We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, rooms are okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gordon House Hotel
Ranked #102 of 484 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 7 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Gordon House for two nights, just for a short getaway. Some of the reviews mentioned that the hotel was noisy, but we didn't have any problems with that - maybe because we stayed on Sunday and Monday when the club apparently was not open. The rooms were fine, nothing special. The furniture seemed a little old. The TV was tiny. We only ate the breakfast one day because it was nothing great, and and there is so many good places to eat in Mumbai.

The best part about the hotel is the location - it is located in the heart of Colaba. However it is very far from the airport, and will take you at least 1hr 15min to get to the hotel from the airport. But in Colaba there are a lot of nice restaurants and a variety of shopping. The service at the hotel was also excellent, everyone was very nice and helpful.

Overall however, I thought that the hotel is not worth the price. We paid $220/night including taxes. There are plenty of good hotels in Mumbai for $100.

The hotel doesn't have a gym, but they have a deal with a gym about 10 minutes away that you can use for free. The hotel arranges transportation. This was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

i was booked in here in error as we were meant to be in the much higher rated Gordon House SUITES near airport. This 'non suites ' place is 45 minutes downtown in deepest Mumbai. Very central but not an airport hotel.

I travel a lot and am pretty easy going but this hotel is very unimpressive. i had a 'Mediterranean' room which had dirty walls and and old dirty bathroom. Mould on walls and windows.

Airconditioning was ineffective and incredibly noisy, fan only had one speed, so i turned it off to sleep but the noise from a fan outside was just as loud, and the smell from kitchens entered the room.

I opened the drawer in bathroom and it fell out to show dangerous wiring on hairdryer. My colleague entered his room and the card socket for his room key fell off the wall.

there is no bar except a nightclub whish tahnkfully was closed as it was directly below my room.

there is a restaurant in the ground floor which seems to be a franchise.

security is average, a couple of guys on the door.

internet in room was unbelievably slow.....

if you want a downtown location which is one step up from a backpackers hotel and you want local flavour then you might like it. if you want an international standard hotel AVOID.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zowiebowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The hotel is well located, clean overpriced, noisy and uncomfortable. The internet access is in a small smelly room in the basement. The bedroom is clean but the sound of screaming at 1.am from the adjoining lane way together with the smell and taste of diesel oil through the air conditioner is unacceptable. The air conditioner is also noisy and low pressure water. A noisy compressor could be seen and heard. I would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgia050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The Gordon House Hotel in Colaba is very well-situated, very clean and has first class customer service.
The problem is that the air compressor from the hotel outside which is right outside your window makes a very loud noise - incessant. The a/c in the room is loud also. On Friday and Saturdy nights you can feel the vibration and hear some of the music from the disco on the first floor. The hotel has only 4 floors so there is no room to hide. I understand that there is a larger room nearer the middle of the hotel where there is no noise, but it was booked.
Staff make every effort to help you out.
However if you are like me and can't sleep with noise, this place is not for you. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieY37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I had not stayed here before, unlike my friend, who did not say anything about the hotel before we arrived. The entrance is spotless, amidst glass and light coloured flooring, the reception, on the second floor, small but entirely functional, and the rooms, clean and comfortable. The whole place has a sort of 'Ikea' look and feel to it, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. However, beware of the 'disco nights' when the noise is far too much!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The hotel is very nice, clean and good staff, good room service and good food. Free wifi on the room, so the right place to stay...no all this is being messed up due to the disco they have from wednesday until saturday which noise I could not bear in room 408 and after complaining got another room 401 but still the banging (is not music) went on to 02.30 hrs. in the morning.
Is a pity but I would not recommend to stay there. Discussed it with the staff and based on other comments here it seems to be a situation since a long time but nothing is done. So than they deserve no clients to come in.
Finally there will be no more clients

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swanSpijkenisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My worst ever hotel experience. The club beneath our room is extremely loud. The floor and bed shook until 3:00 am. We complained to the manager on site around mid-night and he did nothing but promised to give us some refund in the morning, which turned out to be a tactic to shut us up. Next day morning, the staff at the reception desk changed their line and stated that they were unable to issue any refund. Their answer to our request for speaking to the manger on the phone is simply no – “we can’t give you his phone number.” After we persisted, some unknown person (not the manager) spoke to us on the phone and offered us a free drop-off to our next destination within Mumbai. Again, they used the same tactic to get us out of their way. When we returned to the hotel in the late afternoon, these shameless people told us that the car was not available and there was NOTHING they can do. For those of you who want to experience an incredible India, I can’t think of a better place than this.
BTW, the wireless does NOT work and the shower has low water pressure and was water drizzling. Couldn't even wash hair!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ponderwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Colaba
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#60 of 484 in Mumbai
450 reviews
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 484 in Mumbai
880 reviews
Colaba
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colaba
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#124 of 484 in Mumbai
250 reviews
Colaba
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#99 of 484 in Mumbai
308 reviews
Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
#189 of 484 in Mumbai
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon House Hotel

Address: 5 Battery Street | Apollo Bunder, Colaba, Mumbai, Mumbai 400003, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#63 Business Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: £78 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Hotel
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai
The Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing