran out of juice but immediately replaced with another flavour. A good stay overall. Recommend it for staying in this part of Mumbai.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ujjval K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inglewood, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Arrived late around 3:30am. I had paid for the whole day to avoid any delays during checking-in... but they did not have my reservation handy and I had to pay again so i could sleep and they said they would look for the reservation during the day. Woke up and the manager came to me saying they had found the reservation in their spam box. But did not offer any compensation for the delay in the arrival. Breakfast is served in a fancy restaurant which is nice and with variety. The rooms are nice I had the triple room, had asked for a double and a single bed but did not honor that. The main thing here is the location few steps from Gate of India and Taj Mahal hotel and also around several restaurants, cafes, stores. When in Gate of India you can catch the boat to go to Elephanta Island and also some other spots. The street is safe likewise Mumbai, of course it is a big city so the common sense is the rule. From the airport to the hotel you get a prepaid taxi which is around $700 rupees. Taxis are all over and they are cheap eventhough the drivers always try to take advantage but if you know the distances you can ask for a better price. If you ask for meters they will do it if the distance is far, but it is still cheap. Mumbai is nice city but traffic is chaotic but if you know that in advance you can have some fun out of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilberto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights while I was in Mumbai for business. Having read all of the reviews about the noise from the nightclub I was quite worried, but don’t worry, the club has closed down so when I stayed (late March 2014) there was no bothersome noise and I had a perfect night’s sleep.

The hotel is in a brilliant location, just a very short walk from the Taj Palace Hotel and the Gateway to India and there a numerous tasty restaurants on the doorstep (The Table is particularly good, just next door)

Staff were both friendly and very helpful and I found the room to be very comfortable, clean and secure with every facility available that I required.

The hotel is a lovely small boutique hotel and each floor has a different theme which makes for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. If you like the big fancy hotels with chandeliers in the lobby, this isn’t the place for you, but if you want somewhere clean, safe, and comfortable in a brilliant location I cannot recommend the Gordon House Hotel highly enough.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1SLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had my hopes high that the bad reviews in regards to the night club was exaggerated.
Well, there were not. It is a night mare and a real mystery who the f... got the insane idea of placing a night club inside a so called boutique hotel, which is not cheap at all.
It is a big shame to a in all other respects nice hotel with great location, good breakfast, nice rooms, and a friendly and helpful staff.
But - taking into consideration the risk of new opening times and special arrangements - I am not sure I would dare to go there again even though it was on a night without night club (Sunday to Thursday both included). Difficult to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#50 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#39 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#216 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#97 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#111 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon House Hotel

Property: The Gordon House Hotel
Address: 5 Battery Street | Apollo Bunder, Colaba, Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400003, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#64 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Hotel
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai
The Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing